Early Run’s and Thankful Thursday’s

A 5:45am run with three lovely ladies to start my day!! The earlier the better ๐Ÿ™‚ Another slow run ((I seem to have lots of these lately)) but that is ok… I am thinking tomorrow I might do a solo run and pick up the pace a bit on a tempo run or something. But I am loving the early morning running company- so the slower pace is fine!!

Running friends are special relationships. This also made me think of the times my husband hung in there with me for a run or followed along with me on his bike for my longer runs.

**Ok… so I still can’t sleep that well and am up before then… so my day actually started with me pouring over pages and pages of Environmental Management terms and laws for my exam this morning! Wish me Luck! Running will help kick start the brain and provide me with all the answers, right?!?

This song is by no means new, but I am obsessed with it lately none the less– Give Me Love by Ed Sheeran. Oh my gosh I love this song… please hold out until the end when it gets all amazing….

Also, in case you are looking for some other good ones.. (I know I am always searching for new artists!)

First time ever posting a video (even though It is from You Tube, not me.. So no idea of that worked or not. Whatever, we will see!

No, I have not made a decision yet regarding the Chicago 20 Miler this Sunday! The day is still young! I have until midnight to decide!! I loved hearing your suggestions! It seriously was very helpful! Many of you were along the lines of…”If I think I can go out there and run it for FUN and not race it… then go for it and enjoy being with tons of other Chicago runners!” I really do think I can use it as a trainer. I have really developed that skill in the last month or so. It is so great not treating every run like it is a race!

I have not a Thankful Thursday in a while! I had done them way back when… But some how I got away from it, and that kind of makes me sad! I think it is great to remember that we are all blessed every time we roll out of bed each morning!

  1. Family. This one will be on my list every single time. I honestly have the greatest and most supported family. Even on my worst days, they love me. And I can get kind of nasty on my bad days!! I don’t even like to be around me…
  2. My legs. Running is such a part of my life. I love it for so many reasons…a man in my apartment complex has absolutely no legs, only a torso and arms. And he is the most independent man I have ever seen (He drives everyday by crawling in through his trunk and using his arms with extended pads on them to work the peddles and a special “car seat” to prop him up. And he doesn’t have a handicap sticker or anything. He and people like him are the most inspirational and strongest people out there. Truly amazing.
  3. Fall mornings! Gosh I love the cool weather for so many reasons!
  4. Running groups! I just realized that my last 5 or 6 runs have all been with other people! I went from a girl that ran 100% of the time solo, wishing she had a running group, to finding people/being invited by people, to run every day. That was one of my biggest prayers when I started back at school… and God has answered it in a huge way!
  5. Apples and Coffee. These are essential parts of my day ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a great wonderful full-of-love Thursday everyone! Be Thankful ๐Ÿ™‚

What is one thing you are Thankful for this morning?

What is your weekend running/social schedule like!!

16 comments

  1. All great things to be thankful for! I am loving the fall weather too- we keep getting random hot days, but today’s high is only 70! Love it!
    Good luck with the race decision!

    1. Ya those random hot days seem to occur until November or december sometimes!!!

  2. I am completely obsessed with Royals by Lorde!! Such a great mellow song, but it’s also upbeat, well in my eyes haha. Love this fall weather!! I can’t wait to get more of it ๐Ÿ™‚ Possibly a run that I’m enjoying a lot lately – I just hop on the treadmill, and every 1/2 mile I up the speed. It’s a fun challenge for me. Possibly might be seeing an old friend, haven’t seen or really talked to him in 4 years. And maybe hang out with a girlfriend, we haven’t had much time to just sit and talk and laugh over things. Have a great day ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Oh fun weekend plans!! Love seeing old friends! And that is my go to treadmill workout if I have to run on the TM!! Great choice! ๐Ÿ™‚ Have fun this weekend!

  3. pickyrunner · · Reply

    I’m really excited for you that you’re loving running with people. Honestly, if it’s not a speed workout, pace doesn’t matter at all. It’s actually better to run way slower than normal so I find group running helpful to keep me from going too fast! That’s a great list of things to be thankful for and I bet it will help you keep everything in perspective as you make a decision about that race!

    1. You are definitely right!! group running has been great and fantastic practice for me to enjoy the run and go slow!!!

  4. I’m probably in the minority but I’d suggest you skip the Chicago run and concentrate on your school work. How long is the drive from Bloomington to Chicago? Perhaps you could hook up with your trail running partner and go for a long run. If school wasn’t a part of the deal I’d say do Chicago. In the long run (no pun intended) only you can decide what’s best.

    1. I have been working hard to get a jump start on the school work for next week. I am a VERY diligent, serious student, and part of what my therapist and parents discuss with me is to relax with the whole idea of “grades” and to instead think about “learning”… anyways I am trying to enjoy life more and while it seems backward… for me that is loosening up a bit on school and grades. I know it sounds bad (like I am not taking it seriously) but I most definitely do!!
      Anyways, thanks for your thoughts and opinions ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a great weekend!

  5. Great music choices-we like the same kind of stuff! Since I’ve been running with my marathon training group, I LOVE running with people. I also have stopped running with music.

    1. Oh great! Glad you have a marathon training group!! And I have stopped the music thing too!! I love it!! Have a great weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I meant to be out at 545 running this morning BUT my alarm never went off. Thankfully, my internal clock always wakes me up no later than 6, so I was able to get up, squeeze in a run, and get to class on time. Today, I am thankful for having multiple jobs when some people have none.

    Tomorrow is the one-year anniversary of me getting my heart broken, so I’m celebrating it by celebrating me. I’m going to go to the mall with a friend and probably go out and drink that night ๐Ÿ™‚ Then, saturday, I’m running a speed session, working, and then doing whatever I want ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. Girl, you rock! I love your “thankful” for today… and I love your women power!!! Have the bestest of time and celebrate being wonderful and beautiful ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Lorde is so fun. I also am loving Chvrches right now, and Bastille!

    1. Ohhh thanks for more music suggestions!!! LOVE MUSIC!!!

  8. I’ve been adddicted to this song BIG time for the last 3 months! I SUPER love all of Ed Sheeran’s music- it’s ahhhhhmazing!!!!

    1. yayyyyy love it!! So good!

Leave a Reply

