Roll Out: I am a Believer!

This past weekend had a tough day of running on Saturday.

I had hoped to do 15-16 miles as my last longer run before the marathon (ahh 3 weeks!!) but I only ended up doing 13. Everything about the run was just blahh. I wasn’t planning on running on Saturday… so my morning breakfast and lunch were not really eaten with the intent to run later… nor was my mental prepardness. So at 2:30, I last minute decided to run.

Indianapolis weather decided to be as dark, cold, WINDY as possible, so I ran on an inside loop at my high school. 1 lap is 800 meters (1/2 mile). I am so lucky to have gone to one of the largest high schools in the country with 4,500 students… our school is HUGE and the 800 meter loop consists of long, wide hallways. The 90 degree turns however, suck.

I did 26 laps for 13 miles. And it was a challenge. I was just bored, tired, and wanting to be done as soon as possible.ย  The good news, however, was that I was extremely consistent!

Here are my lap times for 26 laps–

  • 3.41
  • 3.43
  • 3.39
  • 3.40
  • 3.40
  • 3.40
  • 3.39
  • 3.39
  • 3.40
  • 3.39
  • 3.37
  • 3.35
  • 3.37
  • 3.37
  • 3.37
  • 3.37
  • 3.37
  • 3.35
  • 3.35
  • 3.35
  • 3.33
  • 3.35
  • 3.34
  • 3.32
  • 3.32
  • 3.32

Total time= 1:34.00

Sorry that was long…haha Anyways… I was tight tight tight afterwards. That evening I went home and rolled rolled rolled!!! Foam roller and stick!! I spent about 20 mins on each leg. And let me say… I woke up Sunday feeling amazing!!!

I ended up doing a shake out run Sunday– extremely slow and fun… and my legs were so so happy!! It was also a gorgeous run again… boy I am getting spoiled with these fall colors!

20131027-110435.jpg

I also think the worlds greatest dinner helped. I went to Granite City and had a brand new type of fish I had never heard of… Barramundi (white fish from Northern Australia) with quinoa and asparagus. ohmygosh YUM.

20131027-110442.jpg

So Sunday, while I was expecting my legs to feel completely awful, they felt great. And now I am really going to take the time to roll every day… especially from now until the marathon!!

I am such a believer in it now!

Have a great Monday guys!

Do you roll?

What is your favorite kind of fish or seafood?!

19 comments

  1. Fall colors in Indiana are very New England like…the pictures you posted could be anywhere in Northwestern CT. Your lap times on your hallway run were certainly consistent and I was surprised that you were allowed to run in the school on a Saturday…or any day for that matter. As far as seafood goes I once had flying fish while on vacation in Barbados and that was excellent. Clams or mussels over linguini gets my mouth watering just thinking about it.

  2. In high school, we used to run inside the hallways when it was storming/hurricaning outside, and I HATED those 90 degree turns! Especially when the floors were freshly waxed, haha! I’m clumsy enough as it is!

    I do not have a foam roller…but after reading this and a few other posts about them, I think I really need to invest in a roller and stick! I’m so glad you felt great the morning after your run! Where did you buy yours?? Internet?

    Aaaand my favorite fish is salmon! Especially the kind my aunt makes, marinated in maple syrup. Sounds weird, but it tooootally awesome! Have a great Monday!

  3. pickyrunner · · Reply

    Oh are CRAY! I don’t know how you survived that many miles on the track. I can’t even do a 5k. As in, I’m seriously thinking about not going back. I hate running around that thing that much. Anyways, I’m glad you did what your body wanted instead of pushing those last couples miles and the fall colors on those trees are GORGEOUS.

    1. haha you are so funny…. as much as you “hate” running around that thing..we BOTH know you are dying to get back there for track season ๐Ÿ™‚ ((you will be amazing by the way… fast and STRONG and injury free!))
      The leaves are to die for… although I am sure you have seen some gorgeous fall colors over on the east coast!

  4. 13 miles is still good!!! Only a couple miles off, next time you’ll be ready for it :). Love that picture of you with the leaves, so pretty girl!! I have never foam rolled, but I probably should hahaha.

    1. You are right ๐Ÿ™‚ in the grand scheme of my training those 2 miles mean nothing!!!
      PLEASE try foam rolling ((it hurts while you are doing it)) but let me know how you feel the next day…. promise you will love it!

  5. vitatrain4life · · Reply

    Nice splits! Geez, that was very consistent but I can’t believe you did that on a track!! That may be worse then the treadmill! Good job getting it done. Just hopped over here from Hit the Ground Running and so glad I did.

    1. Hi! Thanks so much for commenting!! I love meeting new bloggers ๐Ÿ™‚
      haha yesssss you are right… I would rather be on a treadmill! On a treadmill I can usually 100% zone out because no focus is needed… but on this indoor “hallway” track, just enough focus was needed to realize how insanely bored I was!! Oh well… do what you got to do! ๐Ÿ™‚
      I like to think of it is a mental training!
      Tanks for stopping by and i look forward to reading your blog!

  6. I don’t roll as much as I should and I need to get better at it. My legs always feel so much better wen I take care of them! I don’t eat fish anymore (or really that often) but I loved Mahi and Salmon when I did eat it!

    1. I know it’s funny how much it helps!!!
      salmon is my FAVORITE!!!! mahi mahi used to be… but i have found so many more i like better!

  7. I ran on the track for the first time since high school the other day and I really enjoyed it. I was able to zone out surprisingly. Don’t worry about not covering the miles you wanted. Put it in the past and keep looking forward.

    1. Thanks so much! You are right! Totally in the past now, and it will not hurt me at all in the grand scheme of the hundreds of miles I have put into training for this marathon!
      That is definitely a good thing about a track workout! You can let your mind wander and zone out completely ((but usually i lose count of my laps haha))
      Glad you got some decent loops in ๐Ÿ™‚ it is fun to go back to the old high school grounds every now and then!

  8. I roll a few times a week and even though I hate doing it, I know that it helps! I got the Trigger Point one that has PVC pipe in the middle. It’s not very forgiving, lol!

    1. Ahhhhhhh!!! pvc pipe rolling=OUCH!! At crossfit they used to ONLY give us pvc rollers (no foam on outside) and i rebelled again using the. it just was pain on pain on pain! BUT… can’t deny it is the best right?!
      Keep on rollin ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. Haha, roll on playa!

  9. I’d get super bored on a track for that long! I love my foam roller…such a life saver!

    1. yep!! i was totally 100% bored and in a bad mood running in 26 loops! haha… lets call it mental training??
      Yay for foam rolling!!

  10. I’m a bad runner…I don’t even own a roller…or whatever it’s called. Yeah. I’m that bad.
    Also I don’t like seafood…I know…there had to be a kink in our friendship somewhere!

  11. […] I took off Monday from all workout/activity (except, of course, for rolling […]

Leave a Reply

