5 Good Omens

Good Morning and Happy Thursday!

Can you believe we are less than a week from Christmas!?!

I have my last exam today in Environmental Management at noon… and it is gonna be a doozy!

While I am nervous as all-get-out, I did have some Good Omens yesterday that I think are definitely a sign to a great exam…right?? (Work with me here people…)

  • Good Omen #1: The sun was out for the first time in days. Automatic awesomness.
  • Good Omen #2: I got a great email from Leah at Running With the Hayneses telling me I WON her giveaway!!! I was over the moon!! Sarah (her sister) started her own pottery  business, Get a Grip Pottery, and of course being an incredible endurance athlete and lover of all things painful running, she threw on some wonderful running mantras onto her pieces! I got to choose between the items, and the rest she is selling! Go check them out right now HERE!! Great Christmas gift (for yourself or others!) She is on Etsy, and we all know my obsession with Etsy…
  • Good Omen #3: Mid-day call from my sister. She works super-duper hard in NYC and when we do get to talk it is literally at night was we both are falling asleep in our dinner after a long day. So an 11am call was a great surprise (even though she called because she was actually really frustrated. But that is a different story. I am lookin’ for these Omen’s anywhere I can…)
  • Good Omen #4: My dad, the most selfless man in the world who never ever treats himself to things… bought himself a big ol’ truck!!! It is funny to say, but I am so proud of him! He deserves a car he loves and is happy about!

20131219-050815.jpg

  • Good Omen #5: I had a decent run for the first time in ages. I have been running in the evenings that last few days, and thus have to run inside (safety first kids!) I don’t like treadmills, so I run around the concourse of Indiana University’s basketball arena Assembly Hall. It is boring. It is gloomy. It is a a dry, hot heat. But no one is ever there, the halls are wide, and there must be 20+ bathrooms and water fountains (the real reason I run there, lets me honest). As awful as it sounds, the time flew by and my legs felt strong (ish) and I enjoyed it!
20131219-050741.jpg

Looks fun, huh? (insert sarcasm)

Yes, some of these I really had to stretch to make them be considered an “Omen”… but pre-exam time I will consider a decent song on the radio to be a good sign. I take ’em where I can get ’em people!

Have a great day guys! Stay happy and healthy : )

Do you guys have pre-race “omens” or rituals that you do/look for!?

Most BORING run you have ever done????

19 comments

  1. pickyrunner · · Reply

    Good luck on your exam! I know these are all signs that it will go well for you 🙂 You’re almost done!!

    1. Whoohoo!! DONE! and the last exam was as awful as I expected it to be… but oh well, nothing I can do about it now 🙂

  2. Good luck on your exam today!!!

    1. welllll…. it sucked (but no more than expected!) I am done and that is all that matters– you are almost free as well!!

  3. Thanks for mentioning our blog and Sarah’s pottery! 🙂 And I’m glad we made your day yesterday!

    1. Thank YOU guys 🙂 Can’t wait for it! Have a great Christmas!

  4. Boring run, MONTHS AGO, but I decided to run 15 miles on the treadmill……yeah I’m still not sure why I thought this was a good idea, but it took me about 3 or 4 hours to do because I was bored and kept stopping hahahaha…..That place you run indoors looks like fun though! I honestly would enjoy running there, especially with all the bathrooms, SCORE!
    Good luck on your final exam!! You’ll do great 🙂

    1. WHOA girl– 15 miles on the treadmill?!?! brutal! That is mental training more than physical haha nice work though girl! have a good weekend!

  5. Sending you well wishes on your exam! You got this! 🙂 I feel like every race I have some sort of “omen” but they are different everytime haha. I’m like you I look for them in any place I can find them, which probably accounts for why they are different each time, but if I’m too relaxed going into a race I will do terrible. I’ve learned over the years that the jitters work for me! But I’m the opposite for tests..if I’m too worked up going into a test I totally bomb it haha. I’m such a weirdo and don’t get bored easily… I could do loops forever, but I don’t think I would like being stuck inside. I didn’t mind indoor track, but that was because there was a race to focus on that took away from the boredom. And I must say I have to agree with you..that hall you run in looks awful and kind of dreary! But you definitely scored in the bathroom department! There can never be too many bathrooms for a runner haha. Have fun celebrating after your test!

    1. During a race I really never notice laps or anything…. but this hallway i FOR SURE noticed haha–maybe if it weren’t so dreary?!
      And I absolutely have to be relaxed for an exam– i get bad test anxiety!! But yes I always had to have that nervous energy on the start line as well– if not I wouldn’t get off the start line quick enough and be lethargic the whole race haha

  6. I was on my college cheerleading team, and sometimes we had to run laps around the concourse of the basketball court too!

    1. Wow that is so cool you were able to do that in college… I miss organized activities and sports like that! And while the concourse is soooo boring, it actually is a useful tool for training and what not!

  7. I really hope your exam went well!! Running inside through hallways sounds so much better than the treadmill (or as I call it the Dread-mill)!

    1. hahah yep dreadmill is about right! Although looks like I will have to suffer through it today– there is a hope basketball game, and while the snow melted all of the sudden, it is about to storm any second (something I don’t have time to get caught in!)

  8. I’ve never thought of running through a building’s hallways before! Looks like a nice alternative to the ‘mill!

  9. I love good omens 🙂 Hope your test went well!!!

    1. Thank you darling! I think it went good enough!! (which is the best I can hope for!))
      Stay warm and have a Merry Christmas Eve, Eve! ❤

  10. I love reading about happy stuff 🙂 I’m glad your dad finally took some time to treat himself and I hope your exam went well!

    1. Thank you it went good enough I think! (i hope!) And my dad was like a little boy with a new toy! I am happy he is happy! Hope you have a great Christmas Cori!

Leave a Reply

