Boilermaker Half Recap::A Race to Remember

Good Morning! How was everyone’s weekends!?

In short… mine was phenomenal.

Everything about it was perfect. Since dropping my most hated class and finally being done with midterms, I didn’t have to focus on work at all this weekend and instead gave 100% to spending time at home, hanging out with my dad… and oh ya– Running at 3 min Half PR.

Race Recap

FRIDAY

I did not run Thursday or Friday last week. In fact, I did absolutely nothing. Not even weight lifting. That was not out of choice. I actually attempted a run on Thursday, but after 3 mins I stopped and decided my legs just weren’t having it. Friday, I didn’t even try. My legs were tired and heavy walking up and down stairs and jogging to the mailbox (I jog, bc walking takes an extra 30 secs and I get antsy).

I of course was all worried about these lethargic feelings and whined to my dad that I just felt rotten. He knows me well enough and has done enough races with me to know to ignore me and what I really want to hear is, “Honey you are fine. Your legs are fine. Just have fun and don’t get injured.”

So Friday, after getting my hair cut– I will show you a picture only because this a rare sighting of Andrea with her hair down–

20131020-073137.jpg

Dad and I sat down to my normal pre-race dinner- Salmon, sweet potatoes, and broccoli. Dessert was my usual delicious blend of greek yogurt and berries!

20131020-073125.jpg

((FYI, my mom is in Palm Springs, CA playing in the championship tennis tournament. Ya I know, my family is active and Bad A$$))

SATURDAY

We woke up at 5am with rain POURING down. How great, we thought. We hoped in the car and drove to Purdue (1:10 north of Indianapolis) with the hopes that it would get better/stop. It didn’t. Shocker. Not only was it pouring, but it was pitch black out. It was an 8am race and at 7:55am as Dad and I sat in the car with the heater on, staring out in the dark with other car headlights mesmorizing us, we seriously considered our sanity. Was this worth it?!

We had ZERO warm up. We grabbed our race packets and sat in the car for the next 30 mins take silly pictures.

20131020-073056.jpg20131020-073105.jpg

20131020-073034.jpg

At 5 mins till go time, we decided it would probably be a good idea if we started heading to the start line.

The conditions were awful. It was still cold and rainy. I was in my new racing flats that I hadn’t run more than 8 stride outs in, I was wearing a brand new pair of Mizuno shorts, a new dri-fit costco long sleeve, my hair in a pony tail (not braid!), and I had not done a bit of stretching/jogging. A good race (let alone a PR) was the furthest thing from my mind. But at the start, Dad said, “Honey, if you think you have a chance of winning this thing, stay strong and go for it.”  I thought he was nuts!! No way, I am hear to make it to the finish line.

But, as always, that start line energy… that unexplainable bond you feel with the thousands of strangers, all sopping wet and freezing in the dark with you… grabs a hold of your heart and mind and excites and inspires you like nothing else can.

As we took off, I knew from the first 100 meters that my legs were ready to fly. They were ready to be put to the test. I was ready to see what they could do.

What was different about this race than any other race I have run in 6 years… was I actually raced it. Not since High School have I truly raced a race. Sounds funny. Sure I always race myself and my time … but racing others? Racing for place? for position? planning race strategy? Nope… I had not really done that in years. Usually for half marathons (and most certainly for my 1 marathon I have done, it was not about racing. It was running (hard, yes) but running for myself and running to do my best.) This race felt different because it was truly a race.

I won’t go through mile after mile. Just know that I was feeling great. Legs were responding. Breathing was 100% under control. I was focused. I had the mental strength from miles and miles of long, solo runs with out music. It was incredible.

Here are my splits:

  • Mile 1–7:10
  • Mile 2–6:55
  • Mile 3–6:48
  • Mile 4–6:42
  • Mile 5–6:37
  • Mile 6–6:41
  • Mile 7–6:36
  • Mile 8–6:32
  • Mile 9–6:40
  • Mile 10–6:32
  • Mile 11–6:24
  • Mile 12–6:37
  • Mile 13–6:08
  • last .1 –6:00 pace

((Miles 6, 9, 11, 12 were loooooong hills that just about killed me))

I finished in a 3 min PR time of 1:27.03 as the 1st women and 16th overall!

I couldn’t believe it! I am still on cloud nine…. I look down at my legs and seriously wonder how such normal looking things did it. My dad also PRed at got a 1:44:45 ! As a 59 (1.5 moths shy of 60) year old… I would say that is AWESOME!!

As the winner, I got 300$ and a Purdue Boilermaker Half coffee mug (seriously the greatest gift you could have given me).

20131020-072944.jpg

I am the giant in the middle.

Afterward we headed to Panera where I ordered off of their “hidden menu”– All of their Power Meals that they don’t advertise or put on their menu– you have to ask for them.

20131020-073014.jpg

I got the Power Breakfast Bowl of steak, eggs, avocados, tomatoes and onions. It was amazing. Totally hit the spot after the run!

Then after a lazy Saturday, we finished it up with a glorious meal at Outback Steakhouse followed by watching The Heat which we just picked up on DVD! ((Seriously, if you haven’t seen it, go buy it right now.))

20131020-073004.jpg

In the parking lot, Dad and I found it hilarious/strange that a bike “parked” in a spot. Not even locked up. Oh well, we didn’t have to worry about door dings….

SUNDAY

I spent most of the day devouring every single complex carb I could find. Seriously… I mentioned this in an earlier post that the days after races I just crave pretzels, cereal, and other carb-snacky food ALL THE TIME. It mentally really messes me up… but I also heard from a lot of you that the few days post race you also eat lots?! (or maybe I am just hoping this is what you do… ha)

Lazy, boring, but watched a bit of the Colts/Bronco’s game which is a HUGE deal in Indianapolis because Bronco’s QB Payton played on colts and got us the Superbowl championship a few years ago…

Whew! That was long!! Thanks for hanging in there (even if you didn’t really or just skimmed!)

Have a great Monday everyone! You are wonderful 🙂

Any races or great runs happen for you guys this weekend?!?

Did you guys know of Panera’s hidden Power Menu?

42 comments

  1. WHOA! Holy cow- you’re smoking fast!! GREAT work and congratulations!!
    I had NO idea about Panera’s POWER MENU! SO intrigued! 🙂

    1. Thanks so much!
      Yes, check out the power menu! yummy stuff!!

  2. You are awesome! Great job! I don’t know if I would have been willing to run in those conditions.

    I had my longest training run for my marathon Friday (24 miles). I do the same thing as you. I wasn’t very hungry Friday because running that long messes up my stomach, but Saturday and Sunday I ate everything. I want ALL the ice cream.

    I ate at Panera too on Saturday. I did know about the hidden menu. I think it’s kind if dumb and the items should just be added to the regular menu. Oh well, I’m certain my opinion isn’t going to change what the chain does.

    Anyway, fantastic job on the PR again. I’m so proud of you…is that weird? I think it’s because you’ve willingly shared so much about your struggles that it is as if I, and probably everyone else who reads your blog, feel that I know you personally. Still, you’re a rock star!

    1. Thanks 🙂
      Yay 24 mile long run! And good to know that you get hungry the days after as well!! ice cream= amazingggg

      And not weird at ALL if you are proud of me ((thank you so much!!)) because i feel the same way with so many bloggers when they reach goals or have big accomplishments!! Literally, reading you saying “I’m so proud of you” makes me so happy you don’t even know! So thanks so so much girl!

  3. pickyrunner · · Reply

    Ahhhh you are AWESOME!!!!! That is seriously an incredible time and I’m so happy for you! I love the selfies with your dad. They made me laugh and I kind of wish I could make my parents be in them with me. Oh, and the days after races I literally can’t stop eating. It’s part of our body’s recovery process 😉

    1. Thanks so much Sarah!! We had fun pre and post race together 🙂
      I am still devouring everything in my pantry 2 days post race… but i think i am finally starting to slow down ha… glad i am not the only one who gets like this!!!
      Great job on YOUR half the other day too!! yayyy

  4. love your hair- that’s such a pretty picture! and the selfies with your dad are adorable. and holy hell at your time and placement!! that is amazing CONGRATS 🙂 also huge congrats to your dad at his great time- how inspiring!

    1. haha thanksss that is the one time it will be down!! ha and i love being silly with my padre! 🙂
      Yes my dad NAILED IT!! so proud of him!

  5. holy crap! your race time/splits are AMAZING! and especially in those conditions. I really didn’t have any idea you were such a beast runner until just now (I don’t know how I missed that, but now I know :). CONGRATS! You’re going to OWN your marathon.

    1. haha thanks so much!! Glad I have reached “beast” standard 🙂
      I am not sure about the marathon though… to me the marathon is still such a daunting distance… I would be happy with anything under a 3:45.00 and just to have fun and finish! I don’t do well with pressure– like, AT ALL!! Oh well, we will see!

      ALSO– any chance you are or want to run the Chicago Hot Chocolate 15k on Nov 3??

  6. That’s awesome! Great race and killer splits. Congrats on the victory and PR!

    1. Thank you so much! Very unexpected and I am still kind in disbelief that I was able to cut off that much time!!

  7. Congratulations! What an amazing PR time and race!

    1. Thank you so much! It was fun and incredible and I am still on a high from it!

  8. Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures · · Reply

    Dude you are inspiring. You did so amazingly on that race and hell, your dad is WAY faster than I am! That’s a great time for anyone, but especially someone his age! YOU GUYS ARE A SUPERSTAR TEAM! I love it! I am so excited for you – first female overall!? You’re like a celebrity to me now! Congratulations!
    And yes, the day after I race, I eat like a freaking cow. #runnerdontcare 🙂 CONGRATS again you amazing woman!

    1. You are so sweet! Thanks so much! And I am so so proud of my dad!! He is amazing 🙂
      SO GLAD to hear I am not the only face-stuffer out there for the days following a race… seriously i am just a carb-devouring fanatic!! ahhh can’t stop!

  9. Let me add my ”awesome” to the list. I don’t know what’s more impressive…1st woman or 16th overall. Mile 13 at a 6:08 pace….you’re a rock-star in my book, Andrea. You dad was running at a 8:00 minute per mile pace…way to go dad ! Congratulations to both of you.

    PS…..Love your hair..had no idea about the hidden menu.

    1. Thank you so much 🙂 I really appreciate it! i had so much fun and I am so proud of my dad too! I love sharing all these things with him! We are a great little team!
      — yes check out the hidden menu! delicious!

  10. Wow! Congrats!! Those splits are mind boggling and seriously inspiring! You are awesome!!

    And I work at Panera, and the reason why they have the hidden menu is because:
    1. They couldn’t fit all the menu items in an organized way on the menu panels
    2. The hidden menu items can take more time to make, so they don’t want the people working the line to be constantly overwhelmed lol

    1. Thank you so much!! I have a nice runners high that is for sure!
      Good to know about the panera hidden menu thing! Whatever the reason… i loved what i got! So delicious!!!

  11. Wow, that is awesome! Way to negative split that beotch! That is a really fast pace! Same for your dad! Way to go!

    1. haha not perfect negative splits… but at least it was dramatic POSITIVE splits! ((i have definitely had those races! haha)) Yes my dad rocked it! So proud of him! Thanks for the kind words!

  12. WOW! Congrats on such an awesome race!!!! Your dad must have just known you had this in you since he encouraged you to go for it – that is SO awesome. I am so jealous that you get to share your races with your dad. My dad works out a little bit but no one in my family runs.

    You rocked that race! Enjoy your complex carbs!! 🙂

    1. Thank you so much! So fun to share it with my dad! 🙂 He is my #1 fan– in everything!!!
      haha I have definitley enjoyed my complex carbs these last two days! hopefully the cravings die down a bit! 😉

  13. Oh my gosh, what a great race!! I can’t believe you did so well even in the rain!! That is amazing girl, and congratulations!

    1. Thanks so much!! The rain probably ended up helping some how! Distraction?!?! haha
      Thanks so much!!

  14. Wow, congratulations on an amazing time under not-so-ideal conditions! I also love that they gave you a coffee mug! Any race with that as part of the prize is a good one in my book! We don’t have Panera here in Arizona, but that is always my favorite place to go whenever I’m out of state. So yummy. I especially love all their pastries and baked goods-foods of which I consume like crazy after a race, but hey it’s well earned right!? ha 🙂

    1. Thank you so much! yes my favorite thing ever was the coffee mug! Panera is so yummy! Glad you can get your fix when you are out here!!
      Glad you like to eat days after a race too 🙂 yummmmmm can’t stop wont stop!

  15. wow, what an amazing race! (no pun intended) your splits are SO inspiring – and under what sounds like awful conditions!

    1. Thanks so much! I had so much fun and sharing it with my dad was great! I think the rain ended up distracting me and help ease any pressure and stuff! So i should be happy for it!?? ya…then again maybe not!

  16. What a huge accomplishment!! Your legs forced you to rest and then paid you back tenfold with a win 🙂 So happy for you!!!

    1. Thank you so much! Yes, resting my legs was hard and frustrating the days before because I took it as a “bad sign” but it ended up being great 🙂 Thanks for your excitement!!!

  17. Holy Smokes, Andrea! You are speedier than ever. Look at how far you are coming! I can’t wait to hear about how your full marathon goes! You inspire me to really commit and train for a PR half. Revel in your PR as long as you can; you deserve it!

    1. Thank you thank you!! Go for it girl!! Train and have fun and a PR is definitely on your horizon! 🙂

  18. Hi Andrea! I’m Sara and I blog over at runsararun.blogspot.com. I have been reading your blog for awhile now but am just now commenting for the first time. Crazy right?! Anyways, way to go on that PR. That is an incredible time!!!

    1. Hi Sara! Thanks so much for dropping a comment! I love meeting readers! I can’t wait to check out your blog as well! Thank you so much for the kind words– the PR was certainly a shock! 🙂
      Have a great week!

  19. AHHHH! ANDREA YOU ARE AMAZING!!! Girl, I am so impressed and proud and a million other positive adjectives. Congrats! Someday maybe I’ll be as fast as you..or as your dad! 🙂 So proud of you my friend. You’re so great.

    1. THANKSSSS!!!! haha you make me smile girl 🙂 One day we will go for a long social run together and talk nonstop!!

  20. […] have friends telling me what I could potentially run this race in (especially based upon my recent Half PR) and honestly… I would love them all to stop! Of course I would love to get those crazy fast […]

  21. […] Granted, all the things I was doing was an absolute blast and I wouldn’t change that…. Purdue Half-Marathon, Chicago Hot Chocolate 15k, Denver, Richmond Marathon….Whew! Fun stuff right there : […]

  22. […] constantly reminds me what my body is capable of. After my recent Half PR… I rode home, staring at my legs, and just thought “Thank you!” We all have had […]

  23. […] Race Experience? Even though the Marathon was great, I would have to say the Boilermaker Half Marathon. I blew my previous time out of the water. It was totally unexpected. I felt great and powerful, and […]

Leave a Reply

