When are we “Marathoners”?

Morning!

2 Quick things:ย I wore my hair down….truly a miracle….

20131024-062550.jpg

and I got my new New Balance training shoes in the mail. Score.

20131024-062528.jpg

As some one who is obsessed with all things Running, one of my favorite things to do is discover new running blogs and finding new running Instagrams to follow (yes I know, I sound like a good time, don’t I?)

As I read through peoples “About Me’s” or taglines for their Instagrams, I am attracted by key words– Fitness, Running, Health, Nutrition, Strength, Workout, etc.

One word that comes up that really gets me excited, is Marathoner. This got me thinking:

When do we call ourselves Marathoners?

I know we have had lots of discussion in the blogging community regarding when we can call ourselves a Runner. I believe, like most all of us, that if you RUN, you are a RUNNER. (Believe it people! You are all amazing beautiful RUNNERS!)

But a MARATHONER?!? (gulp!) I still get squeamish just thinking about marathons! I have run ONE. Compared to some people that hardly a blip in their radar. But then again, compared to some people, that is the Dream-of-all-Dreams!

I am signed up for my 2nd marathon in just a few weeks–Richmond, VA November 16— and I wondered, Will I feel comfortable labeling myself as a Marathoner after I have 2 under my belt? Or is 3 the magic number… or 5? Or is it when I stop wanting to throw up over being so nervous and in awe of the distance?

I am thinking that I will never be comfortable calling myself a “marathoner”. And I am OK with this… because I never, ever want the distance or the act to become a common-place thing. I never want to just give a shrug about racing 26.2… because with that nonchalance might come a loss of Awe… a loss of the magic that is found in that wonderful number. And I love it too much to sacrifice any part of that magic.

So instead of waiting for that moment in time when I feel comfortable enough to call myself a Marathoner, I am enjoying the Beauty and Fun that is 26.2!

26.2…. may you never cease to be inspiring, beautiful, and scary.

Have a Fantastic Thursday friends… almost there! ๐Ÿ™‚

Do you call yourself a Marathoner?

What mileage is your “scary, beautiful” distance?

20 comments

  1. Runner Girl Eats · · Reply

    The marathon is my scary distance. It seems so far fetched for me…but maybe one day ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. You will do it… i bet a LOT sooner than you think! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. A half marathon is scary yet beautiful to me. And a marathon for some weird reason, is exciting to me. It’s the distance I want, but my body won’t permit me to do. I think you eventually stop feeling so nervous, and will just get excited about the distance but still be in awe of it. At least that is how I feel about half marathons. They may be scary and beautiful, but nothing more gets me as excited than a long run. I still remember the day I ran 15 miles, it was the best day ever for me. I literally felt on top of the world, and still in awe of this sport. I freakin’ love it :D!

    1. Totally feel ya girl!! I love how much you LOVE running!!! Exactly the way I feel! And the half distance is my favorite distance!!! you are right– beautiful!!

  3. So I stumbled upon your blog a few weeks ago, but have yet to comment because I’ve honestly just been in awe of how SIMILAR we seem from what you post! I’m sure that happens alot with readers who are interested in fitness/running/triathlons/nutrition. ๐Ÿ™‚ This post resonated with me SO much because it’s something I have actually been thinking about recently– I ran my first full marathon in 2012 and have had the itch to train for another one soon. I smiled during my entire marathon, through pouring rain, tornado sirens, and all, and yet, I’m still anxious to do another because it is so intimidating to me! It’s a beautiful distance…I definitely want to do more (I hear Vancouver has an awesome marathon!) and hopefully a half-Ironman triathlon in 2014 and eventually…a full Ironman! —

    1. Oh my gosh I am so happy you commented!! I love this! Thank you for sharing… it definitely sounds like you had the exact same first marathon experience as me! I did NOT stop smiling! I loved every second! ((tornado sirens!! how epic girl!)) I definitely got antsy to do another one… and i have feeling the craving will only keep getting stronger the more we do!

      I actually have plans to find a half-iron man for the spring/summer next year! I LOVE them… and i have my sights set on a full ironman one day! haha man we ARE similar!!

      A Vancouver marathon would be incredible! I have only heard beautiful things about Vancouver– and the best way to see a city is running, right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Thanks again for commenting and I can’t wait to check out your blog! Have a great weekend!

      1. I love finding other people who smile when they run!! Most of the spectators thought I was crazy haha! And good luck with your upcoming marathon! You are going to absolutely crush it!

        I am interviewing for a job in Denver next week (!!) and if I get the job (accounting– I’m a big numbers nerd!) I will start in January, so I’m thinking I might try and find a half Iron somewhere out west during the summer!!

        I took a bike tour of Vancouver on a recent roadtrip out west (I’m from Florida, it was a long drive hahaha) and as much fun as it was on a bike, I just wanted to run so I could see it at a little bit of a slower place! The city is unlike any other I’ve ever seen!

        I am not a super frequent blogger, but just updated a new one (teawithyaya.wordpress.com) that I will update more often with random adventures and experiences over the next year as I spend some time in my hometown before a hopeful move out west! So, if clicking on my name takes you to an older blog, this other link is a little more updated. ๐Ÿ™‚

      2. There is a VERY GOOD CHANCE we will be in Denver/Colorado together then next summer!! I don’t graduate from grad school until next december ((then plan on moving out west asap)) but this summer an internship in Colorado is in the works!– in fact I will be out there in just 3 weeks to meet with a panel of employers!! ๐Ÿ™‚

        Florida to Vancouver???? girl I don’t know how you did that.. i hope you wore compression socks for that long in the car!! haha ๐Ÿ™‚

      3. Oh my gosh, NO WAY! I did an internship in Colorado two summers ago at a Christian child-sponsoring organization called Compassion International…and thus began my love affair with that glorious state! I have my final interview out there November 5-6!!! Good luck with the panel and working out a summer internship!! That would be SO EPIC! And then we could find a half-Ironman this summer…. ๐Ÿ˜€

      4. Bahhh I will be in Denver Nov 6-8!!! Um… CRAZYNESS!!!! I have not heard of that organization, but I will check it out!!! yes yes i have been researching half ironmans out there! there are LOTS for the summer time ๐Ÿ™‚ Good luck to you in the interview!

      5. That is literally too crazy! Who knows– maybe we’ll be going in and out of Denver airport at the same time!

  4. I would call anyone who has just run ONE marathon, a marathoner! It is a huge accomplishment, that one shouldn’t take lightly. I became a marathoner a couple weeks ago.

    1. I agree! I think ONE marathon is enough to qualify a person as a marathoner. Although I do think that there is probably an expiration date on the title. Like, if you run a marathon and then stop running completely, I don’t know if you can keep calling yourself a marathoner. It would probably need to be ‘I used to be a marathoner’ …. BUT who stops running after such an achievement?! No one! ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. haha Love the way you thought this through! I agree…. Who is the WORLD would want to stop after a marathon and never run again?? crazyyyyy! I love your passion for running! It totally comes out in all of your posts and comments ๐Ÿ™‚

    2. CONGRATS!!!!! bahh marathon distance–so amazing! I hope you had a great time with it!
      You are right… it is a HUGE accomplishment, and I definitely do not take it lightly and it is a beautiful, scary distance that deserves the respect you and I and others give it ๐Ÿ™‚ congrats again on the marathon… hang on to that runners high ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Your hair is so pretty down! Girl call yourself a marathoner! If you trained for it, ran 26.2 miles, and completed it, I think you can label yourself a marathoner after your first ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. aww thanks haha I am so so lazy that i never wear it down!!! it is a big deal when I do!

      You are right… a marathon run means I did it… which means i am technically a marathoner! Still a daunting term, but maybe I will get used to it!!

  6. You make such a good point. I still get that awed feeling in saying “I’m a runner”…and I think being a “marathoner” is something I can hardly dream of really applying to myself!

    1. You are definitey a runner and should absolutely call yourself a runner with PRIDE!!! And being a marathoner is still so scary to me… but maybe I should take my own advice and call myself one!? haha we will see how I feel after my richmond marathon !

  7. […] Hopefully my legs start to feel better and I can get back into it…. Richmond Marathon in 4 weeks!! […]

Leave a Reply

