My Exciting Running News…

Good Morning/Afternoon/Evening!

…OK so maybe this is much more exciting for ME than for YOU… but I still love sharing ๐Ÿ™‚

This weekend, my Dad told me that he wants to shoot for Boston 2015! I got in for my Richmond Marathon time last month, and since 2014 is full, I have decided to to do 2015. My Dad, whom I run just about every single race with, wants to accompany me, not as a spectator, but as a participant!

20131116-183440.jpg

I love running with this guy! I am so excited for him!!!

He just turned 60 on December 2, which in the running world is exciting because he moved up an age division and his BQ time is “slower” ((he was very excited!)) So this weekend he chose a fast, flat spring marathon…. and because I cannot resist a race… I signed up too!!

**I am 18 weeks away from the 2014 Carmel Marathon!

Carmel, IN is my hometown and the start line is literally 2 miles from my house. This will be very different from our “normal” race habits… traveling to DC and Richmond aren’t exactly “cheap” “easy” or “convenient”!

I could not be more excited for my dad! I totally believe he can do it! He ran a 4 hr flat in DC and his BQ is around 3:50-3:55 I think. Totally doable!! He’s got this!!!

I have not decided yet my approach to the race… my marathon goal for a future race (perhaps this race?) is a 3:05. Do I go for it in April? I feel like 18 weeks will FLY by! I am not sure if I will be up for racing it hard or not. I do know that when I go for my PR goal, I will need to follow a training plan for the first time. I have never followed one, and I know that to cut off 10 mins I will need some help! I have to be careful however with finding a plan that doesn’t go over 50 miles per week… for me, too much mileage is a disaster in the making!! (re: INJURY)

No matter how I run the Carmel Marathon or if I PR or not, I am more excited for my dad and more committed to his goal than mine! I pray that he stays injury free and BQ’s!

—–

Yesterday I ran very slowly with a friend on an indoor track and just chatted away for 35 mins. It was splendid! Today I plan on aqua-jogging… but then again… it feels like -200 below zero, which does not make getting into a swim suit “appealing”. Suck it up Andrea?? We shall see.. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Have a great day guys ๐Ÿ™‚

Who has a Spring Race planned?!?!

What are your favorite training plans to follow? (I need suggestions!)

13 comments

  1. This is beyond exciting!! It’s like fate!

    I have a bunch of races lined up for the next few months, including two half marathons and Ragnar!

  2. pickyrunner · · Reply

    That is so exciting!! I’m super excited for you, although slightly bummed you can’t do boston this year since i just booked my ticket home to watch it! But hopefully next year I’ll be LIVING there so I can see you dominate anyways ๐Ÿ™‚ I love that you and your dad are able to share this!

  3. That’s awesome! I run all of my races with my mom, it’s great to have a companion, especially a parent. Our goal is to BQ one day but it will take me a few years to get there!

  4. That would be so awesome if you and your dad ran Boston together – OMG – I love it!!!
    I do have some spring races planned…announcements coming soon on the blog!

  5. I never follow plans, I believe in just going with the flow and seeing how your body feels :). Congrats to your dad on his decision! I can’t wait to see you both qualifying for Boston!!! I have two races planned for next spring/winter(?). One in February and one in March. They are only 5K, but I’m super excited to see how fast I can run them!!!

  6. That is awesome! Best of luck to you both! I’d have to run a 3:15 to qualify, and I’m not there yet. Anyway, check out Hal Higdon. He has several plans for different levels, and I’ve only heard great things from everyone I know who’s follwoed them. I’m currently following his plan for the Dopey Challenge. http://www.halhigdon.com/

  7. That’s so exciting for you guys! I love that he was excited about turning 60 because his BQ time would change when most people would be bummed about turning 60. That’s runner mentality right there. Spring might be a good time to go for your 3:05 goal. I was hesitant to sign up for a spring marathon but then realized that it made some sense. My body is already in PR marathon shape so it is a good building block but there also have been/are enough weeks to take some time easy and fully recover mentally and physically. I am the same as you and can’t train over 45-50 miles per week. I made my training plan for Richmond on Runner’s World Smart Coach because it personalizes it to a degree (how many miles per week, level of difficulty of the plan, how many weeks the plan is, etc). That may work for you. Though since you are training for SUCH a fast time maybe you should consider talking to a coach? Good luck to you and your dad!

  8. I think that is so awesome that you and your dad are going to participate in the same marathon! That is so awesome. I’ve tried getting my family into running, but they’re not having it haha I will just keep bugging them until they eventually crack one day ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m sure whatever plan you choose you will rock it!

  9. […] Thank you all for the excitement and encouragement from my announcement yesterday! […]

  10. oh yay how awesome!!! I might have to wait for a couple age brackets before I’ll qualify ๐Ÿ˜‰ But I would love to run Boston, obvi. Props to your dad! So cool!

  11. […] Key Point? NOW, winter time… before I get into training for the Carmel Marathon… is the IDEAL time to HEAL and put on some […]

    1. So exciting for you and your dad! I actually have the Carmel Marathon on my maybe list this spring. As for weather to PR train I would consider how your body feels now and your heart. training in the winter always present certain challenges. Also, think about how much time you took off your previous PR and decide if ten minutes is realistic. I’ve taken 11 minutes off a marathon PR (highest amount), but would have never been able to do it without a challenging training plan, healthy body, and a determined heart. You are also a lot faster than I am though, so it might be less challenging for you. Your dad is totally going to qualify! Love that you both run together.

  12. […] My Dad. The guy is 60 years old and is going for a Boston Qualifying time next spring at the Carmel Marathon. Also, some running blogs I follow and gain incredible running tips and training ideas from– […]

Leave a Reply

