I’m Feelin’ Good (Part 2)

Hey Hey Friends!

((Check out I’m Feelin’ Good (Part 1) ))

Yesterday I had three doc appointments back-to-back-to-back.

https://i2.wp.com/www.rottenecards.com/ecards/Rottenecards_1149199_kkdt69n3n5.png

It has been so incredible to see changes from June (when this all began) to now. Looking at the progress on a timeline really helps me see how far I have come and gives me encouragement that I can do anything.

My amazing Team of Three  (Therapist, Nutritionist, Doctor) are wonderful. A few months ago, seeing them was more stressful than anything. NOW, I look forward to my meetings. I am eager to hear what they have to say… I can’t wait to have some crazy thought/pattern of behavior/meal struggles/emotional break-downs/etc dissected and used to help me, rather than hold me back.

***A Key Point? NOW, winter time… before I get into training for the Carmel Marathon… is the IDEAL time to HEAL and put on some weight.

Some other Favorite Take-Aways from the appointments:

  1. As my therapist said, “Andrea, I know you worry about getting out of control the other way and suddenly weighing 500 lbs and losing all sight of yourself, but know that you have THREE doctors who care deeply for you and want what is BEST for you. Trust us that we would not let you weigh 500 lbs. We are all on your side and you need to TRUST US.
  2. From my Nutritionist (and amazing triathlete), “You need to change your mindset of “Time Off” and “Recovery”. You need to think of your training in the Big Picture. ‘Recovery’ is not ‘time-off-of-training’. It is probably the most essential part of training. Taking it easy is absolutely Training. And it needs to be done. Not training IS training!!
  3. From my Therapy Session:: I still talk about running or exercise sometimes in terms of “I have to workout today.” I need to be focused on making the CHOICE to workout. It needs to be the clear voice of Andrea (not my eating disorder) that decides to workout. And sometimes Andrea will say “yes, lets do it” and other times Andrea will say, “No, not today.” Either way, it is the voice of Andrea and Andrea’s decision only. (Eating Disorder, you have NO VOICE.)
  4. From Nutrition Session:: I need to learn to consume a wider variety of meals– especially those that still “scare” me; i.e. Pizza, pasta, and Burgers. These are yummy FUN foods!! Enjoy them!
  5. And, lastly… from my Doctor…. “Well Andrea, You are almost to the weight/BMI that you maybe might get a period…. maybe.”  Yes, it is vague as all get-out, but it’s hell of a lot closer than I was a few months ago!!

————

This morning, I am either:

  • a. sleeping in (as if my body would allow this…wishful thinking!)
  • b. drinking coffee and eating cereal while watching the news (my norm and very likely!)
  • c. running with a friend on the very scary/dangerous black iced streets (the option I want, but also don’t want to slip and kill myself.)

Have a great Thursday Everyone!!

Your winter training plans? Time off? Races soon? Cross training?

What are you MOST looking forward to right now?! A vacation, family, race, food, etc?

-Vacation with my family! We leave soon after Christmas for San Juan, PR to catch a cruise. Um… hello all you can eat buffet!! ((sounds like a  PERFECT opportunity to put on this weight I have talked about :))

17 comments

  1. That is so great Andrea. Those are great tools you quoted….I want to start applying many of them to my own life.
    I was wondering…does it seem to work better for you to tackle one habit that you feel bad about or is it better to try and correct all the ones that are bugging you. I guess what I am wondering is…I have some really nasty eating habits and I want to change them all…today….but I keep hearing that it is better to choose one thing and change it for the one day and then go on to the next one. Has your team ever talked about that? I really want to kick these bad habits…I think they are really holding me back!

    I actually have a 10k I am planning on racing on 1/1/14. I am excited and nervous! I know I have the endurance to run that far, but I want to run it fast and I’m just coming off my second running injury. I have been feeling stronger at practice though (in the midst of winter training with the best coaches ever!) and…hey, its to be a fun race too!

    Thanks for writing Andrea!

    1. Hey girl! I don’t really have a good answer for you on that one, except to tell you what I prefer. I like to tackle it all at once. I have ALWAYS been an “all or nothing” girl (which is what got me into this “mess” in the first place!) i like to jump in head first. I have never been one to take it slow and ease into things. So when I get told things to work on, I tackle them all at once, giving them my all!
      I hope this helps!!

      1. Thanks Andrea. Yes, I do believe I need to just face it all head on. I am too tend to do this all or nothing and find I do the same with food. I really struggle with moderation! Most of the time it is much easier for me to not have any of a certain binge triggering food than to eat “just one”. That just one always seems to lead to the next!

        Thanks for your encouragement. It helps to know you feel the same way. I wish we could go running together. : )

  2. Runner Girl Eats · · Reply

    Sounds like you have a great team supporting you. Recovery is definitely training! It’s all about the mindset 🙂

    1. Thanks so much! They all rock 🙂

  3. So happy for you that things went well yesterday! You are doing so awesome!!
    winter training for me just involves doing what I feel like really. Trying to build up mileage again 🙂
    but, i don’t have any races til June, so nothing big to train for!

    1. Thanks so much Lish! I love hearing about others winter training plannings! seems everyone just tries out different things, all just trying to look forward to spring/summer races!!

  4. pickyrunner · · Reply

    Reading this is amazing. My nutritionist offers me the same advice that all three of your doctors do (I don’t think she’s supposed to be my therapist, but that’s essentially what she is for me) and it really does make a world of difference. I LOVE that they put recovery in terms of training. It’s 100% accurate. This post is amazing and you have become MY inspiration girl! I’m so happy to hear that things are going so well for you ❤

    1. Sarah thanks so much! Glad you have SUCH a great relationship with your nutritionist! I totally understand having as your go to for many different aspects of recovery!! if you trust and love her… then you are set!!

  5. This is great!!!! I see a difference from just a couple of months ago when I first started following your blog. I’m so happy for you, you just seem in general a whole lot happier(not saying you weren’t before, you can just tell that you are happy from the inside out), which is a good thing! I never thought I really took time off, but just realized I do. When I’m not training for anything I go a lot easier on my runs. I pretty much do the minimal, and every once in a while will go hard. But right now I’m training for two upcoming races, and instead of having 2 (out of 3 days of running) easy runs I should probably start only having one. And i try to change the type of run I am doing, one day HIIT, one day I speed up every half mile, then the third day I go all out and see how fast I can a 5K. I do this 1-2 a month.

    1. This training soudns great! love the idea of doing a 5k everyone once in a while all out!!
      Thank you so much for your kind words of encouragement! That is really cool that YOU can notice the changes just from my blog! Makes me happy and motivates me! have a great night!

  6. Your doctors sound brilliant. I love all their advice! You’re one lucky lady. And yes, the benefit of a blog is the ability to look back. You’ve come so far!

    1. Aww thanks so much! Yes that IS the cool thing about a blog! And some of my posts from earlier are crazy for me to go back and read…. makes me sad yet feel strong all at the same time!

  7. So great to hear that you are making such great progress in this area! You sound very positive about the whole experience which is the most important part about making this change for the better!! I’m training for Boston this spring – which is just a week after you marathon! Good luck with your training!! 🙂

    1. That is so fun you are running Boston!!! It was obviously full once I qualified in Novemeber, but I plan to be there for 2015! I hope yours and your training go beautifully!
      Thanks for the kinds words! I by no means have a great attitude all the time about recovery, but it is so much better than it was that I try to focus on how far I have come, rather than the negative!

  8. Just found your blog, I need to do some catching up, but I love what your nutritionist said about ‘time off’ and ‘recovery’ so true! Glad you are doing so well=)

    1. Hi!! Thank you so much for saying hello! Yes, I feel very lucky to have the team I do during my recovery process. I trust them completely! Thanks for stopping by and have a great day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

