10 Thankful Reasons I Run

Happy Thanksgiving!

The wonderful and talented runner and blogger Hailey over at Striding Strong recently posted ten reasons why she is thankful for running. I LOVED it so much and it absolutely got me thinking about why I love running and am thankful for the ability to move.

  1. Currently, it is the #1 fighting tool I have against this pesky little eating disorder that tries and tries to incorporate itself into every part of my life and take control. When I run… it doesn’t exist. It is not there. I have run away from it and it will never catch me.
  2. Running bonds my family together. I am so lucky to come from a family of runners and amazing athletes. I have run 99.9% of races with my dad on the start line next to me. I wouldn’t trade those cold, early mornings for anything.
  3. It has taught me discipline and perseverance in my life that I apply to school, jobs, and life. You get out what you put in… I train hard, I put in the miles, I plan a race for months and months out, and I see it through to the finish. If that isn’t a great life lesson for setting long term goals and keeping your mind focused to finish it, then I don’t know what is.
  4. It can be done anytime, anywhere. I think most runners have those stories where they last minute squeezed in a quickie (lets keep this to running people…) Obviously there are “ideal” clothing to wear, but when it comes down to it, aside from shoes (which arguments exist even for those) you can take off in any attire. You don’t need a partner… you don’t need a team… you don’t need any equipment… just you.
  5. It is a club that, while may seem a little “private” or “cultish”, is one of the most open and welcoming group of people out there. I can say that in my 13 years of running, I have not met a mean runner (yes, some cocky ones out there…) But overall, runners love running, they love talking about running, and they love other runners. The more the merrier! Speed, distance… those do not matter- if you run, you are a runner. Fact. Welcome to the club!
  6. It constantly reminds me what my body is capable of. After my recent Half PR… I rode home, staring at my legs, and just thought “Thank you!” We all have had our expectations blown at one point or another when we accomplish a distance or time. It is such an amazing, powerful feeling.
  7. It is the greatest way to see a city. I never go on vacation or work trips without a pair of shoes I can run in. Never. All over the U.S, all over Europe, New Zealand, and almost every Caribbean Island you can think of…. I have discovered hidden side streets and off-the-beaten-path areas, thanks to running.
  8. The clothes are super duper comfortable and (in my opinion) cute!! I had to add this one since 98% of my wardrobe is running attire that I wear on an every day basis. Not to mention the shirts we get at races…
  9. Running keeps me sane. With grad school, career stress, and daily life, running absolutely represents FREEDOM. Good day, bad day…. heading out on a run is always something that just makes sense in my day.
  10. It makes me happy. Even the bad runs. Even the hard, sucky runs that I am miserable during. Because afterward, I can’t deny it… I am happier than when I started. Running brings me Joy.

Have a Great Thanksgiving!

***WHERE ARE THE BEST BLACK FRIDAY RUNNING SALES?!?!

If you are running in some races today, Have Funnnn!

What are you thankful for with running and life?

Thanksgiving Races!! Yay! What are you running?

14 comments

  1. Aw thanks for the shout out and sweet and kind words YOU talented and amazing runner! I love all your reasons! I love that everything else can just disappear and you can get lost in a run. The part about running being “cultish” made me laugh! But it is SO true! Apart from a few people not being the most humble haha…but even then all I think most of us want is to have everyone to join in on the fun with us! Seriously wouldn’t it be the best if EVERYONE ran..would make for some crowded streets….but hey we can dream! ๐Ÿ˜‰ have a wonderful Thanksgiving with your family Andrea!

    1. You are so sweet! Yes, if the whole world ran… i think a LOT of love would be going around ๐Ÿ™‚
      Hope you have a great week ahead of you!

  2. You took the words out of my mouth! I’m also grateful for running for all of those reasons! Can I also add that it makes my body stronger and also makes it look good?? Too vain? haha I hope not! Because that also gives me added confidence in my life! I’m also sooo grateful because it’s lead to me discovering this awesome running bloggers community and friends like YOU! Soo grateful to have found you. Love you girl! Hope you had a great day!

    1. Ahh I am thankful for YOU TOO!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ so happy!!
      not vain at all girl!! You are totally right and you have a rockin’ body and are super strong inspiring!! Love ya girl hope you have a great week ahead!!

  3. love #7!! our feet truly give us the best view of this beautiful world!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. YES!!! haha love to run on vacations ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. This is super amazing. I identify with so much on this list, and you worded it all perfectly!

    1. Thanks girl! Hope you had a great thanksgiving ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I absolutely love this. Your list rocks, girl!

    1. Thanks girl!! Hope your weekend and thankgiving was great!!

  6. Love this!! Happy Thanksgiving!!

    1. thanks so much ๐Ÿ™‚ you too!

  7. Random question what brand of running shoes do you go with? What do you do with the old ones?

    1. Hi! I run in New Balance. Always have, always will! And I keep my old ones becuase I still use them around the house, running errands, mowing the lawn, gettin’ muddy… ๐Ÿ™‚ BUT since I have built up quite the collection over the years… I will give my old ones to running stores/races where they collect them and then give them away!

Leave a Reply

