All Things Bold and New

Some REALLY exciting things have happened in the last 72 hours! Ok… well Exciting for me, maybe only slightly less than mind-numbing boring for you guys.

1.) Running Newness

EVERYTHING about my awesome run on Sunday was new and “out-of-character” for me.

  • I ran in a full on T-shirt again. So weird… I don’t know why.
  • I had on a brand new sports bra. My boobs were so so happy… it really is the “little” things in life ๐Ÿ™‚
  • I wore an awful, small skin tight pair of Nike compression shorts that I never wear but had to wear because I had no clean clothes. Yes, I had already worn my other shorts 5 times and turned them inside-out and all that… I felt really “large and in charge” in those skin tight booty shorts, but that faded after I had such a strong, great run ๐Ÿ™‚
  • I tried an entirely new route and found a park that I have always heard about it, but could never ever find!!! Turns out, I literally have been running in circles around the park and just always barely missing it… typical.
  • I ran in the evening. I usually always run in the morning… but I did a 6:30pm run! It was glorious weather, and Sunday Evenings are kinda like the morning anyways! Peaceful, not a lot of people, quiet…
  • Lastly, I ran with my hair in a Pony Tail. I NEVER wear a pony tail. When I workout, it is strictly a french braid. The bouncing up and down with a pony tail drives me INSANE. And yet, Sunday I ran in one. Why? I don’t know… because everything else about the run was “new” so I decided to try out a new hair style as well. Consensus? Not too bad! Still prefer the braid though ๐Ÿ™‚
20131014-173938.jpg

skin tight booty shorts=NOT my thing…

2.) Fun Decisions

The “thing” that I was thinking about signing up for that I mentioned yesterday? Well… it is official!! I am signed up for the Colorado Wilderness Emergency Medical Institute’s Wilderness First Responder course in Estes Park, CO on January 8, 2014! I have been wanting to get WFR certified for years… WFR is basically the Top-of-the-Top certificates you can get if you want to work in the outdoor field! I am not sure exactly when, but I definitely see an outdoor leadership job in my near future after graduation. Working for a travel company, Outward Bound, NOLS, Nature Bridge, Young Life Wilderness (backpacking), ski instructor, whitewater raft guide, etc. I could go on and on! Anways, the dates worked out perfectly, it was only really expensive not ohmygosh I just had a heart attack at that price. I am more the excited!

3.) Bold Choices

I may or may not have discussed that there is a course I was taking that I was so unhappy/stressed out with–Public Program Evaluation. I enjoyed it 0%. I am not expecting to LOVE every class… I know that there are hard classes that you need to take because you know they will benefit you and lead you toward your eventual career path… but this was not one of them. I can honestly say I dreaded it, I didn’t understand a thing in it, and it was not at all geared toward the career/direction I want to go. People said to Drop it… but I never even considered that. I would be such a failure, wouldn’t it?! I don’t quit! I am so confused!! I talked to my parents, talked to my advisers…. had the wonderful advice of Cori at OliveToRun…. and yesterday after my Law exam… I Officially WITHDREW from the course. I feel like a huge weight has been lifted off my shoulders!! I will still graduate on time, with the credits I need… but now in a much more “tailored” concentration/curriculum!

Whew! Doesn’t sound like a lot, but it was a lot of “newness” in a short amount of time… and the WFR and Class decision is actually a very big deal… lots of money was paid (or lost) but I have the support of all the people who matter to me!

Lastly, yesterday I went on a nice run with some of the running club!

3 days in a row, I have run ENTIRELY different routes with no distance in mind… yet they all ended up being 8.3 or 8.2 miles. weird…

20131015-062440.jpg20131014-174052.jpg20131015-062134.jpg

Have a great one guys! I hope the day treats you all well ๐Ÿ™‚

What is your favorite distance for a race? What is your favorite “every day” distance?

-I love racing half marathons… or 10ks… and every day training run I am going to go with 8.3 miles ๐Ÿ™‚

Spandex runners, or lose running shorts?

23 comments

  1. Congrats on your wfr camp! That sounds like so much fun and a step towards doing what you want! Also, congrats on withdrawing from your class-it’s definitely a hard decision to make, but it sounds like it was definitely the right one! As for shorts – I have to wear spandex shorts! I can sometimes get away with wearing others during some cross training but I don’t like it!

    1. yes i am looking forward to WFR more than anything! Good for you for wearing and liking the spandex! I just get the most ultimate wedgies in the whole world!! I don’t know how you do it!! haha

  2. pickyrunner · · Reply

    “I enjoyed it 0%”. YES. Do things that make YOU happy! I’m so proud of you for everything you’ve been doing. The different clothes, the dropped class, the changed routine- all of it. It’s huge. I laughed when I read large and in charge. It brought me back to summer where one of my coworkers always says that. I couldn’t help but laugh ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thanks Sarah!!! Yes…not happy at all in it! Been great being out of it!
      hahah I love that saying “Large and In Charge” because that is how I feel lots of time throughout this process!! annoying, but I am trying to manage!

  3. I had something similar happen my senior year. I had loaded up with all these extra hours of environmental classes and then realized I didn’t even need one of them (and it was one I didn’t like too). I was freaking out about withdrawing from the class but was so glad I did because it took a huge weight off my workload. Sounds like you made the right choice.

    1. Yes exactly! I didn’t like this class and didn’t need it! I was only taking it because it “looked good” to say I took it. NOt worth it!
      I am glad withdrawing was a good decision for you.. and so far I am very happy and not looking back from getting out of mine! Thanks for the encouragement!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Yay! Yay! Yay! All great news! I love the things we wear when it’s laundry time haha That course sounds sooo awesome and you know we have lots of wilderness in the mountains right next to me ๐Ÿ˜‰ And I’m glad you withdrew from that class. If there’s a way to still do everything you want without it, why in the world would you stay there?! That’s what I think.

    Ah! What a great couple of changes! Have a great Tuesday my friend!

    1. Thank youuu! Yep.. you got some GREAT wilderness out there, don’t you! I will just have to contact you asap when I move out that way!! yayyy
      Yes that class was awful! haha so much happier outside of it!

  5. Very cool! Right now I’m liking half marathons, but I did a 10 mile race for the first time and really enjoyed that distance! PS, I wore those same shorts on my run this morning.

    1. haha Yayyyy for rewearing shorts!! really, I am a pro at it!
      half marathons are fun.. but 10 milers I found I REALLY like as well ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Good for you for trying new things and doing things that make YOU happy! From the short time I’ve been reading your blog, I’m so proud of the big changes you’re making! You are so strong ๐Ÿ™‚

    I really liked 10 miles when I did that as a race, but I like the half distance just to say that I’ve done it ๐Ÿ˜‰ I run long distances (6 mi+) in spandex and all other distances in loose shorts!

    1. thank you so so much!! it has been a journey thats for sure!
      I like 10miles too:)

  7. I am proud of you for listening to yourself and recognizing what is the most important to you. I’m happy for you!

    1. Thank you so much cori!! your advice really resonated with me! I feel good about my decisions! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. What a stellar run!!

    And way to listen to your heart and do what was right for you. You’ll be so much happier!

    1. Thanks!! feels like i have made good decisions for me!

  9. Well done on listening to your heart and doing what is truly right for you! You know it is the right decision when you make it and the weight has been lifted from your shoulders. Well done.

    1. Thank you so much!
      Yes, such a weight has been lifted… I was truly so unhappy with that class and my schedule because of it. It was a “scary” decision to make, but I realized that only i knew what I wanted/needed.
      Thanks for the support! Have a great day!

  10. Good for you for doing what makes you happy! I’m like you though, in similar situations I always think I’m going to be a quitter or a failure, I recently changed what I want my career to be and had the same thoughts, but it only matters that you please yourself rather than others when it’s something that’s affecting only you:)

    My favorite daily distance is 10 miles. And my fav racing distance is the 10k so far. I’ve never ran a half or full marathon, but I’m training for a full in jan. and doing a half in a few weeks!

    1. Great distances! You are going to love the half and full’s if you enjoy 10 miles on the daily! Can’t wait to hear how they go!
      Congrats to YOU for being strong and changing your major/career path…. it takes a different kind of strength when we make choices like that. scary, but ultimately for the best! Good luck with everything!

  11. […] remember how last post I mentioned that on all 3 very different routes, I was hitting the exact same distance of 8.3, 8.3, […]

  12. […] am so excited for my Wilderness First Responder training January 8! Yes I know… so far away… but still– It is great to have that […]

  13. […] about it was perfect. Since dropping my most hated class and finally being done with midterms, I didn’t have to focus on work at all this weekend and […]

Leave a Reply

