Back at it and it feels oh so good!

Monday was great!

Andrea’s week off of classes looks like this–

Sitting…drinking coffee…browsing Barnes & Nobles…..watching The Mindy Project…..and Running.

I ran twice, and it was marvelous! Here’s how I spent the rest of my Monday:

(Run #1…)

9:00am in the 20 degree chill, I did a fun, easy, 5 miler. It felt amazing to be outside in the fresh air. No one else was running on the trail and I felt completely and serenely isolated!

(….B&N)

I then took myself to Barnes & Nobles where I spent the next 2 hours reading Runner’s World followed by Runner’s Times followed by the UK version of Runner’s World. LOVE IT ALL!

(…a date with Tivo)

I followed that exhausting morning up with lots of Mindy Project…..obsessed. I love her. LOVE her!

(…then Run #2!)

My dad and his “gang” (which is secretly my gang too that I have been running with since I was 14… even though they are all 55 or older).

I did 1 mile warmup (SLOWWW) then 3 miles alternating 400meters HARD, 400meters easy…. then 1 mile cool down. (5 mile total) Then I did 100 lunges and 80 sidewise-walking squats. Gonna DEFINITELY feel that for the next few days…

(…and Dinner)

Dinner was 5$ Burgers at Stacked Pickle. My dad made me promise that I would eat a burger (yes, including the bun, Andrea) once a week.Β  I going to try hard to eat it and love it every week, regardless if I have a workout that day (it is easy to do when I run before hand…. the real test will be to eat a big burger on a rest day).

I have an appointment with my therapist at noon today that I am PUMPED for…. reallllly want to talk about how frustrated I am with how I handled last weeks post-marathon recovery! Lets do it!

Can I just say how WONDERFUL it feels to have the endorphins back on board?!

Have an Awesome Tuesday friends πŸ™‚

Mindy Project watchers? What is your t.v. show of choice!

How are your runs going?!?

12 comments

  1. klopez415 · · Reply

    I love The Mindy Project! I just discovered it this summer and now I’m not somewhat addicted. I also just started The Carrie Diaries with pretty low expectations, but it’s really good for a show that includes high school kids.

    1. haha I have seen a few episodes of carrie diary last year…. havn’t watched it in forever though!! I will have to check it out again!

  2. pickyrunner · · Reply

    Burgers once a week- GOOD IDEA. I should really make myself do that too since man oh man do I love burgers. Tonight is steak for the first time in 6 weeks (which means first time eating red meat in that long too). I cannot wait. Also, I LOVE LOVE LOVE that you are part of your dads “gang” haha I cracked up. I’m glad you’re enjoying being home πŸ™‚

    1. ahh thanks sarah!!!! I hope to stick to it! ((Although… not gonna lie at all… this weekend I did zero working out and ate more food then i thought possible. I feel like a huge oaf!!)) BUT I WILL PREVAIL!!!!

      Steak!! whoohooo get your iron fix πŸ™‚

  3. Glad you’re feelin fine! I am resting my knee a few more days before giving it a go. Hopefully all healed! In the meantime I’ve been swimming laps, lifting weights, and yogaing!

    1. Good plan! honestly… I probably put in too many miles last week and am paying for it this weekend. My legs and mind are tired!! I need to back off the milage… great for you for listening to your body so well!! I need to swim… no impact!!

  4. Loving your burger plan! And – I ran 5 miles today!!!! Farthest I’ve gone since the injury and I could not be more excited about it!

    1. YAYYYYYY!!! Music to my ears! I actually tried to come back too fast from the marathon and put in too many miles and I am feeling it… legs are exhausted! So i am going to back it off again… But YOU should keep on treckin’ like you are doing!! So happy! I knew you would come back fast–running is in your DNA πŸ™‚

  5. We have a bar called Bar Louie’s and they do $2 burgers on Tuesdays. I’m feeling you on the super cheap delicious gourmet burgers! (Lately, they’re the only red meat I seem to enjoy!) I hope you enjoy them even when resting πŸ™‚

    1. we used to have a Bar Louis and I totally remember their TuesdayS!!! I do’nt know why they closed! So sad!!
      thanks for the encouragement girl πŸ™‚

  6. Its a burger challenge, I love this idea!

    Most of my runs have been great, but today I had a horrible one! Haha, it happens… I am glad for mostly good runs, and I am reminding myself that sometimes they just don’t go right.. and its OKAY!. πŸ™‚

    1. Yes horrible runs happen allllll the time! I love remembering that it is usually the awful runs that are the most beneficial to our training!
      Have a great week! ((with some better runs hopefully!))

Leave a Reply

