Running/Socks v. Sleeves/RIP GPS!

Ok, annoying unpleasant stuff out of the way first ((Sorry about this!!))

Not gonna lie, I am frustrated with myself. Even after such fun and accomplishment this weekend… taking a day off yesterday was very hard. I felt as if I ate so so much and was just constantly shoving food into my mouth. Adding no exercise on top of that… well… lets just say mentally I was struggling a bit.

Good blog post about how women have bi-polar body image issues!

I knew that taking a day of recovery after Sunday was smart, the right thing to do, help me recover faster, and make the rest of my runs this week even better. I also knew that if I was eating a ton and wanting anything and everything in my mouth… well, then my body must be hungry and craving food and energy. Right.. right? Sometimes I get frustrated because I am still not very good at listening to “body signals”.

***I think blogger candysbrain hit the nail on the head with her ‘Bi-Polar Body Image‘ post (Check it out… it is great!)!!!

In recap, I just felt like a lazy, hungry COW. (Ugh I felt HUGE.) I hate that I was having those thoughts and feeling that way… But I am trying not to see it as a set back or even dwell too much on it. That is what the “bad voice” wants me to do. That is not, however, what Andrea wants to do. And Andrea is in charge here!!!

On to more important things… like Running, Socks, and Watches!!

I am running a few miles early this morning with some of the awesome ladies I have been mentioning! We are meeting at 5:45 at an awesome running and yoga store called Arete (and there is actually a really cool asterix thing over the last ‘e’ making the name even cooler)! I love how early these girls are willing to meet! I tentatively throw out 6am, thinking that would be pushing it in terms of the “morning hour”, and they text back hesitantly asking if I wouldn’t mind if we did 5:45am instead. Seriously, God meant for me to be running with this group! I NEVER mind an earlier meet time!

I got a great deal for some PROCompression gear from my Race Packet in Chicago! Naturally, I need to spend some money there STAT.

I only have had run/recovered in the knee length PROCompression socks… but I have really been looking into the sleeves lately. What are your thoughts/experience?

wpid-IMG_20130602_081042.jpg

I love the idea of sleeves so I can wear my own socks in my shoes… and sometimes I feel like the knee high socks are just too tall for me! Which is silly, because I myself am tall and all parts of my leg are very long and I got a small… but for some reason I like the idea of a shorter calf sleeve.

My main concern with the calf sleeve, however, is whether or not you still reap the same benefit. If the whole idea is to help blood circulation, if you just have the compression around the calf, will the blood not just pool in your feet?

ALSO….My GPS died on me a few weeks ago. Cue the devastating gasps.

Since then, I have been running with STRAVA on my phone. This actually works out really well because now that I am back to running super duper early in the dark, I must have my phone for safety reasons. So the STRAVA app gets the job done.

That said… Andrea misses her GPS.

Here is my question for you guys–

Should I get another Nike GPS, or Should I convert to the Garmin world (kinda like I converted from the android to iphone world)?

What is the best Garmin watch out there right now?

What do you run with?

Is there a better running app for your phone than STRAVA?

15 comments

  1. I run with the Garmin Forerunner 10, it’s super simple and just has all the basics on it, so naturally I’m in love with it ๐Ÿ™‚ Soooo I would say get a Garmin ;). I mean, if you like shorter compression socks, it wouldn’t hurt to try out some sleeves right?? I completely understand the body image, I use to be there. It gets better though!! It’s like anything, with practice you’ll only get better, it’s all about retraining how you think. I start to say something negative about myself, and immediately stop to turn it into something positive. Oh it’s hard, but I feel a lot better!

    1. Thanks so much for this!! Good to know it is like anything else… “train” to think differently!!
      Thanks for the garmin recommendation!

  2. Okay I have so many things to say and so little time. First, food. I was a hangry monster yesterday too. And you know what? It’s because of a little something called runger. It usually hits the day after a long run for me. That’s probably why you were so hungry yesterday. The need to make up for everything you burned (and in 20 miles, it would be hard to get enough food to replenish that) is bound to hit, but your stomach was probably feeling a little wonky after running so far. I know mine was all afternoon Sunday and I only did 10.

    As for compression sleeves/socks, I have heard sleeves are better for racing. HOWEVER, I personally sleep in the sleeves and race in the socks. I think you should give the sleeves a go. I actually prefer them!

    1. you rock Sarah.
      You are so right about the day after a long run… it seems from others comments that it is totally normal to just eat eat eat! and I deserve it!!!
      I think I am going to order a pair of sleeves!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I will let you know how I like them! Also… totally love that you wear them opposite what everyone else does. Seriously, makes me love you even more!

  3. I run with the Garmin 405. I have had it for almost 4 years and love it, but Garmin just came out with the 610 (I believe?!) that is totally cool. I really want to get it!
    I don’t use any running apps, I just rely on my Garmin!

    1. Wow Garmin 610 sounds INTENSE!! haha I would love to try it out ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I also did my long, 20 mile run the other day and repeatedly ate peanut butter with a spoon the following day. You just have to go with the flow and listen to your body. I know it seems like you’re eating too much, but it is what you need. You’ve been doing awesome, so don’t listen to that voice. It no longer serves whatever purpose it previously did.

    As for your other questions. I use the Garmin 10 also. I only recently started using anything though, so it’s the only thing I know. I really like and it is easy to use. I also wear compression sleeves. I’m really weird about my feet and decided they were the better option for me. No, the blood doesn’t pool in my feet.

    1. Thank you so much for this…. It helps so much hearing from someone else the things that I try and tell myself. I doubt the facts myself… but when you and other say them I believe them! You are right– don’t listen to that voice. Bad voice.
      Thank you so much for those words.. huge comfort.

      Everyone seems to like the Garmin.. I will probably go for a garmin on my next purchase!!

  5. Those “fat” days happen. We’re too hard on ourselves and sometimes we just feel blah. But it’s only a tiny moment and then you’re back to feel good and rationally knowing that you’re in a good shape and eating well most of the time. Don’t worry about it ๐Ÿ™‚

    I have been told that sleeves are for racing and socks are for recovery. So I guess take that for what it’s worth. I’ve never used sleeves but I have thought about buying a pair for races.

    I wear a Garmin Forerunner 10. It’s the most basic one but it really does everything I need it to. I love it. I can’t imagine running without it! Which is probably bad…but I do really like it ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. So right girl. I am shakin’ it off, staying excited over the great run, and moving on!!
      I think I am going to buy some sleeves…
      And i love how much you love your Garmin haha… there are worst things to be addicted to ๐Ÿ™‚ have a great week!

  6. I’ve heard STRAVA is great, but I just use Nike+ myself.

    It’s normal to graze constantly the day after a long run, especially a long RACE. You’ll feel better soon; cut yourself some slack. You burned like 1900 calories doing 20 miles! Your body needs it back!

    1. You are right! Evyerone is saying that the day or two after the run is when you are most hungry and trying to refuel! Good to know and helps me feel not alone in it! thanks for the reminder ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I’ve never had any other brand, but I am a pretty big Garmin fan ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. From talking around and these comments alone.. sounds like Garmin is the clear winner!! Ha looks like I will just have to check them out… ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. […] the day devouring every single complex carb I could find. Seriously… I mentioned this in an earlier post that the days after races I just crave pretzels, cereal, and other carb-snacky food ALL THE TIME. […]

Leave a Reply

