Let’s play Catch UP!

Weekend Catch-Up!

And I have no idea why I decided to do this Sun-Fri, rather than in the normal order…

Sunday

**First off– I need everyone’s secrets and “tools-of-the-trade” for the best/fastest way to dry out your running shoes when they are so wet that you might as well have jumped in a lake with them on. How do you dry them out???

I turned down the trail run (due to pending storms) and took off from my place. I figured I would totally out-smart the weather and everything would be dandy. Well, 3 miles into my 10.5 mile run, it starts pouring.

I immediately did what every runner would do. I threw off my shirt, wrapped it around my iPhone arm-band to keep it dry, and continued on my merry way.

As it rained harder and harder and visibility was called into question, I briefly asked God if he was trying to tell me to turn around and head home. But I figured he would have sent lightening bolts and thunder if that was the case. Sorry if I totally miss-read that one God!!

Saturday

First run back from my two days off!! I went on a wonderful leg-loosening 9.5 mile run. It felt so so great to be out there. I was very sore from Thursday and Friday which consisted of lots of lunges and squats and hip strengthening… but I knew that the best way that I have always combated soreness is to stretch out those legs on a run!

My “New” came off my “New Balance”…

20130930-060108.jpg

20130930-060115.jpg

I bought new shoes!!!! They are a fast racing flat!! Can’t wait to do some speed/tempo/fartleks in these babies!! I got the RC 1400’s.

20130930-060040.jpgAnd I spent my dinner munchin on a really great bowl of quinoa and salmon with veggie for sides…. …And a Runner’s World. Basically the perfect dinner!

20130930-060047.jpg

Runner’s World page opened to the Rave Run– I got straight to the Rave Run every issue before I sit down and read it cover to cover ๐Ÿ™‚

The title and topic of October’s Runners World was pretty much written with me in mind. Thank you Runner’s World! I appreciate it!

“Special Nutrition Issue” and “Eat for Energy” ?? Perfect!

Friday

Whenever I am in need of a great, exhausting, muscle burning, cardio workout, I head over to Blonde Ponytail! Jess is wonderful and so incredible knowledgeable with workouts and the body. I have yet to find a workout she has posted that I didn’t like… and trust me, I have done a lot of hers!

My favorite was my Friday morning HIIT —

HIIT

**my dumbbells were “curved” and not the “cornered off” kind, so I did plain old killer Burpees instead of risking rolling around all over the floor for the Plank Rows! I used 20# and 30# weights. It was a great sweaty gross morning!!

Friday Night

I was invited by my Masters Program to a Distinguished Alumni Dinner with past graduates who are Big F-ing deals in the world today. We are talking CEO’s, Presidents of companies, founders of blah blah blah, State Department Officials, National Security people, Executives of whatever… It was awesome to talk to them!!

I went shopping all day trying to find something business-y yet stylish. I kind of succeeded. Let me also mention how much I HATE shopping. I felt so so awful trying on clothes and being in front of the 360 degree mirror.

Anyways… I was running late and had to jump in the car, and throw off my heals so I could drive. It ain’t easy driving stick shift in heels people!!

20130930-060125.jpg

20130930-060136.jpg

Awful photo, I look pissed, and you can barely see my clothes. Whatever, just know I did not wear running shorts. Score. — Notice my pull up bar over my door?? Ya… love it.

Well… now that we are all caught up with my life! Sorry for boring you all and I am impressed if you made it this far ๐Ÿ™‚ No judgements if you didn’t.

What is the best way to dry out my shoes?!?!

Anyone else drive stick shift and barefoot??

Did you celebrate National Coffee Day yesterday??

–better believe I did!

 

18 comments

  1. Confession- I’d rather run a mile in my high heels than drive a manual transmission.
    I’m with you— NOT a fan of shopping!

    1. hahah i love my manual!
      And yay for not liking shopping!!

  2. Usually I let my wet shoes dry outside in the sun. I’ve heard that some people stuff newspapers or paper towels into their shoes to soak up any moisture and let them dry outside. It’s been years since I had a car with a standard transmission but there were a few time when I drove a short distance barefoot….not very wise or comfortable.

    1. No sun here at all right now! Ya i find newspaper works pretty well… but I was hoping for a faster way! haha

  3. pickyrunner · · Reply

    Use newspaper to dry your shoes!!! Seriously you wouldn’t think it works but it’s the only way! Looks like a fun weekend- I actually love running in torrential downpours. Probably not the safest idea but it’s fun ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Ya newspaper is a great idea and my mom would always do that for our shoes– unfortunately NO newspapers around me and i was hoping for an even faster solution haha but i guess that will have to do! I does work pretty well.. i just have the patience of a 4 year old ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. ^ I was about to say the same… newspaper all the way! and I love your new shoes! What shoes do you run your marathons in? just your training shoes or racing flats?

    1. Thanks!! I ran my last marathon in my trainers, but will do this one in my racing flats. I usually race in racing flats… but in the last year I have needed a new pair and have been too lazy/broke to buy some so my races have all been in my training shoes. Oh well, I am pumped for these baby’s!

  5. I put them in the dryer! And if you pull them out right after for a run, they are nice and toasty ๐Ÿ™‚ Love your outfit, super cute!!!! Those running shoes you got look pretty awesome, I’m a sucker for a bright colored shoe ;). I did not celebrate National Coffee Day, and I feel like I’m the only one that didn’t haha.

    1. yay for the dryer and warm toasty feet!!! bright colors are happy colors!

  6. I’m always afraid to ruin my shoes by putting them in the dryer, so I just let them bake in the sun. Usually it’s just annoying and takes a long time. I’ve tried blow drying them, which definitely doesn’t work, so don’t waste your time on that! So funny that the “new” came off!

    1. if there was sun i would totally be baking my shoes in it haha.. unfortunately the last two days are straight up depression mode here with gloomy misty skies. bummer. Glad to know not to waste my time on blowing dyring them!!

  7. I love running in the rain, so i would have kept right on going as well. However, i do get worried about the phone situation!

    1. haha I know I was going to be really pissed at myself if I would have damaged my phone… but the “shirt as a arm band rain cover” seemed to work just fine ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I have driven stick shift and barefoot many times, what else is a girl to do? Your outfit looked great! Sounds like you had a great weekend, minus the rain!

    1. Yep, gotta do what ya gotta do! Aww thanks girl!! dressing is not my forte ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. I usually stick newspaper in my shoes and them stick them under the refrigerator door (my coach taught me that) or baseboard heaters. It helps!

    I don’t have a manual right now, but I drive barefoot anyways ๐Ÿ™‚ I suck at driving manual, especially because I like to put my left foot up on the seat when I drive…can’t do that when I need to shift!

    Happy Monday!

  10. Nothing beats a good run in pouring down rain – especially during the summer & fall months ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

