Friday Faves, Exploratory Runs, and Updates!

Good Morning everyone!

Let’s Favorite-it-up, shall we?

  • Scandal season premier was on last night!! So.Good. I love that show. If you don’t watch it… please find it online right now!

  • There is snow in the mountains, and more to come! That means ski season is coming people!! Ski season is my favorite time of the year, hands down.

Winter Alerts

  • I was able to swing by Fresh Market and pick up what can only be the best coffee ever. Pumpkin Spice.

20131004-050324.jpg

  • Tis the Season for me to make some delicious Oatmeal Chocolate Pumpkin Cookies! They are so simple— Oats, Pumpkin, chocolate chips. Bake ’em, BOOM. Wonderfullness in your mouth ๐Ÿ™‚

I did a fun and NAKED run yesterday through some new sections of Bloomington! I loved being in the neighborhoods and away from the campus streets… honestly I hate running in campus. I don’t ever do it. But I started from where I had class and headed south to some new HILLY neighborhoods!

No Watch. No GPS. No iPod. LOVED IT. (I mapped it when I got home so I could run this route another day since I loved it so much! I did not have a CLUE how far I was running during the run…)

Screen shot 2013-10-03 at 7.52.59 PM

Yesterday, I had my therapist appointment followed immediately by a visit to my special “eating disorder” doctor. Both went well. I am not going to go into all of it… honestly it wears me out so much when I am there and I get so tired talking about “it”… so just know that according to the doctors, I am exactly where they would expect me to be. I am gaining weight at what they consider to be a slow, yet steady rate (which they like seeing better than lots of weight really fast).

The two things I will tell you, so you all an keep me accountable are:

  • I need to mix up breakfast. I have started getting very very OCD and obsessed about my Kashi bowls of cereal. Yes it tastes good, but it has become more of a strict regime to the point that I feel I need to have it. So I am going to try small changes, like only cereal every other morning…

**In case you are wondering, I had and apple and oatmeal with a spoonful of pb, almond milk, raisins and cinnamon in there! Delicious!!**

  • NO MORE BODY CHECKING. This is a major one. In the last month, I have slipped back into the habit of checking out my body in the mirror for minutes upon minutes… and I find myself sitting down in class/car/work and “feeling” “squeezing” “pinching” at my stomach and thighs… I really must break this habit. As my doctor points out, it is a Lose-Lose. Because of a disconnect between what my brain thinks I look like and what my body actually looks like. So no matter how much body checking I do… I will NEVER be satisfied. That was actually a huge wake-up call.

Well, I am not sure if I have a workout on the books today or not… plan on doing some Hill Loops in Brown County State Park (good thing it is State run, eh?) so we will see if I feel like an easy day or a rest day.

Thanks SO MUCH for the protein ideas! Lots of you had great ideas that I didn’t even think of… See, that is why I keep you guys around–You are so wise and wonderful! ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a Fabulous Friday Friends!

Please say others watch Scandal?

Any skiers out there??

What is a Favorite of yours?

20 comments

  1. Runner Girl Eats · · Reply

    I loveeeeeee to ski. Unfortunately we don’t get to do it often in FL so it will be a while before I make a trip to the slopes. Haven’t seen scandal but keep hearing about it! I need to Netflix it soonz

    1. haha yes well Indiana is not the place for skiing either!! ((although I will admit, better chance than florida!)) Yes Netflix the first/second season! So good!!

  2. pickyrunner · · Reply

    I’m glad you’re making progress! Being reassured by your doctors is a great feeling ๐Ÿ™‚ Naked runs are the best too ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. for sure girl ๐Ÿ™‚ naked runs=fun runs!
      Thanks Sarah!!

  3. I have been seeing so much about Scandal this week, it has made me curious about it. Glad to hear you’re making progress! I use to do the same that you do. I think it honestly took me a good couple of years to accept that what I see isn’t what I really look like, and now I’m starting to like what I see, just keep thinking positive things about yourself, that’s what I do, and I really think it helps ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. YES watch Scandal please!!! Yes, body checking is the worst. I literally have to talk out loud to myself to prevent myself from doing it… ha SO HAPPY to hear how great of strides you have made and are overcoming the body image issue. Gives me hope and encouragement!!

  4. I love to ski, but not many mountains here in North Texas. I also did a naked run last week, but unfortunately ended up getting arrested. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. haha Yes no mountains in Indiana either… i guess it makes it EXTRA wonderful when we do make it out west then eh? ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. The puzzle that you are…that we all are….is put together piece by piece. The more I read your blog the more pieces I see falling into place.

    Have you done any runs in your new shoes?

    1. haha my mom has told me for as long as I can remember that she has never met, and will never meet… anyone remote “like” me. Obviously we are all unique, but I seem to be extremely intricate and complex with just about everything! I don’t know if that is what you were talking about, but I have been trying to “piece me together” for the last 23 years now!

      No runs in my new shoes yet! It has been raining, and to be honest, didn’t see the need to get my shoes dirty for no reason ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. It was actually snowing down in Denver on my drive to work this morning! Pretty excited about it too ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. AHHH I am so excited for you guys haha I have a feeling it is going to be a GREAT season for you guys!! slopes are going to get dumped on ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Ah, body-checking. Seriously such a slippery slope. I’m glad you’re going to focus on breaking that habit. I think many women who aren’t diagnosed with EDs body-check in that way (pinching etc) and don’t realize how damaging it is!

    1. Yes, so damaging and definitely THE hardest thing for me right now. Without a doubt. I am 100% aware of my body and what it is doing/looks-looks at all times. Very hard to break, but I talk out loud to myself to stop and it seems to help a bit…

  8. I love skiing………..but I’m super lame and never venture off the baby hills. lol

    1. hahha aww one day you gotta go hit up some other slopes! You will be so surprised and proud that you can do them! I promise you can! ๐Ÿ™‚ But i love that you love to ski!!! yayy!

  9. Running without a watch, ipod, etc is one of my favorite ways to run. I am looking forward to a heck of a lot more of that once my training for these two marathons are done. ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you’re having a great weekend.

    1. You are actually the one who “taught me” how to run without a watch during your run free for me month this summer! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. I love Scandal! Such a good show! I did my first semi naked run in awhile yesterday. I did track my run (needed to get at least 9 miles in) but I didn’t listen to music or even watch the mileage for the most part. It felt SO GOOD and I can’t wait to do it again!

    1. Yay another scandal lover! Glad to hear about your semi-naked run ๐Ÿ™‚ they are great to do every now and then!

Leave a Reply

