My Aquajogging Butt=KICKED!!

Good Morning world ๐Ÿ™‚

I am sending happy thoughts and smiles to each and every one of you today!

I have just 3 weeks left in school and I have decided I need to take advantage of my access to the universities pool and start aqua-jogging.

I used to be a swimmer… never really loved it, but boy was it the greatest exercise ever. I would drag my butt to practice (ok my dad would and I would sleep in the car) at 4:45am and again immediately following school until 7pm. I never saw the light of day in the winter. Fact.

Anyways…After years off from swimming (aside from some random triathlons)…

… I DID IT.

I got myself to the pool, in the deep dark water, and I jogged my heart out.

**It was one of the hardest workouts I have ever done.

I used to aquajog frequently for cross country, but I never it took it that seriously…. so I followed the same training plan that Hungry Runner Girl was using when she was injured. It seemed so easy and innocent…

  • 5 min warmup
  • 9 x 1.30 HARD, 30 sec easy
  • 2 min light
  • 9 x 1.30 HARD, 30 sec easy
  • 5 min cool down
  • total= 48 mins

Butt= kicked!!! So great!!

I was breathing so hard on the sprints I thought I might drown! (but really)! I kept my hair piled on top of my head, wore a big headband, and kept my hair dry–that means I was easily able to head straight back to school with out dealing with chlorine-y hair. gross.

20131202-191849.jpg

Before heading to the pool I refreshed my knowledge with some YouTube videos for form and how to “go hard” with increased cadence. HERE is what I watched.

I am about 2 weeks post marathon. While I took the first week off, I put in 36+ miles the second week. Ya, I know, probably more than I should have. HENCE the aquajogging : )

AND… this will help me carry on with my game of “Lets get that period!” over the winter months…. so lets pack on the pounds, get a little out of shape ((Can’t be in racing shape 12 months of the year!!)) and ignore every single negative thought and feeling of “fatness”.ย  Because this is what my body wants!

And I am beautiful even with some belly fat, love handles, and cellulite! Don’t mean a thang!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

I am running at 6am this morning with a friend and I can’t wait! It is always a fun, relaxing run (which I desperately need!)

Have a great day friends!

Tell me about your experience (if any) with aquajogging! Thoughts??

How did “back to normal” aka Monday after Thanksgiving, go for you all!?

24 comments

  1. Ahhhhh! I miss swimming! It’s always such a good workout and you don’t have so much pain afterwards!!! I’ve never tried aqua jogging but it sounds fun. I would usually do a tread water workout for something different – now I want to go swimming!!!

    1. Yes I love the no impact! So nice for our bodies:)
      yayyy get yourself in the pool and then tell me a good workout to do haha!!!

  2. Belly fat and cellulite are a beautiful thing, girly! I have a big ol butt, full of muscle (and lots of fat and cellulite) and I love it. Plus, once you love yourself, it’s so much easier for you to receive other people’s love ๐Ÿ™‚ So happy you’re working so hard at a new mind set ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve never aquajogged, but I can imagine it is TOUGH!

    1. You are great ๐Ÿ™‚
      That is exactly right…. I have got to learn to love myself!! ((never really think of it that way!))
      Let me know if you ever try aquajogging!! it is fun and with no impact it feels so so nice!

  3. pickyrunner · · Reply

    Love that you jumped in the pool! Well, love that it was you and not me ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m still way too burnt out and I never even went through the doubles thing. My practices were 6/7-10 at night. Ew. For some reason I could never get into aqua jogging. I don’t know how to get my heart rate up while doing it but I think that you’re right in that it is going to help you reach the goals you’re striving for this winter so you’ll be a healthier and stronger person AND runner ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. haha you were HARDCORE for years so no doubt you are still burnt out!
      Ya in hs when we did it I never got a good workout out of it… but this time around I am being much more diligent and actually WORKING to get a good workout–and boy am I !!
      Thanks so much Sarah!! Reaching those specific goals are verrrry important right now ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I’ve never AquaJogged! It actually sounds like fun!!! When I was injured I just swam laps, swimming always gets me out of breath. Love your headband btw, super cute :).
    So true! you can’t go hard 12 months out of the year!! I think you’re body will appreciate some down-ish time ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. You should give aquajogging a shot, even if you are not injured! It is interesting! I LOVE the non-impact of it… soooo nice!
      And thank you for re-affirming my “can’t be at the top of your game all the time” idea… i need that jusitification sometimes!!

  5. Thanks for the workout suggestion. I was going to swim tomorrow to rest my knee, but may do this instead!

    1. yayyyyyy even if you don’t do this this time around, give it a shot at some point and let me know what you think! So nice not to have any impact!! my body thanks me ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Oh my. I really gotta give you credit for doing that! I had to do aqua jogging when I broke my foot a few years ago and I was terrible at it. We had this thing where the water was constantly propelling against you, but it wasn’t an underwater treadmill…kinda hard to explain but I felt like I needed my own personal lifeguard when I used it haha.

    1. Wow interesting!! So like… aquajogging againist a current?! And girl I TOTALLY feel and look like I need a private lifeguard… I get so so red in the face and am gasping for air on my hard intervals. They think I am NUTS at the pool…. haha I hope it kept you in shape with your injury?!?!

  7. I’ve never tried aquajogging, totally want to. I would love to get more into swimming at my gym too, but I just never seem to have the time (or the motivation to get wet- haha)

    1. YES my number one hesitation with swimming and giving it a shot was this idea I had that it would take so much time… getting there, changing, swimming, then dealing with wet clothes, wet hair, smelling chlorine-y, etc… I just built it up in my head as being this really big pain. And while it is not as easy/convienient as running…. it isn’t nearly as bad as I thought it would be. I am getting faster at the whole transition time thing too.
      So maybe give it a dry run on a day you arn’t in a rush?!

  8. Swimming freak me out, but I know it’d be so good for me! I love that you faced your fear and got back to it!

    1. Thanks girl!! Ya it felt great!! my fear was mainly in me being so unhappy and cold in the water and not worth all the hassel. But it turns out not to be as much of a pain as I thought! yay!

  9. I used to do a little aquajogging for cross country as well, but it has been forever! Your awesome for doing it! Its so much harder for me to get in a pool in the winter, but love that you were able to get in a good workout without putting extra stress on your legs!

    1. I knoww!!! Winter time and Water just do NOT go well together in my book!! Miserable!!! BUT… it is not as big of a deal as I made it out to be!! I just think about how much I am sweating and how red my face is once I get into the workout and I actually get so so hot in the pool!!
      I love the no impact part of it! Totally worth doing it!

  10. I tried aqua jogging when I was injured this summer. I never could get into it! I really wanted to love it. I think I gave up too easily so I could sink back into my injury misery pity party for one. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. haha it happens! I definitely didn’t love it or even find it beneficial in High School… i only recently learned how to really push myself at it. I watched lots of videos to really make sure I had the technique down though!
      Definitely not for everyone… but I do love the zero impact!!

  11. Ok I’m not a big swimmer but aquajogging really does sound so hard. Maybe I’ll have to give it a go one of these day ๐Ÿ˜‰
    and YES You are sooo beautiful! You’re also sweet, kind hearted, so strong and a very talented runner. Oh yeah, also a great friend ๐Ÿ™‚ Operation Get Period Back is on!!

    1. WHOOHOO!! It is hard to get your butt to the pool when it is so so snowy and cold ((you guys in Provo are siwmming in snow!!)) but if you givie it a shot… let me know how it goes!! I am going to try an go today, but not sure it will happen… feelin lazyyyy
      you are so sweet and great!!! I hope you have a HAPPY and JOYFUL Monday ๐Ÿ™‚ You deserve it!

  12. I am currently doing aqua jogging while I recover from no less than 3 stress fractures (bilateral tibial sf# and another in my lumber spine), additional stress reactions in my left tibia and bilateral patella tendinosis. I haven’t run since August 9 and have about 4.5 months to go according to my physio!!!! AAARGH.

    Anyway, I have been roughly following this program: http://www.kemibe.com/distancecoach/labreports/9wkH2O.htm

    Do you have a floatation belt? It helps with maintaining proper form. I also have some water bottle type dumbbells which I fill with water. You can get leg weights too but I don’t have those. I also bought myself a cheap waterproof MP3 player off eBay.

    Have fun!

  13. I am currently doing aqua jogging while I recover from no less than 3 stress fractures (bilateral tibial sf# and another in my lumber spine) and bilateral patella tendinosis. I haven’t run since August 9 and have about 4.5 months to go according to my physio. AAARGH!!!!

    Anyway, I have been roughly following this program: http://www.kemibe.com/distancecoach/labreports/9wkH2O.htm

    Do you have a floatation belt? It helps with maintaining proper form. Some of the belts also have a metal D hook on the back which you can use to tie yourself via a rope to the bars below the starting blocks or a pool ladder for added resistance.

    I have some water bottle type dumbbells which I fill with water. You can get leg weights too but I don’t have those (I tried some that a friend had and they bugged me – kept coming loose! I also use myself a cheap waterproof MP3 player off eBay, music helps especially with harder/longer workouts.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

