Photo fun and I need “schedule”

Back to “real life” today!

The wonderfulness of Thanksgiving (which in my family stretched far into the weekend…) is over and now we have a few more weeks to pound out before officially declaring Christmas week!

Some random pics from the past few days!

Morning of the Drumstick Dash… so cold! Steamin’ cup of Joe!

20131201-212050.jpg

The Drumstick Dash race! Run it every year with friends ๐Ÿ™‚20131201-212038.jpg 20131201-212024.jpg 20131201-212013.jpg 20131201-212003.jpg

The lighting of the “Christmas Tree” downtown in Indy!20131201-211954.jpg 20131201-211947.jpg

I actually love downtown Indy ๐Ÿ™‚20131201-211937.jpg

Andddd… this week I have had a really really tough time with body image. I constantly turn to my dad. I feel bad he is the brunt of all my extreme “lows”… I know it is not easy for him to hear me bash myself so badly….. but this text is why my dad is the best.

20131201-211926.jpg

I really need to get back on a schedule. My food and exercise has been outrageous and nonexistent (respectively) and I really need to get back to “normal”…. I am also really really missing training for a race. I feel like that helped keep me on track!

Anyways, I have my final presentation today for my Law class! Whoohoo!

Have a great day guys ๐Ÿ™‚

What do you do when you aren’t “training” for a race?

How were all of your thanksgiving runs (or any workout!)!

Christmas gift ideas please!!!!!

16 comments

  1. Wow, I totally relate to what you are saying! I am ready to get back in a routine and I have been struggling to accept the compliments/encouragement my family or friends give me. It is so great you have such a loving Dad (and Mom I’m sure too). Keep on in the Lord!

    1. Even though we love and trust our family and friends so much… it is hardest to accept their compliments because I feel like they are “biased” and have blinders on when it comes to me and “how I look”!! it is so silly and ridiculous!! I am VERY lucky for my parents ๐Ÿ™‚
      And as always, I need to turn to the Lord with these struggles and remember that only HIS judgement is what I seek!
      Have a great day!

  2. When I’m not training for a race, I’m definitely a lot more “lazy”. I do better with structure so I will usually do more classes at the gym since it gives me a specific time to be somewhere! I’m having a tough time going back of real life today!

    1. That is a good idea!! I love classes ((Especially if I have already paid for them!!)) to get me out of the house! Even more so in the winter months when it can get hard to get off of my warm couch!!
      Have a great day!

  3. A drumstick dash is so cute… and much more original than a turkey trot.

    I know what you mean about a schedule though. I feel the same way, especially now that I’m not training for anything and the craziness of holiday schedules in general. It can sometimes be really hard to accept that you can’t control what’s going on but hopefully you’ve been enjoying it a little bit! Rome wasn’t built in a day… so just like getting in shape doesn’t happen in a week, a week (or two or three) isn’t going to undo everything either! that’s what I tell myself at least. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. I am a creature of habit for sure!
      You are right–getting out of shape will not happen as fast as i think… and even when I do get out of shape this winter, i have to remember it is no big deal!!!!! it will only help me for the spring come race time again ๐Ÿ™‚
      Hope you are keeping sane and warm in chicago! you guys have some collllld weather coming!!
      Are you planning on doing any of the christmas/holiday runs there?!

  4. Oh geez, I ate soo much this past week, but I enjoyed it and allowed myself because I never do that, I too need to just get back to my normal. The ‘normal’ just feels right, it’s a habit. When I’m not trying for a race I set up mini goals. For weights, it’ll be a certain number of reps for pull ups, or a certain amount of weight for other exercises. And for running, it’s always a certain time. This is a little easier for me because I do short runs, 3 miles being the longest. But I’m sure you could do something like this ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. yep, routine is crucial for me! love it!
      Glad you ate lots and had fun!! so important ((as i keep trying to remind myself!))
      That is a great idea for winter training!!! i will have to set some goals like that!!

  5. pickyrunner · · Reply

    I feel exactly the same way although I can’t really go to my parents anymore because they see me at a healthy weight and assume I’m completely fine which is why I use my blog as an outlet. I did exercise this week (albeit nowhere near my usual activity levels) and it really got to me too because I feel like I did nothing but eat. I think that’s normal though and people without an ED feel that way too. I’m looking forward to having a schedule for the next few weeks too. I think it helps to at least ease the mental struggles. Hang in there girl! It looks like you had an amazing time despite the body issues.

    1. yes i totally get what you mean “they see you at a healthy weight”… i know that is happening with some friends and maybe even a little with my parents and they get a little “annoyed/frustrted” I feel sometimes ((although i know it is out of love)). And you are right–all my friends/family (w/out ED feel full and stuffed and lazy over the holiday). Thanks so much girl ๐Ÿ™‚ I will hang in there… and you too!!!! have a great one!

  6. I know how you feel especially when you are out of your normal schedule and eating more/things you don’t normally have. Give it a few days back in the regular flow of things and you will start feeling better!

    1. I love normal routines! I think with the holidays hitting AND me being out of training mode was just a lot of changes right away!!!
      Hope running is still going AWESOME for you! yay ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I think holidays are hard for everyone food-wise, especially those of us with EDs. You’re so lucky your dad is so awesome! Also, those pics are gorgeous!

    1. Aww thanks girl! my dad (and mom) are great! And holiday season with less running = me and so many body image issues!! ahhh i am trying to remind myself I SHOULD get a little out of shape and put on weight! It will be good for me and fine and I will be well rested for spring! Have a great great day!!

  8. You have such a sweet and supportive father! You are so lucky that you are able to talk to your parents about your body image thoughts – that is so helpful. When I went through my issues with an eating disorder in high school my parents and I were incapable of talking about it with each other. Listen to your dad – he’s tell you the truth!

    1. Thanks so much! I will listen… I will I will!! haha I have to keep repeating it ๐Ÿ™‚
      I am sorry you weren’t able to comfortably turn to your parents… It is very hard for them when they arn’t going through it and to them, food is not some scary controling factor. They love us so much yet so hard to really relate on such a personal, emotional issue. At the beginning i DEFINITELY could not talk to them about it. But I kind of just started forcing the topic and i am so glad I did!
      Have a great great day ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

