Less than 5 Weeks Out

Morning Friends!

After taking off all last week from running… I got back at it this weekend pain free! Goes to show that when you first feel little aches and pains, take some time off so it doesn’t become big aches and pains!

I ran Saturday late afternoon after spending Friday with my sister who is in town from NYC for her best friends wedding! It was amazing to stay up and laugh with her! Miss that girl πŸ™‚ In trying to keep my run slow, I wanted to run in an outfit that I don’t normally run in… because for some reason, when I am in my full-on running gear my body and mind automatically get in race mode.

So I ran in a SHIRT. With SLEEVES. I can’t believe it! I never ever run in shirts. I am a tank-top or long sleeve gal. I have to admit, it was fun to get to show off wear my CARA 20 Miler shirt I got the other weekend πŸ™‚

20131013-060331.jpg

Lets all hear it for the typical Bathroom Mirror picture!!

I immediately showered where I tried out my new shampoo/conditioner by Aveeno. I figure Jennifer Aniston advertises for their lotion… and she is NEVER wrong… so their hair products can’t be that bad, right?

20131013-060323.jpg

Ugh, I really need a roommate or at least a dog or something so I am not taking these horrible solo bathroom pictures… I would be embarrassed, but strangely I don’t care…

Clean Hair!! And to answer your questions… Yes. I do know what year/decade it is. And I don’t care. I wear my tye-dye shirts like it is my job.

I ran again yesterday and it was B-E-A-Utiful! But I will dedicate another post to that πŸ™‚

I am less than 5 weeks out from the Richmond Marathon! I am so excited!! Yes, slightly nervous, but definitely more excited than anything else! Seeing everyone posting times/finish-line pics from Chicago yesterday definitely got me in the mood!

I feel good about my training… I am put in some high miles some weeks, and others I have put in very very little (like last week!). I have weight lifted, cross trained, performed plyometrics, etc, keep my workouts mixed up and my body “guessing”.

I have no doubt that I can run and finish the 26.2. And while that is certainly enough for me to have fun and enjoy myself, the morning, the event, and the beauty of “running”, I would love to finish strong, PR, and even BQ!

Also… I may be signing up for something very very exciting!!Β  Answering all your thoughts–NO, it actually is not running related! But yes, it is outdoor/physical related πŸ™‚

20131013-060344.jpg

Early morning in Southern Indiana…

Have a GREAT Monday people! You are all wonderful and beautiful!

What Shampoo/Conditioner do you use?

-My hair is dry and damaged feeling… I need advice/repair!!

Give me a weather update in your part of the country!!

I need new running shorts and cannot find my exact favorite “kind”. What do you wear???

20 comments

  1. Yay! Less than 5 weeks out is so exciting! You will be great! I am running a half this weekend, and I know I haven’t run all the miles I wanted to, but also know I will get to the finish line, which I figure is most important! The weather here is beautiful now, just in time for race season here! 50s-60s in the night and morning. 70s-80s during the day!

    1. Yay good luck on your half!! Have fun!! πŸ™‚

  2. pickyrunner · · Reply

    So happy to hear you’re back and injury free! Getting to the starting line of the marathon is the hardest part of the race so taking last week off to heal was a good decision. I can’t wait for you to rock it am I’m so happy you got to spend time with your sister!

    1. Thanks girl πŸ™‚
      So much fun to see my sister even for just a little bit!! I can’t wait for the race!!

  3. I just use tresemme, it’s cheap and doesn’t make my hair feel funny. Try coconut oil! You put it on your hair, for well, as long as you want, then rinse it out. I’ve never done it, but heard it works really well! It’s going to be in the 80’s this week for me 😦 haha I just want some cooler temps, like the 60’s, those are my favorites. I’m so excited for your race!!! I can’t wait to hear about it :D. I run in Nike shorts, I absolutely love them!! Have a great Monday πŸ™‚

    1. Good idea with coconut oil!! I will have to try that!
      yes, the 60’s are my favorite too!!

  4. Question for you: will you be wearing your new racing flats for the marathon? or will you stick with your NB 1080″s? Today’s high/low in my corner of Connecticut is 65/45 and it will be like that for most of the week.

    1. I will wear my new racing flats!
      60’s are a good running weather!!

  5. If your hair is dry you should do a hair mask. I got a macadamia oil one from a salon and it was worked magic! I wash my hair and leave it on for about 10 minutes and then rinse it out. Its awesome.

    The weather in Vancouver is awesome, perfect Fall weekend. Sunny and about 16 degrees C (about 60F) and all of the leaves are changing. πŸ™‚

    1. That is a great Idea thanks I really need to try that… good tip!!
      Ahh i would love to be in Vancouver for fall! Sounds gorgeous!

  6. Way to listen to your body! As for the weather, it was miserable this past weekend for my 5 and 15 milers. Mainly the humidity was a beotch! 90% both days! Sweaty mess!

    1. Thanksss it is hard to listen to sometimes haha
      WOW… can’t imagine how hot it is running in all that gross humidity!!! Way to get that run in anyways!!

      1. Thanks! I keep telling myself that training in this muck willl make me stronger in the long run…I hope!

  7. Runner Girl Eats · · Reply

    I use Moroccan oil shampoo and I’m obsessed. I also use aveda leave in conditioner which is soooo good!

    1. oh thanks I have been looking for good suggestions for a leave in conditioner! there are so many brands/types I never know… I will look into that thanks!

  8. I’m getting excited for your marathon!! Nice job on taking some time off to let your body recoup!

    1. Aww thanks!!! I am excited too! I just have to be smart from now until then and not get injured!! I hope you are feeling better?!? back to running soon hopefully!

  9. […] “thing” that I was thinking about signing up for that I mentioned yesterday? Well… it is official!! I am signed up for the Colorado Wilderness Emergency Medical […]

  10. I had to laugh at that caption…having a pet is like a get-out-of-jail-free card for selfies!

    1. yes!! I need one!!

Leave a Reply

