Racing runners temps travel food and hunting?

Lists! I love lists…..

Here is a peak into my insights this lovely, morning!

  • I am so excited to head back to Purdue for the Half tomorrow! I am going to wear my new NB racing flats and I can’t wait to feel like I am flying in them! Don’t you just love the “bounce” of new shoes?!
  • As it gets colder and colder here in good ol’ Indy, my morning coffee tastes better and better. Fact: Cold temps welcome an entirely new set of food options– crock pot things, soup, chilli, oatmeal, warm baked goods, hot tea all the time…
  • I head to Denver in just 3 weeks to meet with a panel of employers from various private and public companies who share what their employees do and what they look for in a hire! Can’t wait! I was already seeing if there was a Thursday/Friday morning running group in Denver I could pop in with… anyone got any ideas?
  • I am reminded all the time that runners come in all different shapes and sizes. I have been having more thoughts of being “soft” and belly-full when I run lately. But I remember that contrary to what the college cross country team has me think when they prance by in their booty shorts, sports bra, and perfectly toned bodies…. runners can look like whatever the heck we want them to! Ain’t no template guys!! Thank goodness for that πŸ™‚
  • My mom is currently in southern California to play in her tennis teams championship tournament! How awesome is she?! I mean that is seriously cool…
  • I need to do some shopping this weekend for pants and boots. Very badly. I am not a fan of shopping… I am tired just typing the words!
  • I want to learn how to hunt! I am very sorry if any of you are very anti-hunting… I am in a fisheries and wildlife class and we discuss how hunting is a big part of wildlife management and serves as one of the #1 reasons that we began conservation efforts in the United States in the late 1800’s and early 1900’s. We have a big white-tailed deer over population problem in Indiana (a BIG problem..) and a key managing factor to actually HELP the deer communities prosper and thrive is by selling hunting permits. Again, sorry if I just upset some of you!! But anyways, that is what I would like to learn to do some day… and probably with a bow and arrow rather than gun! Here is more information on in case you hate me and don’t believe me right now… (CLICK HERE!)
  • I am so excited for my Wilderness First Responder training January 8! Yes I know… so far away… but still– It is great to have that to look forward to!
  • MARATHON IN 4 WEEKS!!!!

That is all my brain scattered mind has for you all this morning! Short and sweet πŸ™‚

Have a fantastic Friday and a great weekend!

Any hunters out there? What are your thoughts? Do you hate me now??? ((please don’t!! I Love you all!))

Any races?

Any good movies opening soon that you are dying to see!?

26 comments

  1. I do love the bounce of new shoes…nothing beats it!

    Sounds like you have an exciting few weeks ahead of you!!

    1. I just ordered a new pair of trainers! so now I get to enjoy the bounce of TWO new pairs!! haha so great!

  2. pickyrunner · · Reply

    New shoes are the best an I can’t wait to hear how It goes for you πŸ™‚ I’m sure you’ll rock I πŸ™‚ and YES to different bodies. Yes yes yes. It’s hard when it’s your own body changing but I will catch myself sometimes and say “this is what you’re supposed to be doing” and that helps a lot. Have a great weekend girl πŸ™‚

    1. Thankkksss ((and p.s I DID rock it!! hahah can’t wait to tell you and everyone about it! Tomorrows (monday) post!!))

      Yes, i say that out loud and it helps… sometimes ((but sometimes I am very good at not believing myself!))

      Have a great one lady!

  3. My marathon is in a little over three weeks and I have no idea what to wear. PA weather is tempermental this time of year. It was almost 70 yesterday and it is to be in the 40s the next few days. I guess if that is my biggest dilemma then life is pretty good though.

    I hunt and have hunted since I was 12. I don’t love getting up early to sit in a cold treestand. Honestly, I fall asleep for the first several hours. Anyway, I have just always gone with my father and still do because I know he likes that I do. I also like having that to share with him. Plus, venison is delicious and healthy.

    I know there are people with strong feelings about it, but they don’t typically understand the need for it. Also, most of those people are still eating meat or using animal byproducts otherwise. I have no time for the vegans who want to force their beliefs and lifestyles on others. Particularly anyone associated with PETA and some of the horrific, disgusting things they have done throughout the years.

    *****Steps of the soapbox and backs away****

    Enjoy your weekend πŸ™‚

    1. I LOVED reading this! haha you are so right and I thoroughly enjoyed listening (reading) to you on your soapbox! Seriously! Very cool that you have hunted with your dad since such a young age…!Anyways, LOVED this! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

      And I feel ya on the weather thing… the temp difference just between morning and afternoon, or Friday and Saturday is just ridiculous! No rhyme or reason to it!
      Have a great great evening girl!

  4. 10 miles in 2 weeks – AH. I really want to see gravity, which is out now, but I’m not-so-secretly fan girling over the new hunger games movie.

    1. hahaha I actually kind of want to see the new hunger games too….sorry not sorry?!?

  5. It is still in the 80’s here hahaha, I’m dying for some cooler temps!! I’m dying to wear fall clothing!!! I’m dying to see The second Hunger Games!! Comes out in November, right before my thanksgiving break, so I know exactly what I’m doing when I come home from school on Tuesday!!! Good luck on your race this weekend and enjoy it πŸ™‚ I wish I had a race this weekend, or actually one coming up haha, I need to just sign up for one!

  6. I’m very excited for you! Good luck!
    I just saw this trailer yesterday and I’m very excited about it. I’m a huuuge Wes Anderson fan, and it looks like he’s created another classic!

    1. First of all, I LOVE Ralph Fiennes and Edward Norton. He is an amazing actor. Second, I love films like this! Wes is amazing… it is almost a guarantee that I will love his products! And third, I love Budapest! such a crazy city!
      Good find! I had not seen this yet!

      1. I’ve never been to Budapest, need to put it on the list!

        Wes Anderson used Ed Norton in his last movie too – Moonrise Kingdom. I cannot wait to see this one tho!

      2. YES Budapest holds some pretty crazy memories for me! πŸ˜‰
        I never did see Moonrise Kingdom but always meant to!!

  7. No need to wait for cold weather to have hot tea all the time … that’s my philosophy anyway πŸ™‚

    I don’t think I could ever be a hunter, but I understand why people do it. Most of the hunters I have known have eaten the meat of the animals they hunt which seems to me to be a totally valid reason to hunt. It also seems to me that hunting is probably more humane than what many animals born into food factories end up going through!

    1. I agree! great philosophy!
      Yes I would totally eat the meat!! absolutely!! And yes you make a GREAT point! Hunting is sooo much more humane than animals killed in factories!

  8. You are so right about runners coming in all shapes and sizes- but I saw some photos from the kona ironman championships- and that made me feel awful about myself- they ladies are fit!!

    1. OH I KNOW!!! Ironman women are incredible!! But it makes me feel better when i think about how much TIME they spend day after day after day working out… ha if we did that, we would look like that too! πŸ˜‰

  9. I love Purdue, go Boilermakers! Both of my parents and a ton of my other family went to school there. My Grandpa actually used to be a professor there too! I love visiting my family that lives in Indy. I decided to go further south for school in North Carolina, so no fall weather here yet!

    I’ve always wanted to learn how to hunt which is weird because I hate animal cruelty. I just think it looks fun!

    Good luck at your half tomorrow!

    1. Animal cruelty and hunting are not synonymous. I think it is disgusting and repulsive when people beat animals, but as I mentioned above, I hunt. Although, I’m sure there are hunters who hunt for the wrong reasons, most are responsible and eat what they shoot. I’m not trying to be preachy, but the insinuation that hunting and animal cruelty go hand in hand bothered me. Andrea is correct. It serves a much needed purpose and there is research to support this. Of course, there is research to support pretty much anything. Again, I’m not trying to lecture or offend and I apologize if it come across that way.

    2. YAY PURDUE!!!! oh my gosh this made me so happy!! I miss Purdue every day! Glad that your family seemed to love it so much! Boiler Up! — oh and you should really do the half marathon there next year!

      I love NC and am very jealous you live there now πŸ™‚

  10. Guess what?!?!…..if you are here in 3 weeks I may be able to run with you πŸ™‚

    1. That would be awesome!! Oh my gosh so fun!! Keep me updated on how you are doing and if you are up for even the slightest bit of a run! πŸ™‚

  11. The thing is, there’s always going to be someone out there who doesn’t agree with what you’re doing and will get upset by it, whether that be hunting, running, drinking beer, whatever. “You can’t please all of the people all of the time!”
    Good luck to your Mom for her tennis tournament, that is cool – you must be proud of her!
    And good luck to you for your half marathon! I love half marathons. You’ll rock this one, try to save all those apples for a post-race snack πŸ˜‰

    1. Excellent point! You are right… definitely can’t please everyone. I need to keep true to me πŸ™‚

      And i love that you know my apple addiction!! Don’t worry– I i succeeded in only eating ONE 3 hours before the race and saving the rest for after and Sunday!!

      Have a great evening!

  12. I LOVE hunting!! Our whitetail firearm season starts in about 5 weeks and I CANNOT wait! It’s my favorite thing of all time! πŸ™‚

    1. haha YAY!!! So great to hear! That sounds like a blast I am pumped for you to get out there and do some huntin’!!

Leave a Reply

