No Surprises Here!

Happy Wednesday! Half way there!

Glad to hear how you guys like to “refresh” after a long day (and taking off your bra seemed to be a big one for us ladies!)

My family goes on vacation ever winter and it is absolutely my favorite “gift” every year! Because we like to treat that as our big gift, we try not to get each other much. So, when we limit our gifts to a few items, we like to make them count– i.e Lets cut the “surprise” crap and get down to what you really want …”

So, we diligently shop and find exactly what we want, buy it, then immediately hand it over to have it wrapped and placed under the tree. Let me tell you I am not good at handing over the items when I so badly need/want them!! (Does that sound selfish and childish? I am sorry, don’t mean for it to! Just get excited over new gear!!)

Under my tree this year…

Nike Shield Running Pants

Source: Nike Store

These are lose enough to wear over shorts, but still nice and fitted/tapered that I can run in them without them being baggy. I love to wear running shorts, but can’t put running tights over them ((totally bunchy!)) so these track pants are great!

Salomon xa Comp 7 Trail Running Shoes

XA COMP 7 W TITA/ASPH/PAP

Source: Salomon

I wear my Salomon’s into the ground every year! I can’t wait to unwrap this pair!

Mountain Hard Wear Super Power Tights

Source: Mountain Hard Wear

I have been running really only in one pair of tights (a pair of Nike ones I love) so I figured it wouldn’t hurt to have another pair for those cold days, as well as for under layers while skiing!

I cannot wait to get these things!! See what I mean about it being hard to wait? These are all cold-weather running gear… and with the snow we have been having, these would be so nice to have!

I am still studying away for exams! One more! ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a great day everyone!

Do you like to know what you are getting, or being surprised?!

How are your runs going?

-Mine have been short, slow, and honestly not very fun! I have been indoors and I miss the outside!

26 comments

  1. I love being surprised with gifts. It just says so much about what your friends and family know about you! But I’m pretty sure I know what my gifts under the tree are this year. I’m with you, love running tights! I feel like I never have enough full length ones…

    1. I acutally like not knowing either, but at the same time I KNOW I have things I LOVE waiting!!! And you are right–it shows how well people know you ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Love it! We did the exact same thing this year with my Christmas gifts. I am so looking forward to trying a pair of CW-X rainbow tights I found on sale! It is fun to pick out your gift and still get to enjoy opening it on Christmas. : ) Hope those exams go well. You can do it girl!

    1. Ahh new tights!! sound awesome!! great gift ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Thanks Andrea. I think you are right. I feel I need to just face the issues head on and really try to give it my all. I feel so defeated when I try to change one little thing and end up making the same old mistakes. I also do tend to do things in an all or nothing style (in food and life in general). I really struggle with moderation! It feels so much easier for me to not have any of a binge triggering food than to “just have one”. That “just have one” always seems to lead to the next!

    Thanks for your encouragement. It helps to know I am not alone in this journey. I wish we could go running together sometime. : )

    1. Oh, and the previous comment is in reply to an earlier post. Forgot to mention that!

    2. You got it girl!!! I am here if you need anything ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Woohoo!!! One more to go!!! You got this :). My wishlist was the same this year, a ton of running gear! I’ve got shoes on the way, I would have waited to order them, but when mine wear out, my shins, knees, and ankles bother me all the time, I needed these last month hahaha. But I will wait to get my shorts and headband, I don’t want to take away too much of the Christmasy feeling ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. AWESOMEEE new shoes are the best ever. enjoy them dear ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. Yes they are! Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Ashley @ Snow Cream and Syrup · · Reply

    Long running tights would be a welcome item under my tree, too! My runs have been… well, not really happening much lately, but I am not going to put too much pressure on myself. As long as I’m doing something. It’s just not safe to run anywhere yet – once our snowmobile trails are groomed (this week? I hope?) those should be good; our roads, though, are a mess. Sometimes you just have to work with what you have, I guess!

    1. Yes I totally hear you on the running thing! I have had very sub-par runs(when i do them!) and it has been super unsafe as well. But now all the snow melted LITERALLY overnight as we had a warm front move through! Now it is a slushy mess…. haha fun fun!
      I love long tights-can never have enough!

  6. I like how the gifts you want are running related. haha!
    I’ve slowed my runs down to let me knee heal. It seems to be working. I’ve concentrated on always breathing through my nose to ensure I don’t go too fast. If I find I need to breath in my mouth, I slow it down a bit. After the Dopey I can’t wait to get back to speed!

    1. That is a brilliant way to keep your speed undercontrol–breathe through nose! nice idea I need to work on that to keep my long runs slow (so bad at that!)
      yay for dopey soon!!!!!
      And OF COURSE all running related! Like I have other interests?!? haha

  7. I loved being surprised!! Those Nike pants look awesome…now I want some too ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. You most definitely should get some.. I love that they are “fitted” but still able to wear running shorts—i.e i can go straight to the grocery, shopping, dinner after workouts in these things ๐Ÿ™‚ all nice and sweaty too!
      I love being surprised too! Hopefully there are a couple under the tree I am not ready for!

  8. I like being surprised but that rarely ends up happening because both my mom and my husband insist on being given a list and then shop directly from that! haha

    1. haha they just must really want to make sure you get what you want!! Probablly a few surprised under the tree for you still ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. I love being surprised! Lots of running clothes are on my list, though ๐Ÿ™‚ You can never have too many!

    1. Nope!! Never too many! 95% of my wardrobe for sure!

  10. Two more half days and I’m on break!!

    1. ahh almost there!! go girl go!

  11. I would much rather be the one giving gifts than receiving. That’s just me though. lol. My runs are going well! Started training against this week and today using a rest day. 11 miles down, 11 mile long run to go.

    1. I do have fun giving gifts for SURE!! ((i just shop for me as well…. aka my online shopping bill is through the ROOF!)) I especially love shopping for my sister!

  12. I like to be surprised! I don’t like to know what I’m getting. Totally ruins it for me. Plus I figure if I already know, you might as well just hand it over now ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. haha I hope i am still surprised over a few things!! I like not knowing too! And I think i am really easy to buy for (if I do say so myself!) I love EVERYTHIGN!!

Leave a Reply

