This is getting weird… and a Half!

Sorry for the being MIA yesterday! Midterms are still going strong… fun, fun!

This will be short and sweet, as I have and Environmental Management midterm today! Yikes! Lots of memorizing to do for that…

Anyways, remember how last post I mentioned that on all 3 very different routes, I was hitting the exact same distance of 8.3, 8.3, 8.2 miles? Well, without meaning to, I almost hit it again yesterday evening on an 8.1 mile route!!

This is getting weird!!!

20131016-195152.jpg

Also… I made sure to try and take it easy on the run (since my butt was so so sore from more burpees, squats, and lunges than I want to count on Tuesday)….

20131016-195228.jpg

Dirty knees and thighs from Burpees on the filthy weight room floor!!

…and so I stopped to take pictures of “wildlife”.

20131016-195218.jpg

20131016-195206.jpg

Can we call deer in front yards in neighborhoods wildlife?? More like pets…. they were so chill and nonchalant. I think it is safe to say that we have an over population of white-tailed deer in Indiana.

One last thing!

I signed up for the Purdue Boilermaker Half-Marathon on Saturday!

Purdue is my undergrad university and where my heart and soul truly lie! Any excuse to go back there!

I ran it last year, which was its inaugural race, with my favorite running partner– mi padre!

404221_2260625792705_982637228_n

Boilermaker Half 2012

I am excited!

Have a great day my beautiful beautiful friends!

Tell me your favorite piece of fruit!

What are your undergrad institutions!! Ever go back??

26 comments

  1. pickyrunner · · Reply

    Woooooo a half! You are brave to do it right before your marathon but it could be a good tune up race πŸ™‚ I hope your midterms are going well! It’s my midterm week too and I’m ready for it to be over.

    1. Blahh can we please just be done with this whole “study thing?” lame.
      Thanks! Ya haha hopefully it is a good idea to do a half?? fingers crossed haha

  2. Fruit: Strawberries/mangoes

    Undergrad: Coastal Carolina University. I’ve visited, but only for a short time!

    1. That sounds GORGEOUS!! anything with the word “Coastal” in it…
      I think i have only had mangoes once in my life!!

  3. Yay for 8 miles! That is one of my favorite distances to run πŸ™‚ I absolutely love/adore watermelon. I can’t seem to get enough of it ever! I have two midterms this weekend, so this should be interesting! Good luck on your half this Saturday, even though you’ll do great πŸ™‚

    1. haha i love fruit, but watermelon i have NEVER liked! I keep trying to like it… it try it all the time… and i honestly can’t hardly swallow it!!
      Good luck on YOUR midterms! hang in there!!

  4. I went to UNC Wilmington. I love Wilmington and would probably still be there if it were possible to find an entry level job there. But I’m only two hours away so I go back when I can πŸ™‚

    1. Oh that sounds gorgeous! North Carolina is great! At least you live pretty close so you can pop back ever now and then πŸ™‚

  5. Fruit: Changes all the time, but I’d say cantaloupe is my fave right now.
    Undergrad: Brock University in St. Catharines, ON.. I never go back, but i live in BC now so it would be a bit of a hike.

    1. I try to like cantaloupe… i try so hard!!! Just never ever like it! maybe one of these days the taste will stick!
      haha yesss that would be one heck of a hike!!! Every where in Canada is beautiful though πŸ™‚

  6. Very cool!
    I went to Ohio University, and like you, it’s where my soul calls home. I haven’t been able to get back in a few years and I miss it terribly. It’s in Athens, OH which hosts a half and full marathon. Maybe I should add it to my list of upcoming races???

    1. YES you should! It is so fun running around your old stomping grounds! Glad to hear you have some midwest in ya! I love the midwest even though I am VERY excited to move out west in a year (hopefully)!
      Glad to hear you loved your undergrad! I did too! it is always fun to remember the “good old days’!
      But most definitely sign up for a race back in Athens!

      1. Oh yes, I’m a total midwesterner too!
        After your post I already looked the race up. I’m going to see if I can’t make it happen!
        Where out west are you moving to (hopefully)?

  7. I love the deer! Good luck with the rest of midterms!!

    1. Thanks! Yes, the deer startled me much more than I did them. They couldn’t have cared less…

  8. Hi! I just found your blog through a comment on Hungry Runner Girl’s blog. You mentioned that you love onions and mushrooms, that you eat pb ice cream and I see you are a runner. It’s possible that you are my soulmate, haha. Good luck on your half this Saturday!

    1. haha thanks for commenting!! If you are able to enjoy raw mushrooms and onions too, then we really are soulmates πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to check out your blog as well! Have a great day!

  9. Whenever I’m asking my favorite fruit my first reaction is always pear but I hardly ever have them. Luckily I do have some at home right now! I have a bunch of fruit I want to eat, so I’m going to make a fruit salad tonight. Can’t wait!
    I’m going back to Utah State in a couple of weeks to show my little cousin around and try to convince her that she really wants to go there πŸ™‚

    1. haha atta girl! I am always trying to convince friends siblings, younger cousins, etc that Purdue is the greatest place in the universe and they will only have a good college experience if they go there haha
      I love pears too! there are so many different kinds though….. like seriously, who knew?!
      you better take pictures of that fruit salad girl πŸ™‚

  10. Oooo, good luck on your half! You’ll knock it out of the water!

    My favorite piece of fruit? That’s a tough one! I definitely eat bananas more than any other fruit (sometimes four a day…hehehe), but anything mango is always a winner as well. It’s so hard to choose!
    I’m currently a sophomore at Vassar–I’m loving it so far, so hopefully I’ll want to come back to visit once I graduate!

    Have a lovely rest of your day, hon πŸ™‚ xoxo

    1. Bananas!! Haha that is awesome! I don’t know why I find that so awesome… it just never occurred to me to eat so many bananas!! love it πŸ™‚
      So glad to hear you are loving Vassar! Enjoy your time there… it will fly by!!
      You have a great weekend as well!

  11. I love honey crisp apples. They are by far my favorite kind. Yum! My undergrad is Arizona State University. I go back sometimes to visit my old coach and teammates since I grew up here and haven’t moved out of state:)

    1. YESSS. honey crips are the cream-of-the-crop in terms of apples!!
      I have been finding them on sale and buying like 40$ worth at a time!! Apples are my weakness… i have about 6-10 a day! I can’t get enough!
      Arizona State! So cool… I love any state out west/south! That is great that you are still near by!
      Have a great weekend!

  12. Deer totally count as wildlife!!

    Maybe 8.2 is trying to be your new lucky number!!

    1. haha I think it just might be!! πŸ™‚ an “odd” distance, but I’ll take it!

  13. […] 15…. and drank some Nuun/water. At 18 I got really excited, because I had 8 miles left. And 8 miles, if you remember, is my […]

Leave a Reply

