20 Mile’s of Endorphins

I love endorphins.

Seriously. LOVE.THEM.

Been on an endorphin high EVER SINCE my taxi picked me up at 5:45am from my friends house to take me to the start….

  • …EVER SINCE I walked to the start line with the sun barely coming up over Lake Michigan to the east.
  • …EVER SINCE the music was blaring and other runners were excitedly chatting, stretching, eating, drinking, and pooping (yes… of course. We all do it. Pre-race Jitters I like to call it… ๐Ÿ˜‰ )
  • …EVER SINCE I took off on the run with my pace group and fell right into stride.
  • …EVER SINCE I chatted it up non stop with my extremely attractive and funny pacer, Kevin (who of course has a girl friend).
  • …EVER SINCE I had so much fun the entire 20 miles and finished with a smile.

I did a pretty awful job of taking pictures (and especially an awful job of taking pictures with me in them) But here a is a little photo dump for ya!

The Beer Pong tournament was in full swing when I arrived in Chicago at 4pm!

20130923-052201.jpg

My best friend and her partner won the entire thing! It was taken very seriously… played “world cup” style. All the teams were Countries and had coordinating outfits. It was awesome.

20130923-052147.jpg

20130923-052215.jpg

I ran off to get a great chicken salad for dinner from the cutest hole-in-the-wall place with all organic everything!

20130923-052136.jpg

And here is my friends beautiful street!

20130923-052225.jpg

Because the girls day drank for hours and hours… everyone was passed out and in bed by 9pm! Score!!!

I was up at 5am, with the taxi picking me up at 5:45 to take me to the start.

20130923-052125.jpg

I was tired, slightly sad to be bymyself heading to this thing… but as I stepped out of the taxi to blaring music at the start line, I was loving it!

Also, this stellar free coffee cart at the start AND finish lines!

20130923-052117.jpg

Seriously, hanging out around with runners is just the greatest! People are so nice!

I headed out with the 8min/mi pace group. If I run 8’s for the marathon, this puts me at a 3.30.00 for 26.2 miles. I would be totally fine with that! So hung out with that group.

Here are our splits. As you can see, we were under 8 about the entire time.

Untitled

With 4 miles to go, one of the pacers asked if we wanted to take off with him and push it in.

Ahh I can never turn that down!!! So of course I went too. (So easily convinced…)

The last few miles felt great!

I talked the entire way and kind of wondered if everyone around me wanted to trip me so I would shut up and get out of their lives… but the pacers loved to have someone to talk to a think (that is what I am telling myself!)

We finished with 7.29 min/mi average.

20130923-052102.jpg

I cannot emphasis how pumped this made me for the Marathon! It also really made me wish I was doing the Chicago Marathon that is just in a few weeks! Running along Lakeshore Drive was incredible!!

20130923-052050.jpg

Yesterday’s run also planted a little seed in my head….

maybe… just maybe… I could qualify for Boston.

If I can hold sub 8’s… it just might happen??

We will see. Most important thing is to have fun and try hard ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a great Monday and set the standard for the rest of the week!!

How were your long runs/workouts/rest days/races/ WHATEVER!!

What is happening in October that you are most excited for?!

20 comments

  1. pickyrunner · · Reply

    With times like those you wil quality for Boston. I am so happy for you and you are one speedy runner! I don’t think I would have the energy to run 6:30 miles after running that much! I’m glad you listened to your body because honestly, that’s what will get you to the Finish line, not any one run can do that for you.

  2. Runner Girl Eats · · Reply

    CONGRATS!! What a great run and fun weekend ๐Ÿ™‚ You can most certainly BQ with times like that!

  3. Amazing, but not surprised! I would, however, be surprised if you didn’t qualify for Boston. You’re always so speedy.

  4. Way to go girl!!! You are making me want to switch back to doing long distance more and more!!! Seriously, those times are amazing. And I’m pretty sure you’ll make it to Boston :). Hey, you could always sign up for the Chicago Marathon! My “long run” was 2 miles this weekend, but I worked on speed.

  5. Awesome job! Sounds like a great weekend, and I definitely see Boston in your future!

  6. Awesome!!! man, i am really missing running right now. You totally kicked that 20 miles’ butt! Nice work ๐Ÿ™‚
    that would be incredible if you qualified for Boston- I definitely think you can do it!

  7. Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures · · Reply

    Holy wow your pace is amazing!!! I think you could qualify for Boston! That’s amazing!! Looks like a great weekend – glad you decided to go! I have never been to Chicago and it’s on my list of places to go NEXT! AHhh!

  8. […] knew that taking a day of recovery after Sunday was smart, the right thing to do, help me recover faster, and make the rest of my runs this week […]

  9. You are amazingly fast!! I would look like a snail next to you! Congrats! I had a horrible long run on Sunday, I have been dealing with an IT band issue over the last week or so. It started with my 20 miler over a week ago.
    What I am looking forward to in October…I will running my first Full Marathon!! Yay!!

    1. Aww you are sweet thanks so much!!
      So sorry about the IT Band– those are so difficult to deal with!! Hope it feels better soon!
      YAY FOR YOUR FIRST MARATHON!!!

  10. Holy bananas woman you are fast! Is this your first marathon? (I’m a new reader so just catching up) If so I know you will rock it!!

    1. Hi and welcome and THANK YOU!!! haha no this will be my 2nd marathon! I did my first and only 2 years ago and LOVED EVERY SECOND!! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Hope you like the blog! Thanks for reading! Have a great week!

      1. I do! It’s wonderful! Keep on inspiring us! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. holy crap. You are sooo fast!!! I’m so impressed! Girl, there’s no way I could keep up with you. And you can TOTALLY qualify for Boston. You are so amazing. My little mind is blown out here in Utah.I’m soo glad you had such a good race! It sounds so fun ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. ahhh thankss Alyssa!! I hope so! I think if I feel good and the stars align, then maybe I can qualify!? whatever we will see!!

  12. WOW what a great pace and race! Glad you had a blast!!!

    1. Thanks girl! it really WAS a blast! ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. […] shirts. I am a tank-top or long sleeve gal. I have to admit, it was fun to get to show off wear my CARA 20 Miler shirt I got the other […]

  14. […] your favorite movie?” I had so many. But here are some top ones–Trail Run(s), Chicago 20 Miler, This […]

Leave a Reply

