Lets Do It! My Plan of Attack…

I loved hearing (reading?) all of your advice and thoughts yesterday on the 20 mile Sunday race in Chicago!

I thought about it… thought about it… thought a little more… then, it just hit me as I was eatin’ a delicious bowl of Kashi/Chex cereal with a few apples and a couple spoonfuls of crunchy PB and a few homemade granola cookies (wow that is quite the breakfast, eh?)::

I totally want to do this race and I am smiling just thinking about it!

Therefore, I signed up! I always get that tingly, nervous feeling right after I have entered my credit card information before I click SUBMIT. My heart rate literally speeds up… so exciting signing up for a race!

My plan of attack for Sunday?

  • There are pace groups and I plan on settling in with one and start talking to the others around me!
  • Practice my fueling- Work on taking Shot-bloks and/or Clif Bars with Gatorade/Nuun tablets and see how I feel!
  • Watch the sun rise over Lake Michigan– I am seriously most excited for this!
  • Dream the entire run about the wonderful brunch I will be having with my two best friends as soon as the run is over!!
  • NOT think about anything regarding school, work, stress, disordered eating, body image, weight-grain, etc. No room for negative thoughts like that in my head!
  • Stay safe, run smart, listen to my body…
  • HAVE A GREAT TIME 🙂

Knowing I would be gone from Saturday afternoon to Sunday afternoon… I got to work yesterday on papers/projects/studying to try and lighten-the-load for this weekend and next week. I also plan on being so ridiculously productive today it aint even funny. (I mean, that is always the goal, right?) But no really… I plan to kick some butt today and make lots of check-marks in my planner (such a great feeling)!

I am leaving on a run this morning, solo, and while I am looking forward to some ‘me’ time and going exactly what pace I want... I can tell I will quickly miss the laughing and randomness that running with the other ladies brings!

Hoping for a great run anyways! And SAFETY! Always safety… its a scary world out there for an early runner!

Have a day full of positive thoughts and smiles! ITS FRIDAY!!!

Favorite cereal??

Any other ideas for my Sunday Run approach? What do you guys think about running?

18 comments

  1. Looks like you have a good plan in place for Chicago on Sunday. I’m sure you will do very well and meet your goals. As for cereal: Post Grape Nuts Fit, Cranberry Vanilla with unsweetened almond milk.

    1. Oh I love grape nuts!! And love what you pair with it! I do almond milk too but the cranberry vanilla sounds amazing to add!!!

  2. pickyrunner · · Reply

    Yayyyyy so excited for you and I CANNOT WAIT to hear how it goes 🙂

    1. Thanks Sarah!!! I will give a good recap! Have a great weekend!!

  3. Love your positivity about the race!! I can’t wait to see how it all goes!! I love being able to check off things or put a line through it, I think its the main reason I make lists hahaha, plus it helps me be productive. Have a great weekend and enjoy your race :)!!

    1. haha exactly!!! I put easy/silly things on my lists too just so I can check them off!! Feels great to! 🙂 Have a good weekend!!

  4. Yay! Glad you’re doing the race! I’m sure it’ll be amazing!

    Favorite cereal – Lucky Charms, but it’s basically all sugar so I haven’t had it in years.

    1. Thanks so much!!
      Oh Lucky Charms are a classic! Always a great great choice!! If they are offered somewhere… i always get a little bowl 🙂

  5. I’m so excited for you!! I think it’s awesome that you decided to sign up for the race!! Your plan of attack sounds great too! Good luck!!!!!!!

    1. Thank you!! I am excited and ready to have fun with it! 🙂 Have a great weekend Rock Climbing!!!

  6. I’m trying to get caught up on blogs and I’ve loved your posts this week! I’m so excited for this race!! Also, good luck getting good sleep. Yikes! Can’t wait to hear about this race. It sounds great and so pretty.

    1. Thanks girl!! I am very excited for it!! hopefully the weather is great and it will be pretty! And I pray for some good sleep too haha they have a big apartment so maybe I can find a quiet room??? Oh well… learning to go with the flow! Have a great weekend!

  7. yay– have a great race!! enjoy it, drink in every moment and good luck!!

    1. Well said! and Will do!! 🙂

  8. Hope you have a great race! It’s awesome that you can face it all with so much positivity and I wish I could be as productive as you. This serious procrastinator definitely has to work on her productivity.

    1. haha thanks!! And oh girl… I promise I am a GREAT procrastinator!! Just got lucky the last 2 days ((the run as a motivator!)) to get stuff done!! Hope you have a great weekend!!

  9. […] last night because I was seeing patients with my dad this morning and because I was leaving for Chicago (!!) this afternoon. As I was lazying around on the couch, full from dinner and tired from the week… I decided I […]

  10. […] got a great deal for some PROCompression gear from my Race Packet in Chicago! Naturally, I need to spend some money there […]

Leave a Reply

