Richmond Marathon Recap!

Ahh my body hurts! But in a good way ๐Ÿ™‚

The Richmond Marathon, my second 26.2 ever, came and went! Wow!

Thank you all SO MUCH for the encouragement before and excitement for me afterward!

I loved it… but will not lie– I have definitely had better days! But, I didn’t let that get to me, and I ran my race and did the best I could on the day and conditions and forces of life that were presented to me!! And that is all any of us can hope for in a race!

Friday

We arrived in Richmond on Friday (after an over-night at a Hampton Inn in West Virginia) where we ate at a market/deli Bellair in an Exxon Gas Station that is anything but gas-station-ish food! It was delicious! I had a seafood chowder!

20131116-183315.jpg

20131116-183324.jpg

How cute is this place?!?

20131116-183305.jpg

We headed straight to our hotel… a Hampton Inn of course and then went to get our race packets!

20131116-183333.jpg

HUGE room… I could easily do a crossfit workout in here…

After a great dinner at Logan’s Steakhouse (we chose a chain because I knew we could get our usual/simple Salomon/chicken there) we were in bed watching t.v by 8! I also used that time to catch up on The Good Wife– I seriously LOVE this show!

Saturday

Saturday (race day!) started at about 4:45am with breakfast of toast/Pb/oatmeal/pretzels/COFFEE/water. Then, over the course of the next two hours I had a Clif Bar as well! Sounds like a lot… doesn’t it? Ya, I thought so too… but it wasn’t making me full and I guess I wanted the “energy”!

20131116-183402.jpg

Reason 1,001 why I LOVE Hampton Inn’s… they leave wonderful messages on your coffee sleeves!

20131116-183412.jpg

My favorite race buddy ๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_4137

Last minute shoe adjusting!!

My dad ran the Half and started at 7:30 and my race was at 8 (I would have given anything for an earlier start… it was already 55 degrees!!! But it was rainy/misty the entire race which kept the temperatures down.)

20131116-183429.jpg

Good Lucky Daddy!!!

Here we go…(feel free to skip to the bottom to find out the end result ha)

Miles 1-3

I wanted to stay with the 3:30 pace group for the first half to keep it under control and to get my goal of 3:30 to qualify for Boston… but after 3 miles with them I met a girl and we got to talking and kinda just took off together!

Miles 3-13

Here is when I started feeling like crap! It wasn’t a stomach issue or anything… I just couldn’t seem to find my stride and the race felt so super TOUGH!!! It was frustrating and I was starting to get a little worried… at mile 8 I made a 30 sec porta-potty stop, headed back out, ate some clif bar, and trudged on! At mile 10 I had a shot block. All throughout this time I sipped on my Nuun water and took in water at the aid stations. Going through my mind at this point wasย “Oh man.. this could really be a sucky race… just have fun… just have fun…”

Miles 13-20

Suddenly, my body had a turning point. It literally just turned on! I suddenly felt great! My stride started picking up, lengthening out… and everything just came together. I took in an orange slice at 13… nibbled more on some clif bar at 15…. and drank some Nuun/water. At 18 I got really excited, because I had 8 miles left. And 8 miles, if you remember, is my distance!

Mile 21-26.2

I took another shot block at 21, finished the clif bar, and buckled in for the ride home! I was able to pick it up and had a really strong stride going that felt great! I did my last 3 miles at sub-7 pace.

At mile 24.5 I saw my mom and dad cheering me on… and the first thing I shouted was to ask my dad how his half went! He smiles big… He PR’d!! 1:43 ! That man is one month shy of 60 and just rocked a sub-8 half. ROCKSTAR.

DSC_4188

He is lightening fast!!!

The happiness of seeing my mom and hearing about my dads PR!

DSC_4226

DSC_4229

DSC_4231

I came in at 3:14.30 and had a big smile on my face! Yay ๐Ÿ™‚ Highlight was the Runner’s World guy standing at the finish who came up to me and said I ran a good race and finished strong (I am sure he said this to everyone… but I like to think it was personal ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

20131116-183440.jpg

I spent the next 25 mins hobbling around. Literally. My hips were not functioning. I felt ridiculous… I had to do an awkward leg swinging technique… no shame!

I grabbed a slice of pizza (I have never had “junk” food after a race… but for some reason the warm, salty pizza just called out!!) and a protein bar and banana at the post-race tent. I am now so so aware of the importance of re-fueling myself.ย  I KNOW that I demanded a lot of my body, and the only way to heal and improve is to give my body nutrients of all sorts– carbs, protein, fats.

**I ran my first 13.1 in 1:41… and my second 13.1 in 1:33. So I definitely had negative splits going and felt better the second half!

Post Race Thoughts…

I would love to get down around a 3:05. And I totally think this is doable in the near future (next marathon perhaps??)! I would have to train better than I did for this one, which, outside of ONE 20 miler, I did not run longer than 13.1!!! Training took a back-burner to school (as it should) and I really didn’t follow any sort of plan/training/etc. I just sort of “winged it” to be honest. So with a bit more concentration and long runs….I really think I can get that time down! I love chasing after goals!!

We finished the day with a shower, Panera, hip/ITBand icing, then the BEST pizza dinner at Bottom’s Up Pizza that was recommended to us by my favorite teacher ๐Ÿ™‚

20131116-183516.jpg

icin’ away!

If you are ever in Richmond… GO HERE!!

20131116-183535.jpg

My mom (and dad) got a thick slice of BBQ chicken!

20131117-202725.jpg

I went for the Veggie Pizza w/o cheese + Chicken. Wonderful!!

20131117-202732.jpg

Oh, and I took off my shoe to a surprise blood-filled blister. I used my professional doctor skills from years of running to take care of it ๐Ÿ™‚ — Warning! gross picture…

20131116-183449.jpg

20131116-183459.jpg

We made the 10+ hour drive home on Sunday… and if you did not see on the news, the midwest was hit HARD with tornado’s and severe weather. Very, very sad and scary. I have a best friend in Peoria, IL where some deaths from tornado’s occurred. Thanks be to God that she and her family are alright. We got stuck driving in it and it was absolutely terrifying. This picture is from the middle of the afternoon… not the middle of the night. I have never seen the sky so dark. My dad was an amazing driver….Praise the Lord we made it!!!

20131117-202705.jpg

All in all it was a fantastic, fun, event filled weekend! I cannot wait to sign up for another marathon ๐Ÿ™‚

I am not sure on my recovery plan yet. I definitely am taking days off. I know my legs need a break. I am excited to get back into some strength training, hill running, crossfit-esq circuit training, etc, without the fear of being sore! I love being sore. I miss it ๐Ÿ™‚

WOW this was long! No hard feelings if you didn’t finish it! Have a GREAT MONDAY!! โค

What is your plan of attack for recovery?!

What is a good late spring marathon (in the midwest?) I can run!?

48 comments

  1. Congratulations on your second marathon! You kicked butt! I LOVE that you did negative splits – that is amazing! It looks like you had so much fun and overall a great weekend! I’m so glad your friends are ok!

    1. Thank you so much! It was a great weekend all around! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Congratulations to you and your dad…excellent times! Other than the blood blister on your toe (have you ever tried using Body Glide?) how did you like running the marathon in your NB 1400’s?

    1. Thanks!! i have some body glide but did not think to put it on my feet! I didn’t even feel the problem until hours later when I took of my shoes finally haha
      i LOVED my NB 1400’s. Seriously… so so comfortable, and after all my training in my NB 1080V3’s these felt as light as air! such a treat ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Ahhh!! Congratulations!! You are so incredible, girl! What a race! I’m so glad you were able to feel great the second half of the race! And epic job on those negative splits– I have such a hard time running negative splits! I’m so glad you got to enjoy the weekend with your mom and dad and your dad is such a beast!!! Enjoy your recovery– your body deserves it! And I understand that at the time your breakfast felt like a lot, but look at how it fueled you through an incredible race with a strong finish! You are so inspiring!

    1. Thank you so so much! Glad i felt better second half as well haha whew!! You are so right–that breakfast DID fuel me!! I am definitely eating a ton ((which combinded with not workingout is a bit of a struggle)) but I am tyring to remember that this is all for my body so I can get back to training and be strong and healthy!!

  4. Yay! Congratulations! You are awesome. I thought about you Saturday while you were running, knowing you were doing well. I can only imagine you are going to get faster with each marathon. Fuel and recovery this week with easy cross training and you’ll have no problems. Definitely a massage too. Good job Andrea. You are amazing!

    1. Thank you so much!!! That makes me feel so good ๐Ÿ™‚
      I am trying to remind myself that not workingout right now is good for me… and not to freakout by still eating lots this week… hard to be OK with, but I am getting there!! Thanks as ALWAYS for your sound advice!! I loving hearing your thoughts and try my best to follow it ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. pickyrunner · · Reply

    So FIRST, you are amazing. Like actually amazing. I can’t believe you had such a huge negative split! Seriously inspiring, girl. And the fueling- it seems like you did an AWESOME job with it which is why you pulled out such a great time ๐Ÿ™‚
    I have to admit, my heart sank when you said the part about Peoria. That’s where the guy I visited last year in Missouri is this semester and now I’m freaking out a bit but I’m glad you brought it up because I had no idea.

    ENJOY THIS RECOVERY TIME! You deserve it. You worked hard, put in the miles, and now your legs deserve some serious R & R. Your body will thank you in the long run when you’re able to pull out PRs like your dad is still doing!

    1. I hope your friend is oK!! there are scary pictures from that area… It is a miracle that there arn’t more injuries!
      I am trying to sit back, relax, NOT WORKOUT, and eat lots!! ((hard to get my mind around…the whole “even though you are not workingout you still need to eat” idea…))

      Thanks for your advice and the fact that you TOTALLY understand when I say these vulnerable things about food and running!!! Makes me feel not alone and crazy!!

  6. Congrats to you and your dad!!!! Seriously you guys rocked your races!!! Ahh! I’m just so happy for you two :). But don’t you hate it when it takes forever for your body to get into a run hahaha, mine would take until mile 6 to figure out what was going on haha. I usually just lay around afterward, it’s all my body wants, to just relax and not have to have my legs move for a while. And now I just add procompression socks to my recovery, and sleep in them, never had my legs feel so good the next morning! I think a 3:05 race is defiantly going to be doable for you :).

    1. YES it took so long to feel good! I was like, this is crazy!! When did it take 13 miles?!?! Oh well, i am just glad i felt good at SOME POINT! I love recovery in procrompression socks ๐Ÿ™‚ they make a world of difference!

      Thank you for believing in my 3:05 marathon! It is always scary to “post” a goal like that.. but the blogging community is so kind and encouraging I never feel laughed at!!

      Have a great day girl!

  7. You did SO awesome!!!! And that blister is gross…haha

    1. hahahaha I was wondering when someone would bring up the blister!!! yes, SO gross! REALLY not sure why I put that picture up… maybe secretly hoping that everyone threw up at their desks?!?

      Thanks Lish ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Congratulations!!! I’m so happy for you and your dad. You both did so awesome and are both an inspiration! Enjoy your rest and recovery time, you deserve it!

    1. Thank you so so much! Yes, recovery time now! Hard for me to do… but I know that it is for the best if I want to start running again and remain injury free!! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Have a great day!

  9. Congratulations to you and your dad! I for sure think you are more than capable of running 3:05 or under for your next marathon especially considering the time you got in your half marathon. As far as recovery goes after a race I just make sure I stretch/roll really well and then I take a bath with epsom salt afterwards to loosen up my muscles and it feels great! There’s also this cream/lotion called Topricin that rub on my legs that has all these natural ingredients to help to promote healing of your muscles. Oh and that pizza looks absolutely amazing!! Congrats again! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thank you so much for believing in me and the 3:05 goal! Scary to post things like that haha
      Great recovery tips! I have never heard of that cream… I will defnitely have to check it out! I love creams/lotion… always feels good ๐Ÿ™‚
      Have a great one!

      1. Ok, so I had to comment once more because I was wondering if you have heard of the Mcmillian Calculator? You enter recent race time and distance and it calculates what you are capable of doing in other distances (assuming you are trained for it and terrain is somewhat the same) it’s pretty dang accurate too at least it has been for me! And if you plug in your half time you would have around a 3:03 marathon. I use that calculator for my training because it also gives you recommended pace ranges for easy runs, tempos, speed work, etc. to help you reach your goals. It’s been a really helpful tool for me so I just thought I would share. It’s at mcmillianrunning.com if you are interested! ๐Ÿ™‚

      2. Thanks for the suggestion!!! I will check it out! Not sure if I want to know what I SHOULD do a race in… might make me feel pressure haha… but then again it helps realize that these goals are definitely attainable, and like you said… help me train to get there!!! That is a great idea actually ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks very much!!! I do miss having workouts/training to follow!!

  10. Congrats!!!!! You seriously rocked that race and now you have your BQ! ๐Ÿ™‚ Congrats to your dad too on his PR!

    1. Thank you so much!! I am so proud of my dad! He is amazing!
      Have a great day girl!

  11. Dang girl, you got a fast family! Imagine what you could do with some proper training, and maybe a coach??? Way to go!!!!!!!

    1. Bahhh I would LOVE a coach!! know anyone who would want to do if for free and lives in my neck of the woods?!?
      Thanks so much!!!! Hope your training is going well!! whoohoo!!

  12. Oh, and as for a late spring marathon in the midwest – you could check out the Athens, Ohio one. I’ve told you before about my LOVE for that area!

    1. oh yea!!!! Great idea! I will look at that one!! Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. WHOA awesome time. I just ran my first 26.2 in 3:45 and next I’m trying to get a BQ time of less than 3:35!

    1. Oh you definitely got that! You were so close and it was your FIRST ONE! that is the time I got in 2011 and ended up cutting over 32 minutes! So I have no doubt you can BQ! keep at it!!

  14. Okay, I always hear about people at races finding a buddy and just running with them! I’m so jealous!! That never happens to me.

    You had such a super fast and successful race! I’m so happy that your knowledge of the importance of fueling lately has clearly paid off!!! Way to rock it, girl!!!!

    1. haha I am just a chatty cathy and started to talk to someone… usually just first commenting on how cute their running outfit is ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thank you so much for the encouragement and excitement!! yes… trying hard to get the whole “fueling” thing right!!!

  15. What an awesome time! Congrats to both you and your dad! I love that he’s still PR’ing what a great example of lifetime fitness!

    1. I know isn’t that awesome?!?! 60 years old and he is faster than when he was in his 30’s!
      Thanks so much! it was a great, fun weekend!
      Have a great day! ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. You, my friend, are SO SPEEDY. Congratulations on what sounds like a great race! I hope you’re enjoying some quality rest days like me and celebrating your great race success! You deserve it!
    Random, but did you say the Bellair Market you ate at was in Richmond? There is a Bellair market right outside the neighborhood where I grew up (the neighborhood is called Bellair) in Charlottesville, VA an hour or so West of Richmond and that picture looks just like the inside of it. Definitely makes me nostalgic.

    1. YES and you are right… it was in Charlottesville, VA!! it was SO GOOD!!!! I loved it! Adorable! I love that you grew up there… what a beautiful area! it was so crowded and popular there, so we knew we had found a good “local hotspot!”
      GREAT JOB AGAIN ON YOUR RACE!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. That is so awesome that you were basically right next to my family’s house. What a small world!

  17. […] so much for all the kind words and excitement from the Marathon this past weekend! I love how runners share in one-another’s excitement […]

  18. Congratulations!! What an experience & an awesome race time! You are a complete stud, kudos! I loved reading in detail the moments of struggle and the moments of joy during your race, awesome recap. Great job to your dad as well!!

  19. Congrats Andrea!!!! That is an INCREDIBLE time especially with you saying you didn’t put 100% focus into training. Way to go girl! Enjoy your time off of running, you deserve it!

  20. […] and I wouldn’t change that…. Purdue Half-Marathon, Chicago Hot Chocolate 15k, Denver, Richmond Marathon….Whew! Fun stuff right there : […]

  21. Way to go, Andrea! You at so speedy. So glad your race went well and you got your BQ.

    1. thank you so much!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. Holy moly, Andrea! You are totally amazing!!! What a great time, especially for “not your best day!” And I absolutely love your big smile in all the pictures. Congratulations!!

    1. Thank you so much!! it was so great and fun ๐Ÿ™‚ I already miss the training and looking forward to a big run… it is throwing me off!! haha

  23. CONGRATULATIONS!!! what a great race! loved reading your recap!!

    1. Thank you so so much!

  24. […] am about 2 weeks post marathon. While I took the first week off, I put in 36+ miles the second week. Ya, I know, probably more […]

  25. […] weekend, my Dad told me that he wants to shoot for Boston 2015! I got in for my Richmond Marathon time last month, and since 2014 is full, I have decided to to do 2015. My Dad, whom I run just […]

  26. […] Race Experience? Even though the Marathon was great, I would have to say the Boilermaker Half Marathon. I blew my previous time out of the […]

Leave a Reply

