What does a “taper” look like?

Morning!

11 days and counting! โค

Boy do I get nice and cranky with less running in my days and week…

I feel GREAT after the race on Sunday… legs are not sore at all! However, I resisted the urge to run yesterday. In fact… I didn’t do diddly-squat!

I am very very much aware that 11 days is very soon but it is also far enough away that I still need to BE SMART.

Remember… it is what Ryan Hall said–“Get to the start line Healthy.”

I have so much to do in the next 48 hours when i leave for Denver! Number 1 on this list is attempt to learn the difference between Procedural Due Process and Substantial Due Process and the amount of process given to a public employee versus the Average Joe…. gahh wish me luck!

I hope to get a run into day as a “study break”. I was supposed to run with some friends at 6am this morning, but I am studying instead. (Ok… studying and writing this really really brief post!)

I was thinking about the whole “tapering” thing. I have never actually done it. I have no idea how it works:

  • Do I put in less weekly mileage or just cut my runs pace?
  • Do I still do some speed and tempo work to keep my legs fresh?
  • What about my love for weight lifting and circuit training? Where do those come in?

I have actually found that my legs do best when they are pushed HARD in a crossfit WOD about 3 to 4 days before a run: They are super sore the next two days, begin healing on the third day, and strong and ready to go on the fourth day! I have run my last couple races with that “strategy” and my legs respond well. Should I attempt to apply this to the marathon as well?!

I am afraid of losing the quick legs speed/turnover that my speed workouts and temp runs have provided me with the last few months. I would still like to do some stride-outs in the next 11 days…

I know I will not run 2 days before the race. I usually never run 2 days before (unless it is purely strideouts).

Today I would like to go for a slow 8 miler, without a watch, and just loosen my legs.

We will see if my Studying and preparedness for my exam in 24 hours allows for this. Bahhhh I need Thanksgiving Break!!

Have a wonderful Tuesday everyone!

PLEASE help me out on your ideas of Tapering!!!

Are you best focused on work/school in the morning or evenings?

16 comments

  1. pickyrunner · · Reply

    Usually when you taper your mileage should drop dramatically. I know hollie (fueled by lolz) did a really great post before NYC about it. She was running 80-100 miles a week and dropped down to 40 the week of the marathon, including the marathon itself. My coach usually drops our mileage back a few weeks before and adds in a day or two of speed. So I would say today is one of your last 8 mile runs if you want to be totally fresh come race day! It’s sooner than you think and you definitely don’t want to go in tired! Maybe do a short 3-4 mile tempo one day and some other 4ish mile runs until the race? I have never run a marathon but I know that I suck at taper and am known for breaking it, and always end up regretting it and disappointed with my performance.

  2. I can’t really answer the tapering question for you, but 11 days!! I’m so excited for you! It will be here before you know it and then you will have run 2 marathons! Yay!

  3. I have never tapered before hahaha I usually just listen to my body and see how it is feeling. If I’m feeling like doing a long run, but think maybe that wouldn’t be a good idea, then take that long distance number, and knock a couple of miles off of it and go for that run :). If doing the crossfit workouts 4 days before a race worked before, then try it for the marathon, you never know until you see what works for you ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I’m tapering now, too! I don’t really follow a plan (anymore–I used to be crazy about following an exact plan, and it drove me nuts). Basically, not much will change this week, outside of Saturday. Instead of doing 20 or so, I’ll probably stick to 1-2 hours easy. Pace during the week will be much the same.

    Next week will be the considerable decrease in mileage for me. Same pace, though, with two rest days before. This is just what works for me! I find that if I do no more than 4 or 5 the week before a race, I am ITCHING at the starting line!

    -H

    1. Thanks so much for these suggestions! I have been doing just a few 5 mile runs here and there… and I am going to give it a full 2 days of nothing before the race! I feel like because of school craziness, I have been tapering for 2 or 3 weeks!!! So probably not ideal, but at least I am injury free at the start line right?! Thanks for the advice! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. *4 or 5 per day, that is.

  6. I would be a bit careful about working out too close to the race. I made the mistake once of doing a bunch of weighted walking lunges 3 days before a half marathon and I was still sore come race day, and wished my legs felt fresher. Good luck!

  7. rachelaburns · · Reply

    I’ve always followed the advice from Runner’s World or Active when it comes to determining a tapering plan, but you really have to listen to YOU. From my own experience, I know that anything other than running/biking (such as plyos, lifting, etc) are way too much for me even the week before a race. But everyone’s muscles respond differently. I would recommend icing or ice baths, foam rolling, and stretching as much as you can if you ever feel like you HAVE overdone it. But rest assured that a big part of this is mental stamina, and you’ve clearly got the guts for this. You’ve put in the hard work and the miles that you need to run strong.

    Haha I already forget due process, and that was just a year ago for me! Good luck on your exams!

  8. Here is one of Hal Higdon’s training plans to give you an idea of what tapering looks like. I just chose this one because it includes cross training but you can go look at the other plans and see if another one fits better for you http://halhigdon.com/training/51140/Marathon-Intermediate-2-Training-Program.
    Good luck!!! Also, Denver! You’ll be sooo (relatively) close to me! Same timezone and everything ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thanks for posting this for me!!! I have found some very useful info on here!!!! Gracias lady! Hope life is going well!!! Staying warm there?! it is now FREEZING here in Indianapolis…bahh not ready!

  9. I’m facing the same kind of question. Most plans call for much shorter runs…and for those runs to be at a comfortable pace. But I always feel like I’m doing myself a disservice if I don’t fit in one last long run!

  10. Tapering is just miserable, but you can get through it! Distract yourself with getting ready to come here! Would you be up for a super short and slow run and coffee on Friday early evening?
    where are you staying?

    1. Bahh I have a flight home on Friday at 7:30pm ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Really the only “free” time I have ((the conference is thuri 8am-9pm and fri 8am-5pm)) would be in the morning before the confrence! I know, definititely not ideal!! Downtown Hampton!

      1. Boo!! It may not work then ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I would say we could try for Friday morning, but I get to work at 6:30…and I usually leave around 4:30am to go to the gym first.
        I live right downtown too ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      2. Well, you know me, I am always up for an early morning run! So even if you last minute have a change of routine on Friday let me know!!

      3. email me your # at jumpeatrun@gmail.com. I could skip the gym for an early morning run (would have to be like 4:45 though!)

Leave a Reply

