The Greatest of Ideas

Last night I tried ZzzQuil to help me with my sleeping issues… it totally took me back to being a kid and drinking cough med!! I actually love that taste!

20131010-053024.jpg

The verdict? It didn’t really work. No different than Melatonin, Valerian Root, etc…. I am running out of ideas people!

Anyways…On to something GREAT.

I stumbled across this fantastic idea while in NYC over labor day weekend (HERE, HERE, HERE)…. I was wondering if any of you have heard of this or even participated with one!

“Running Tours for Travelers”

First of all, the title of the article should make you all Super Duper excited and bounce up and down in your seat– it did for me.

(From the article)

“In addition to New York, you can find City Running guides in Chicago, San Diego, Washington, D.C., Charleston and Austin… Every city has preset routes, from the Magnificent National Mall run in D.C. to the Wrigleyville route in Chicago, but guides will customize runs to accommodate clients of any ability and with any interests.”

City Running Tours guides all the runs in popular cities throughout the country. You can get a shirt, photo in front of a significant site/monument/street/etc, discounts and other goodies! Sign me up!!

*My next question…being a poor grad student who is constantly thinking of the future, jobs, and life in general, is…. How can I get a job that “requires” me to run around with a group of people in a great city?!?! Can we say dream job??

Most of us runners are pretty good about running (at least) a few times while on vacation or traveling for work– taking to the street is one of the best ways to see a city– but for those who are uncomfortable running in a new city solo, and want the company of other runners, or want a bit of background/history lesson to the city you are running in… this sounds perfect!

I love running (no pun intended) across articles that show the world that running is not just some punishing workout that is a huge suck-fest and is only done to lose weight. That hurts my ears to hear!! Running is FUN! And I think tours like these are waking up the population to the joy of being active— it is a lifestyle!!

Stay Wonderful My Friends 🙂

Has anyone ever done one of these (or similar) running tours?

Dream Job??

-working at a ski resort, white water raft guide, running tour guide.

18 comments

  1. pickyrunner · · Reply

    I heard a job like this from a local run club! The luxury hotels actually hire full Time people to train hotel guests for marathons! Then they get paid to race them! I mean whattttt. I told my mom I wanted to do that for my career and she wasn’t so sure…

    1. Um… literally just googles “Luxury Hotels Full Time Runner” and got a ‘hit’ on a Westin hotel that just hired a guy for that purpose. JEALOUS. So so cool….don’t think my parents would be too happy if after all these degrees I ended up runnign for a living. I would be TOTALLY fine with it 🙂

  2. I’ve heard that magnesium can help sleep.

    My dream job would definitely have something to do with running.

    1. Another blogger just mentioned magnesium!! I will really have to look into that…. very interesting!
      Thanks for the suggestion!
      And sounds like we have similar “dream jobs” 🙂

  3. I’ve never heard of these!! I heard of people running through wherever they are because you get to experience and see the place more/better. But a tour?? This is kind of cool 🙂 I would enjoy that!! Dream job is to own a bakery. I love baking cupcakes :). I’m sorry you’re having trouble sleeping, I use melatonin. My parents actually use passion flower, they claim it works, maybe try that?

    1. I love your dream job! PLEASE open a bakery and let me know where it is and I will come over asap! Seriously… that is a very realistic dream and you should go for it if you have the passion!!
      Ya I have been taking melatonin for a year or so now… I think I might be immune to it. oops?! I have not heard of Passion Flower… I will look into it! thanks 🙂

  4. Hi Andrea,

    If you don’t have enough Magnesium in your diet (i.e. can be found in kidney beans, black beans, bananas, whole wheat bread, brown rice, oatmeal, bran..etc), then that might be your problem. I recently moved to high altitude to run professionally, and started to take magnesium to help me sleep; it works great! 🙂

    1. Wow thank you so so much! If I don’t have to take ZzzQuil or other “pills” then i certainly don’t want to! I have no idea what my magnesium intake is…. but I am actually scheduled for a blood test next week and will find out then. Thank you so much for the suggestion and putting that on my radar! I will let you know what I find out!
      Wow– running professionally!!! My DREAM right there! Congrats that is incredible!

      1. Aww thanks, Andrea 🙂 God’s given me an awesome opportunity to actually do what I studied: sports ministry! Yes, let me know what you find out! I got my blood tested not too long ago too; it’s such a great resource!

      2. Sports Ministry?!?! That sounds like the greatest combo I could ever think up! Congrats… you will reach so many people! What a great great way to spread God’s Love ❤

  5. I have heard of that, it’s a great idea! I always take my running shoes with me when I travel anyways! In NYC I went to a running store and joined in their social run through Central Park. It was awesome!

    1. Good! I never leave without running shoes either!
      WOW what a great idea to contact a running store to find a group for a couple days that you are visiting some place! I will have to do that in Denver when I am there in a couple weeks!

  6. ahhh- zquil. Joe and I got some (the pills though) to take for our last red eye to NYC…I will be doing a repeat tomorrow night too 🙂

    1. haha sleep tight and ENJOY! 🙂

  7. Running tours?! That sounds amazing! The worst thing ever is being in a new city and wanting to run but being worried about getting lost or wandering into the bad part of town!

    Nyquil reminds me of my dad. He always used to take big dips of it before bed to help him sleep!

    1. Ya I have wound up in some not so great parts before! Yikes!
      haha sounds like your dad and I have that in common!

  8. Wait, what??!! This sounds AWESOME!!! What a fun way to get to know a new city. This is genius and I think I need to go to one of those cities so I can do one of those tours. Wanna come? 😉

    1. um.. YESSS!! sign me up!!! Of course if I came to Salt Lake City you could be my own PERSONAL tour guide!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

