Hold the ones you Love

Morning Friends!

Let me start by saying that your kind, wonderful comments yesterday made my DAY! No, actually, probably made my WEEK! You are exactly what I love so much about the running/fitness community– one persons success is shared by ALL!

So thank you โค

Sunday I went for a lovely walk in my home town….

20131021-205719.jpg20131021-205700.jpg

20131021-205629.jpg20131021-205641.jpg

Yesterday after a hustle-and-bustle afternoon of trying to get my resume updated and a cover letter written for a prospective job out in Denver (!!!!!!) I was tired and cranky and did not want to run. But it was my Monday night group-run and it is so hard for me to schedule group runs throughout the week that I knew I wanted to make it if I could.

So I hauled it over there and impressively stripped down and changed into running clothes while simultaneously driving a stick-shift. Mad skills.

20131021-205616.jpg

Front seat looked like a closet…

It ended up being a great cool, fall evening 5.5 mile run.

As always, I am very glad I ran ๐Ÿ™‚

On a sad note, I got some very upsetting news today that really threw life into perspective.

My best friend and her boyfriend were in NYC together over the weekend, when Michael got a devastating call that his father had just had a massive heart attack and died. Anna immediately booked flights to get them back to Chicago…

It was totally unexpected. His father was in great health. Only 57 years old. My heart completely aches for him and his family right now. I immediately called my father and was choking back tears as I just told him how much I love him.ย  Throughout the entire day, every few minutes my mind would wander back to how different Michael’s life will be from here on out.

But Michael has a strength in him that I pray I would posses if, God forbid, I am ever put in a similar situation– He was quick to remind us all that there is never time in life to be mad at our love ones… or to rush out the door without the 10 extra seconds of a hug and kiss… nothing is dire enough to hang up without saying those three precious words at the end of a phone call– I Love You.ย  He reminded us that every once in a while, opt to spend the night in with your loved ones, with no phones, no computer, no T.V… and just be with each other.

I am sending out a prayer to all of you on this lovely morning. It is lovely, because we are here. Because we are breathing in the sweet air of Life… because it is a new day with a fresh start. We have ever opportunity to smile, give thanks, and spread Love…

…and that is a beautiful thing.

Please, let me know someone you are going to call today and tell them you love them!

-Mom, dad, sister, and my 5 best friends who have been through the toughest of times with me.

Any great resume/cover letter writers out there? Any advice?!

18 comments

  1. Mary-Ann · · Reply

    Andrea, thank you for writing about being real. I began running 8 years ago when I turned 50. Friday, I will be 58 and last Saturday, I ran my first marathon. I am a slow runner, but I am a finisher….until I began running,I didn’t realize how important finishing is to me. Thank you for sharing the good, the bad, the real in running. Your blog is one of my 58 blessings I am giving God thanks for this week!

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words! You have truly made my week ๐Ÿ™‚ So great to hear you are running!! Speed means NOTHING!! Enjoyment is the number 1 thing… and it sounds like you definitely have that in running! Finishing that marathon is SUCH a huge accomplishment! You should be so so proud! Fantastic job ๐Ÿ™‚
      I pray for a wonderful week for you full of love and stress-free activities! Have a great day!

  2. Great run!! But seriously, how did you change while driving???? I’m pretty sure I would have crashed the car hahaha. I’m so sorry for your friend, my heart and prayers go out to him! I know I wouldn’t know how to hold it together let alone probably still be talking to people. (I tend to close myself away during times like that). Thankfully I still live with my family, so I get family time with them a lot ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Awesome! I love family time so so much! Glad you get to see them lots! Time flies by too fast…

      And yes, changing while driving was probably NOT the safest thing…I do not recommend it haha But hey, gotta do what you gotta do!

  3. My car looks like a closet too. Always have to have changes of clothes for after I finish my workouts and am all sweaty.
    Such sad news about your friend. You’re right to always cherish the moments!

    1. Yay for messy cars that double as closets ๐Ÿ™‚
      I dry my sweaty clothes on the dashboard and over the back seat of my car too… so gross and wonderful!

      1. Haha, our cars may not smell the best, but what can you do?

  4. Ok and now I’m choking back tears at work. My heart goes out to Michael and his family. I know he’ll see his dad again someday and hope he has the same knowledge. You really never know when something like that is going to happen. I lost my father at 9 years old and it was definitely unexpected. Life is crazy and it’s short. The last thing I want is to have regrets, especially in regards to my family.

    1. Thanks so much for the prayers… I know they are being heard!
      I am so sorry to hear about your loss. I can’t even imagine. You are one of the strongest people I know, waking up every morning with the incredible attitude and joy that you have and spread on to others. Truly inspiring.
      Have a great day girl and I hope you find a million and one things to smile about and love on today!

      1. Thanks girl ๐Ÿ™‚ That means so much, especially from someone so awesome as you!

  5. I am sending positive thoughts to Michael and his family. In April of this year my step-father passed away due to many things, including heart complications. Right after that my childhood best friend’s mom passed away from a heart attack. These two events have any reaffirmed my decision to be healthy through running and eating well so I can hopefully be around for as long as possible with my loved ones.

    1. Thank you so much for sending your thoughts and prayers to Michael. I know they are being heard.
      I am so sorry to hear of the loss in your life. It is never easy and it never gets easier… You are so strong for still living and spreading love and hope like you are.

  6. I’m so sorry to hear about your friend’s dad. I’ll be saying an extra prayer for them tonight!

    1. Thank you so so much Ali… I know those prayers are being heard and He and his family are being healed.
      I hope you have a fantastic day and cherish all the little things in life!

  7. I am so sorry to hear of your friends loss. I will be praying for them. I told my family I love them!

    1. Thanks so much Sara, I know that God is hearing those prayers and comforting them ๐Ÿ™‚ The Power of Prayer โค

  8. so sorry to hear of your friend’s loss!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ you are right- we have to cherish each moment because we never know how many we get!

    1. Thank you so much and you are so right!!

Leave a Reply

