Denver Trip in Pictures and Captions!

Hello friends and happy Monday!

I apologize for the few days of being M.I.A! I was in Denver being so super incredibly busy! It was amazing to be around the mountains again… seriously intoxicating! Unfortunately I was go go go with the conference and career panels and site visits that I really didn’t have any time for anything else!

Lish at Jump Eat Run lives in Denver and we were hoping to meet up for a run, but unfortunately our time schedules just didn’t work out! But I was able to run a beautiful route near her place and even stumble upon her neck of the woods ๐Ÿ™‚ Incredible area, right near a beautiful river that winds down the center of the city, with an amazing view of the mountains!

Anyways, because I missed some school and didn’t let myself do any homework whilst away, I was and am severely behind in life right now!

And on top of all that…. this girl has got a marathon in Richmond, Virginia to run in 5 days!!!! ((I am so incredibly excited! A separate post on this will be coming soon!))

Here is a snip-it of my life the past few days and the hilarity of me wearing work clothes… oh my gosh I felt so out of character!

20131107-215622.jpg

After a morning of career panels and discussion forums… I went on a little “field trip” to see some of our climate research planes that perform tests all throughout the globe to follow pollutants and chemicals, and study the ozone and atmosphere, and predict/understand all extreme weather events! Incredible!

20131107-215313.jpg

20131107-215411.jpg

20131107-215444.jpg

20131107-215604.jpg

The inside of the plane where all the equipment (not shown in the plane in this picture) and researchers cram into close quarters for hours on end…

20131107-215504.jpg

I went to NCAR (National Climate and Atmospheric Research) lab in Boulder where I learned the coolest things about our globe… here is a little tornado we got to see “created” ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_1846

20131107-215257.jpg

After my evening in black/gray… I was in desperate need of color for the evening at the pub with alumni… So yellow tights it is!! Seriously… there is no way I pulled this off as cute, but boy was it fun to try ๐Ÿ™‚

20131107-215144.jpg

20131107-215117.jpg

Hello Andrea in Pink… something we don’t see too often…

IMG_1877

A panorama of the Denver Symphony as I got a back stage sneak-peak of this nationally renowned symphony!

IMG_1888

After the Denver Symphony, I went from being a professional, blazer-wearin’ gal…..

IMG_1906

……to the runner I am (much more me!) Yay for squeezing in a run just 45 mins before the airport shuttle was to get me!

IMG_1908

The REI in Denver and the beautiful river I ran along!

IMG_1909

An absolutely gorgeous day and breathtaking run…

IMG_1915

… The bittersweet drive to the airport with this sky to say goodbye to! I know I will be back ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_1919

And finally…ย  I flew home with a whole row to myself! ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_1945

I hope you all have a great day!

What did YOU do this weekend! ((I feel out of the loop!))

Lots of movies coming out this Thanksgiving/Christmas season… what are you excited for?!

22 comments

  1. pickyrunner · · Reply

    Such a fun weekend! I have to say you’re more stylish than me when it comes to putting things together. Your outfits are cute! And you totally rock the yellow tights ๐Ÿ˜‰ I am obsessed with the picture of you with the light shining. So artsy and cute and I’m so happy that you had a great time!!!

    1. Thanks Sarah!!! haha glad I have one vote for the yellow tights! They were just too much fun not to wear!!
      Looks like you had a great time at the verterans race you ran!! have a great evening!!

  2. Your trip looks like so much fun! I’ve always wanted to visit Denver. Your run route looks gorgeous and a whole row on the way home? Perfection!

    1. Thanks it was beautiful and wonderful! i miss themountains already!
      That is most definitely the way to fly…. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I ran my first marathon this weekend. It went really well. That being said, I think it would have gone so much better if I took tapering a little more seriously. Just a little food for thought for you because I think you probably won’t want to taper this week like you should either, but I think you could absolutely run your marathon ridiculously fast if you did. All the running coaches recommendations I read said no weight training the final week, which I followed, but I still ran 40 miles the 8 days prior to the marathon. I just wanted to share because I know you asked last week.

    I am glad you had a great time in Denver. I also think your work clothes look fabulous and professional ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thank you so so much for the WONDERFUL advice. I am absolutely listening to you and taking your words seriously… i will be sure to be careful and taper!!
      Glad you had a great time at your marathon though!So great… what a feeling eh?!
      Thanks so much ๐Ÿ™‚ have a great night!

  4. I love love LOVE Colorado! half of my family is from Boulder and that has always been top on my list of places where I want to live. My Grandpa lives near Denver too… the whole state is gorgeous.

    ps – love that black dress. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. So jealous you have family out there! I just scheduled a ski trip out there for March… and i get to go out there again Jan.8 to get wilderness first responder certified. thank goodness, i miss the mountains already!

      Get that leg of yours better so that next time I run a race in Chicago ((which i feel like is all the time)) you can join!!

  5. Seriously, that last running picture of you is just flat out gorgeous! I’m very jealous you got to go to Denver, that is my dream place to live ๐Ÿ™‚ Although you’re behind, sometimes we need a break, you know? You’ll catch right up ๐Ÿ™‚ I got a lot of errands done, and baking, that’s enjoyable for me haha ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Yep! School is school… I always seem to survive!! And i love those weekends of errands and baking… seriously so fun and relaxing!

  6. Glad you had such a great time!

    1. Thanks! loved it!

  7. Looks like a fun trip! As for me, what did I do this weekend? Hmmm…oh yeah, I remember – I won 2 Emmys!!!!!!!!! Going to post about it soon!

    1. you are INCREDIBLE!!!!!! haha i love this!! your weekend just tops everything!! can’t WAIT to read about it!!! whoohooo!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. Hahaha, thanks! Keep trying to raise the bar!

  8. So bummed we didn’t get to run together, but we definitely will next time ๐Ÿ™‚
    Love the pics of my running path!!

    1. haha Yep, next time for sure!

  9. So glad you had an awesome trip to Denver!! I can’t believe we just missed each other, haha! Wasn’t the weather gorgeous?!? I love all of your business attire and you are absolutely beautiful! Did you get any good leads from employers that you met with? Your field trips look so fun! And a definite yes to the yellow tights. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. great weather… denver knew to be extra gorgeous for us!
      I picked up some great ideas for my next steps in life… ha goodness knows I need some direction!
      Glad i have at least one vote for the yellow tights!!
      Soooo wish we would have overlapped!! Next time!

  10. […] am not and never will be the best at everything. This goes for school and career planning. Denver was great, but overwhelming. I came out thinking, How in the world will I ever be chosen for a job? […]

  11. […] blast and I wouldn’t change that…. Purdue Half-Marathon, Chicago Hot Chocolate 15k, Denver, Richmond Marathon….Whew! Fun stuff right there : […]

  12. […] can be done anytime, anywhere. I think most runners have those stories where they last minute squeezed in a quickie (lets keep […]

Leave a Reply

