Rest day’s arn’t easy…

I am so psyched for Fall. It has been absolutely gorgeous here in southern(ish) Indiana. This makes me appreciate seasons so much! I don’t think I could ever live in a state without Seasons. They are just too darn exciting!

Yesterday I was walking on campus to my evening class with this as my view:

20130927-053117.jpg

20130927-053123.jpg

20130927-053103.jpg

It makes school just slightly more bearable… slightly πŸ˜‰

Also on the death march walk to class I head the overwhelming urge to feel the Earth. I wanted the grass and dirt between my toes. So, took off my shoes and continued walking barefoot to class. It was a great idea πŸ™‚

20130927-053111.jpg

The two days of no running I have been doing have been pretty rough! This week over all has been one of many many freakouts, panics, anxiety, sadness, anger, frustration (ha I will not go on with the negative emotions I was feeling… you get it) that was all based around the fact I was feeling like a giant blob. I feel as “soft” and “non-lean” as ever.

I have got a baby “spare tire” thing going on around my lower stomach that I have not had in a long time. And I notice it all the time. When I lean over or sit, it perfectly Rolls right on over the waist band of my shorts…bahhhh.

I don’t understand how my mind so quickly goes from feeling positive with my body, feeling strong only a couple weeks ago (I ran in a sports bra people!!) and then this week feel just so large and plump-y that I am not comfortable in anything. How can I so quickly occupy such a large range of emotions?!?

So my questions to figure out are these:Β 

Is there actually a difference in my body composition in the last 3 weeks that are fueling these thoughts? Do I really have a softer stomach, more rolls, etc than I did a few weeks ago?

OR

Is this all in my mind? Is this just my mind and the Bad Voice and Satan using my weaknesses to tell me I am not good enough?

Bright side of life!!!

I get to run this weekend! I am holding true to my 2 days off (I have been doing lots of strengthening on these days) and am looking forward to running tomorrow and Sunday! I miss my morning runs with the girls as well!!! It is such a therapeutic start to the mornings!

Also, I got some shopping to do today! I have an important Distinguished Alumni Dinner tonight ((it is BUFFET!!) and I need to put on my classy clothes… problem is I live in running clothes.Β  Need to at least find a pencil skirt and some shoes….

And my 2nd ALSO, is that I am going to get some new running shoes! I will need some by the time the Marathon rolls around, but obviously I don’t want to run on brand new shoes (dumb) so I figure I will get them now and break them in! New Balance brand, obviously.

Have a great Friday Folks! I hope it is beautiful weather wherever you are!

What is your go-to nice outfit for dinners that you have to look professional?? (i need help!)

What is your running shoe buying process? When do you get new? Do you alternate? Do you have a racing pair ONLY?

24 comments

  1. Oh my goodness Andrea, I know exactly how you are feeling! I haven’t run in a week because of some tendonitis in my foot, and even though I’ve tried to get in some form of cross-training every day, my mind is still flipping out and starting to return to distorted thinking. I really think that your ‘spare tire’ is just your brain reading too much into your state of reduced exercise. Whenever I start getting ED-driven thoughts like that, I try to think about other people who don’t work out every single day (read: ‘normal’ people, haha). Do they seem to gain weight after not exercising intensely for two days? Of course not! Unfortunately, it’s really tough to wrap my brain around that fact, as I’m sure you know :-/ Hang in there, girl! You’ve made so much progress already, and you should be proud of yourself for how far you’ve come πŸ™‚

    In terms of nice outfits, I really can’t be of much help, haha. I’m too much of a hippie and athlete to put a lot of thought into dressing up! My go-to outfit tends to be casual dresses with TOMS…not always appropriate for super formal events πŸ™‚

    I usually get new shoes every 4-6 months or so. If I’m starting to train for a longer race, I’ll get a new pair towards the beginning of my training cycle, and alternate for the first few weeks. I can’t wait to see which shoes you choose!

    Have an awesome Friday, girl πŸ™‚ Lots of love!

    1. I hope your tendonitis feels better!! It is so frustrating how quickly disordered thoughts come powering through our minds… I have such a hard time believeing what everyone tells me and athletes and trainers and runners world and all of that jazz…. I just don’t trust what they are telling me sometime regarding my body, fuel, rest days, exercise, etc.
      Thanks so much for the motivation πŸ™‚
      Yes I am sooo not one for dressing up. Nice to me is wearing my sperry’s.

  2. klopez415 · · Reply

    I’m so happy you voiced your opinion because I’m feeling much the same way. I’ve eased up on exercising the past two weeks and haven’t been too please with my body lately (mostly the EXACT same area you talked about on your stomach). I guess running and cardio just makes us that more confident about our bodies, so when we back off, we start to feel insecure–not good! Anyways, just wanted to say thanks for posting this–glad to know I’m not alone in my feelings!

    I usually buy new shoes somewhere in the beginning to middle of training. I don’t usually alternate because I often underestimate how many miles I’ve put on my shoes and by the time I buy a new pair, I really need to get ride of the old ones.

    1. Yes exactly. When I am working out, I feel strong and powerful and more confident in my body. Rest days however… bahh they are hard! I am so glad we can relate on this ((ok not glad… obviously I wish neither of us had this insecurity!)) because it really does help knowing we are not alone. Thanks for the pep talk girl πŸ™‚

  3. Congrats on staying true to your two days off!! Don’t listen to the bad voice. It’s probably all in your mind. I’ve had similar feelings before and they bother so much to make me look like a crazy person and ask people what they think (thank god I asked people I know, like my boyfriend, instead of a complete stranger). And everytime he would just tell me I look the same. Now did I wonder if he was just telling me that so that I would chill out. Oh yeah. But I took his word on it and it has gotten me use to it. People like us, we’re just too hard on ourselves. Most others look at us and think we’ve got an amazing a body. Be proud πŸ™‚ Don’t let thoughts get you down.
    Blazer!! Always a blazer for me haha.
    I always go to fleet feet. And I always tell them Mizunos. Then I run in them all year haha I can’t handle such long distances, due to a previous injury, so luckily I can get away with using one pair all year long πŸ™‚ Have a great weekend and stay positive πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks so much for the reminders and the kind words… you are right– I am so so hard on myself. I expect perfection out of my body. I will try and work on being proud of what I have!!!
      Love blazers!!
      Have a great weekend!

  4. um, totally Satan. He’s a little jerk and knows when you may be at a weak point and he knows where the cracks in are in our self esteem and that’s where he hits hard. Don’t listen to him. You’re amazing and beautiful and strong and so fit!! Remember that negativity like that does NOT come from God or the Holy Ghost.
    Off my religious soap box: I love Asics. I wish they were lighter, but other than that I always find myself preferring them. Love!! and good luck at the fancy dinner! Sounds awesome!
    Have a happy Friday!!

    1. I love you for being on your religious soap box πŸ™‚ That is exactly what I needed to hear! Satan is a TOTAL jerk. He knows where to hurt… and I also have to remember that God will never leave me alone to battle satan and give me more than I can handle. Thanks girl… you seriously are wonderful πŸ™‚

  5. My road shoes are newtons and I stick with those. My trail shoes have changed though – I use to wear la sportiva, but I have switched to NB trail shoes now πŸ™‚
    The body image stuff is probably in your mind, but even knowing that usually doesn’t help…just distract yourself…eat healthy and keep up the good work!
    have an awesome weekend!

    1. Yay for NB trail runners πŸ™‚ I have not tried the Newtons, although they are definitely gaining in popularity.
      Thanks for the kind words and motivation! Have a great weekend as well and stay positive on the running thing! you will get back and feel GREAT!

  6. Okay, so I generally don’t discuss therapeutic methods and blah, blah, blah because I think a lot of it is a waste of time. That being said, there is a therapeutic idea that relates to disordered eating and why we develop those voices. It’s called parts work. You may want to look into it, but it’s helped me a lot (as much as I hate to admit it to my therapist). What also worked for me was thinking that I wanted to prevent stress fractures and broken bones, and in order to do that women need to have at bit of fat on their bodies.

    Regardless of the above I imagine it’s all in your head. Just keep doing what you’re doing and allow the strong, confident, beautiful and intelligent Andrea to prevail.

    More fun topics…running shoes! I always wears Brooks Ravennas. I tried Mizunos and did not like them at all. I’ve also tried Cinemas (bad idea) and Brooks Pureflows. I really like the Pureflows, but I have arthritis in my big toes, so they were not ideal.

    Skirt and blazer would looks nice for a professional dinner.

    1. Cinemas should be Vibrams. My phone has a mind of it’s own.

      1. Ugh, please ignore all the grammar errors in my posts. I should really proofread before submitting stuff from my phone.

      2. hahaha you are FINE! I got the gist πŸ™‚

    2. Thank you so so much for the suggestion/idea. I will DEFINITELY check out Parts Work. I have got to get a handle on this… I am so tired of having weeks like this where my mind is in overdrive about my body. It occupies all my time and thoughts and makes me so down and blue. I am willing to try anything now to get my mind on the right path.
      Thank you so much for the kind words ❀

      Everyone seems to LOVE their brooks! I think I want to try out a pair… but I am really nervous to switch up from NB. I have worn NB for 12 years!!

      1. If you buy from running warehouse they allow you to try shoes risk free for 90 days and return them if you don’t like them. I know there are other places that do this too, but I’ve always been really pleased with them.

      2. I just checkout their website and love their selection of NB! I would love to order some pairs and try them out! Thanks for the suggestion πŸ™‚

  7. What model of NB are you wearing now, Andrea? Is it the 890v3 or the 1080v3? I tried the 890 and it just wasn’t enough shoe for me. I’m currently running in the Brooks Ghost 6…at least I will be once I get this plantar fasciitis under control. I may try replacing the insole in my shoes with something more supportive…I really don’t want to start wearing a stability shoe but if I have to I will. Some people I’ve talked to tell me plantar fasciitis can last for a year of more. I don’t know anything about disordered eating and I won’t pretend that I do…..but from the pictures you have posted you are a very attractive young woman and look healthy and fit.

    1. Yes I have been in the 1080v3. I really like them…but I would like a faster/lighter shoe for road races/tempos/fartleks/etc. I am going to check out some different kinds to see what I like.
      Everyone seems to like Brooks!– sorry about the planter fascitis uhh so annoying. My dad has had it for years.. some days it flares up more than others…

      Thank you so much for the compliment and kind words… I really appreciate it πŸ™‚

  8. I cycle my shoes and have specific shoes for specific run types so I end up having each of them last longer. I typically run in Brooks pure line during the week and my long runs are in Asics but it has taken me four years to figure out what I like in a shoe and when I should wear different TYPES of shoes.

    Have a great weekend Andrea!

    1. That is a great idea. i just bought a pair of ‘fast’ NB. I plan on wearing them for speed/tempo/fartlek/races workouts.
      I have got to try the Brooks Pure line… I just keep reading great things about them and more and more women seem to be heading to them! I am afraid to switch out of my NB though πŸ™‚ Hey, if it ain’t broke??
      have a great Sunday!

  9. pickyrunner · · Reply

    You survived the rest days and made it to sunday yayyyy!!! I know the feeling of rest days well. Honestly, your mind messes with you more because you aren’t working out so that’s probably where a lot of the anxiety is coming from. I have a sense that you’re like me and have somewhat of an addiction πŸ˜‰ I hope today’s run goes well!!! I live in my mizunos, as you already know. I just can’t get on board with any other brands now. Oh well, at least they work for me.

  10. Definitely Satan trying to do a number on you…you are being effective and of course he doesn’t like it! You are so inspiring to others, I know you have been inspiring to me, a first time runner, and an older woman. You are truly beautiful, both inside and out! I know body image is a hard thing to ever be comfortable with, so that makes an easy target for the bad voice…choose not to listen. Take pride in your accomplishments, and cry out to Jesus, who loves you and supports you always. Girl, you are soooo fast! The numbers you posted after your Chicago run last weekend were amazing! I am so proud of you for listening to your body and taking the much needed rest! I hope you had two wonderful weekend runs!

    Running shoes for me are mizunos. I went to a running store, had them analyze my stride and recommend several different pairs for me to try on; I then tested each pair on their treadmill and on the sidewalk outside their store before making a decision on what felt best to me. So far I have been pleased with them. When I reach 500 miles I plan on buying a new pair.

    Hope your dinner was fun, you really can’t go wrong with a classic look and a pencil skirt qualifies as a classic!

    1. Thank you so much for your comment and kind words!! You are so right about Satan and how he is trying to dig into my weak spots. I want to use this to grow closer to God!! Thanks for the daily reminder that HE is all that matters πŸ™‚
      Good idea to get your stride evaluated! Glad to hear they are working out!!
      Thanks again and have a great day πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

