Bad at being a Girl.

This a truly random post…

Yesterday morning it took hours and hours of me sitting on the couch drinking coffee, going back to bed at 5:30am after a huge breakfast, then waking back-up forgetting I had an issue brief for Environmental Management to finish writing…. before I finally got my booty out the door for a run.

BUT… yesterday morning, I got a nice brisk run in! 8.5 miles, feeling pretty good! Yippee!

I took off Monday from all workout/activity (except, of course, for rolling πŸ˜‰

My mantra everyday is “Stay healthy, stay healthy STAY HEALTHY!!So taking Monday off was mentally easy for me to do (when usually I really really struggle with rest days).

I also did a second workout yesterday, but it was all upper body weights and lower body “body-resistant” workouts. It was a wonderful little sweat-fest!

It occurred to me yesterday just how bad I am at being a Girl. Ok, more specifically… I am bad at being a “girly-girl”.

This was totally me as a child:

…anddd further proof that I have not grown into a lovely young lady;

  • I shaved my legs for the first time in I don’t KNOW how long (and I cut them, as always. How many years of shaving until I can successfully leave the shower without looking like I was attacked and dying of blood loss?)
  • I bought my very first curling iron this weekend.
  • I tried to use my curling iron yesterday and every single strand ended up straighter than when I started. (I don’t get it?!?! I obviously need to practice… there are 7 year olds that can curl their hair…)
  • I still don’t own a brush. I don’t see this changing any time soon.
  • The amount I spit on my group runs with a bunch of strangers and one-time acquaintances actually makes it a miracle that they still run with me.
  • When I am really needing to “doll-up” and “do-my-makeup”…. that consists of Mascara. That is it. I never learned how to use any other product.
  • My favorite movies (in no order) are: Gladiator, Braveheart, The Departed, Last of the Mohicans, Inglorious Bastards, Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, Blood Diamond, Legends of the Fall…Ok I am forgetting lots. But lets put it this way– if your boyfriend/husband/brother likes it… I am sure I do as well.
  • I have always (and still do) want to be a cowboy.
  • I wear my Salmon hiking shoes or old pair of running shoes everyday (my dress-up shoes are Sperry’s… you will never see me in flats/heels unless it is a wedding. And even then I am immediately barefoot on the dance floor).
  • I HATE shopping. Literally… cannot think of anything I want to do less. (OH… unless it is running clothes/shoes specific. OR Costco. Then absolutely.)
  • I have the most roughed up, chewed up, fingers and hands. Between my nervous habit of chewing my fingernails and hangnails and the calluses from weight lifting…. not only do my hands look disgusting, but they feel like sandpaper. Not exactly lovely lady hands, huh?
  • I wear running shorts under ALL my skirts/dresses. No question about this. Never know when you need to turn athletic for a spur of the moment run/flag-football/pick-up soccer/trampoline… or just sit comfortable without worrying about people seein’ something they shouldn’t (ifyaknowwhatimean)…

No one in my family is good at being a girl… girly genes skipped my family. My mom (Elizabeth) made my grandma call her David when she was ilttle and they finally got her to wear a swim top (rather than just swim trunks) when she was 8 years old…

Yes… this post was truly random… If you didn’t make it through, I don’t blame you!

I have no clue what workout I will be doing today… maybe running… maybe more body resistant activities… we will see!! Mean while, have a fantastic Wednesday!

Are you good at being a Girl??

Running plans this week?

When is your next race!

31 comments

  1. This post made me laugh so much! I am similar in a lot of ways – two that made me laugh the most because I thought they were just me are 1) Shaving my legs. I cut myself pretty much every time. 2) I wear running shorts under almost every dress as well. My friends always thought I was crazy, but I held firm and still do! I feel naked without them. I also never used to wear dresses. I’ve grown out of that now (maybe its the shorts under the dress thing that was the key for me?) My next race is the 10th – its an 11k for Veterans Day!

    1. hahah yayy so glad you wear running shorts under things too!! I mean… isn’t it just so so comfy?!
      I have never run a veterans day race! what a great idea.. I am a big V-day supporter πŸ™‚ I will have to find one in the future! Have a great run and a great evening!

  2. pickyrunner · · Reply

    HAHA I cracked up reading this on my commute this morning. My phone wouldn’t let me comment until now but I feel like I need to go down your list because I agree with every one. Shaving. Yep, I realized this week I needed to shave because the hair was poking out of my leggings. Gross. I wear spandex shorts under dresses. I don’t wear anything other than sperries or sneakers or toms unless I have a formal event, and in those events i bring flip flops. I don’t know how to put on any makeup other than mascara. And I bought it in 8th grade so that tells you how often I use it. I don’t know how to curl OR blow dry my hair. I don’t own either hair appliance (is that what they’re even called?) I could go on but basically I I’d be writing the same thing that you alraedy said. So yes, I suck at being a girl and I’m okay with it because I like being a tomboy athlete/runner. It’s more fun.

    1. hahahahaha I have TOTALLY had hair poking through my leggings as well!! I thought it was just me!!
      Yay for spandex under the dress… and you are brilliant for bringing flip-flops!
      I am sooo bad about buying new mascara as well!!
      I love that we BOTH suck at being girls πŸ™‚ further proof of our awesome friendship!

  3. I’m okay at being a girl haha, I can’t curl my hair, but I curl someone else very well (I would like to thank two years in cosmetology school for that), I spit like no other on runs, I finally have gotten good (most of the time) at putting on eyeliner. I will wear flats or heels, and dresses are a new thing to me haha but I own not one dress. I’ve got a 3-4 mile run planned for Thursday where I’ll increase the speed every 1/2 mile, and still not sure what I’m going to do Saturday haha, I’ll figure it out in between now and then though. Have a great Hump Day πŸ™‚

    1. I need to hire you to curl my hair for important events in my life!!
      Way to get your spit-on girl πŸ™‚
      That run sounds great! I love cut-downs!
      You have a great evening girl!

  4. hahaha I love this. I’m still learning how to “be a girl” too. my mom told me once that she shaves her legs every. single. day. I’m honestly lucky if I do it once a week… and in the winter? forget about it lol

    1. Every. Day?!?! Never would I ever. But power to her?! I need to find a guy who is A-OK with me shaving every 2 weeks. That is a must.

  5. Your list was hilarious, BUT the part that really killed me was the story about your mom. Too cute! Nothin’ wrong with being athletic!!! πŸ™‚

    1. Amen!! So glad my family is athletic… wouldn’t have it any other way!

  6. I wore my brother’s hand-me-downs until the 8th grade. I think my mom may have cried from excitement the first time I told her she could take me shopping somewhere besides my brother’s closet or the boy’s section of old navy. I have gotten a little more girly in the 10ish years since but still can’t keep my finger nails looking attractive and DEFINITELY tend to spit when I run (I spit on a girl I didn’t see passing me during a cross country meet once… oops).

    1. Love it!!! I always wish i had a brother to wear his clothes!
      hahaha spitting on another person during a race is like a right of passage… I have done plenty of spitting on others.. as well as been in the “spray” of others!!
      πŸ™‚ thanks for sharing!

  7. Hahaha I love it!
    1)My sister (also named Andrea) demanded to be called Andrew as a child
    2) I wore track shorts under my prom dress (and all other dresses)
    3) Our family loves grocery shopping but despises clothing shopping
    4) I still do not know my way around the small local mall on the rare occasions I go with friends

    1. Andrea…..Andrew…. LOVE IT!!!
      Hearing you wore track shorts under your prom dress makes me SO HAPPY! I did the same exact thing!! ((I was so happy…. other girls were definitely jealous πŸ™‚ ))
      …maybe one day we will enjoy shopping?? nahhh πŸ™‚

  8. So you and the women who responded to this post are quintessentially un-girly girl. Regardless…you all look good.

    1. Thanks Paul!!! Glad we haven’t scared off all the guys!

  9. I am decent at being a girl. I have gone through phases. In high school and early college I was very girl. Loved shopping, makeup, the whole bit … today, I just want to be in my running clothes and have a pony tail 24/7! πŸ™‚ Priorities change I guess, haha

    1. Whoohoo!!! is there anything better than running shorts and pony tails!! Nothing wrong with that! All about what we are comfortable in πŸ™‚

  10. Haha!
    There’s a gorgeous girl that I sometimes run with (she’s also VERY fast), and it always cracks me up when she starts hocking loogies all over the place during the run.
    BTW, I have some gay friends, but since I hang out with so many cyclists/tri dudes, I’ve never seen so many men shave their legs. They say it’s to fight off infection in case they fall. I’ve kind of joined them, and I kind of like it. So I guess I’m kind of good at being a girl.
    Also, Last of the Mohicans is one of my all time favorite movies!!!

    1. haha THANK YOU for making me laugh so much reading this… glad to hear this girl is still “gorgeous” despite her loogies!! ((there is hope for me yet!))
      And I know sooo many guys who shave and they are all bikers, runners, and one Martial Arts fighter! Honestly, I am so used to it now… i don”t even notice.
      Last of the Mohicans is a a movie i NEVER get tired of. I also have the soundtrack and it is AMAZING!!

      1. Haha, yes!
        And yes, the soundtrack is incredible!

  11. Haha! This is hilarious! Sometimes I “forget how to girl” as well and realize I haven’t shaved my legs in who knows how long! Glad I’m not the only one!!

    1. haha Yay! I am not the only one who just completely forgets to shave!! i always think i had “just shaved”…. but then I realize it has been weeks and it sneaks up on me! ahh!

  12. Oh my gosh…so many of those manly moments spoke to me. I haven’t shaved since like…two weeks ago (which is saying something since it’s hot here still)…Good thing hubby doesn’t seem to mind haha.

    1. haha Glad you found a good man who doesn’t mind πŸ™‚ That is definitely on my “list” of future husband characteristics!!

  13. haha I love this post! I do not like shopping at all either unless it is for running clothes…I have no idea how that’s any different probably because I’m super lazy when it comes to trying things on! I’m terrible at curling my hair and I’ve had one ever since I can remember! Chapstick over lipstick/gloss all the way for me. Whenever my friends ask me to go get my nails done with them I make an excuse as to why I can’t. Don’t know why but it just does not sound fun to me. As far as racing plans my first ever half marathon on Sunday!:)

    1. I hear you on running clothes!! Can you ever have enough running shorts?! nope πŸ™‚
      YES to chapstick!! What is lipstick haha??

      I AM SO EXCITED FOR YOUR FIRST HALF!!! You will have so much fun! Warning… Half’s are addicting!!! Can’t wait to hear how you do! HAVE FUN!!

  14. Haha, I love it! I used to suck at being a girl, now I’m a weeeeeee bit better (read: I wear earrings and foundation. That’s about it). I wear spandex under EVERYTHING, and can quote Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, and LOST until my ears fall off.

    Running plans? I have my college’s XC League championships (6k race) on Saturday, so only an easy run left for Friday. I’m itching to get back into my long runs after the season ends!

    And oh my goodness, going BACK to bed at 5:30? What time did you wake up, girly???

    Lots of love! xoxo

    1. haha yayy for spandex lovin’! Ok… you and i need to get together for a LOTR and Star Wars quoting party!

      GOOD LUCK!!! 6k seems so short and fast to me now!! Have fun out there and enjoy the time with your teammates! Long runs will always be there waiting for ya πŸ™‚
      yesss I get up SUPER EARLY. Can’t help it. So a 5:30 nap was just that– a nap. oy!
      Can’t wait to hear how you did!!

  15. […] high quality great clothes, but at a fraction of the price! Score and Score. And remember… I hate shopping.Β  So my love for this store is saying a […]

  16. bahahaha!! Andrea you are so funny. I’m actually good at being a girl most of the time. The only things I really don’t like are shopping (I’m with you there..what a headache!) and I’m still learning how to dress myself and be cute. Someday I’ll learn. πŸ˜‰

    Love the new layout!

Leave a Reply

