Decisions, Decisions…Racing Pro’s and Con’s

So I am getting antsy without a race. Yes, I know I have the Richmond Marathon in November… But that is November people. This is September. Looong ways off!

I found a 20 miler “Training Run/Race” in Chicago this Sunday! Its primary purpose is for the Chicago Marathoners to put in a last long run together before the marathon in October, but obviously it is open to everyone.

It is point-to-point, running along the water the entire way! I love running in Chicago!

Pro’s

  1. I love to run.
  2. I want to put in a long run anyways this weekend… might as well do it with a bunch of other people?
  3. “Free” shirt. Yes, I still think of them as ‘free’ even though it cost me an arm and leg for the entry fee.
  4. Great practice for getting my fueling routine down before Richmond.
  5. I can stay with my best friends for free who happen to be hosting a Beer Pong Tournament Saturday!
  6. I mean, why not run it, right??

Con’s

  1. It is going to be FREEZING at the 6:30am start.
  2. It is always a little sad/depressing waking up at the butt-crack of dawn by yourself to go to a race by yourself. I love having at least one other person…
  3. School work. Blehh. Driving to and from Chicago will take up precious study/work time. I have lots of exams/papers/assignments due next week… meaning I will have to be extra productive this week and the little time I will have on Saturday.
  4. Will I get awful sleep Saturday with the beer pong tourney going on? ((Do I care?)) Ya I probably do a little… maybe this isn’t a Con but more of an annoyance.

I need to decide by Tomorrow (Thursday!) because that is when online registration ends!!

In other News–

Yesterday I got in a great 50 minute chest/shoulder workout. Muscles were screaming! I hadn’t done weights in a while… so it felt great!

I had to miss Bible Study last night due to studying for Environmental Management. Lame.

This morning I ran at 6 am with some girls! Yay! It was slow…but that is OK! It is just about getting out there and gettin’ ‘er done and enjoying the morning, right! The girls are just the nicest people!!

Have a FABULOUS DAY FRIENDS!!!!

What are your thoughts on Running the 20 miler in Chicago Sunday??

Has Fall weather reached your neck of the woods yet??

25 comments

  1. pickyrunner · · Reply

    Hmmm this is a tough decision. I think the question to ask is whether you think you’ll be able to run it at a training pace or if you’ll race it. I know I personally have a tendency to race in those situations even if I say I won’t. Racing it won’t help you but it would be a fun way to get the miles in! Basically out if this ramble I’ve provided you with nothing useful haha do what your heart tells you feel down!

    1. yep- great question. I really think I will be able to run it as a training run. They have pacers. that would be fun to stick with a group the whole way, you know?
      hahaha no no you DEFINITELY provided me with some food for thought ๐Ÿ™‚ You always help Sarah!!! haha

  2. I agree with Sarah. If you can pace yourself for this run and NOT necessarily “race” it, do it. That is, unless you think that driving to and from Chicago will cut down on your study time or just be too much of a burden. In which case I don’t think you should do it. I do love Chicago, though!

    1. Yep i think I will have to think about what I want out of it– but i really do think i can just relax and run it. I have really learned that these past months!!! Chicago is great too and i would lvoe to go!!

  3. What are you going to grad school for? I saw you’re taking an environmental management course and that’s definitely something I’m thinking of pursuing in the future.

    1. I am in a dual masters of Public Affairs and Environmental Science!! Totally let me know if you need help or info on it or anything!!!!

  4. If something was going to interfere with my sleep, I would be saying no haha but that’s just me, I love my sleep. But I do agree with you wanting to get a race in before the BIG race. Yay for a morning run!! Those are always the best, especially if you can enjoy them outside ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. I HATE having people or things or noises in my life when I am trying to sleep. I feel ya girl!!!! sleep is important even though I can never seem to get enough of it!!!

  5. Just be careful! I am hurt right now because I pushed too much and now I’m sitting on the side lines, probably not running my first marathon, and reading running blogs all day. You are going to rock the marathon in November! Fall is coming here in Missouri! We were in the 90’s last week but now it’s rainy and I think I see fall coming!

    1. Aww girl I am sorry!! Thanks so much I will DEFINITELY keep that in mind… the last thing I want is to hurt myself!!! Thanks for the reminder!!! I hope you heal fast!!!
      Oh great! Fall time is always exciting after a hot summer!!!

  6. I’m doing a race this weekend to break up the training for Richmond as well. Mine will just be a half marathon though. To me I am just getting so bored with my Saturday long runs by myself that I needed a chance to run with people on a new route. I think that as long as you pay attention to your pace and keep in mind that this run isn’t your ultimate goal you will be fine. Also, since it sounds like a lot of the participants are doing this as a training run for a future marathon too, I am sure there are a lot of people who will be pacing themselves properly who you can fall into stride with. Ultimately though, just do what feels right for you!

    1. Yes that is how I feel!!! Good luck on your half! That will be fun!!
      Ya I think that i can just drop in with a lot of “trainees” and run it for fun and just so i know longer have to suffer through another long run solo haha… boring!!!

      1. Just read your post saying you decided to go for it so good luck! And, most importantly, have fun!

      2. Thank you so much! Yep, you got it right! I’m going to have fun out there and enjoy running ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a great weekend!

  7. I run with a lot of people who do CARA weekend long runs regularly and they LOVE it. I’m always telling myself to get out there and do it with them but I just can’t do weekend mornings (5 days a week is enough!). I usually end up doing the same run by myself 2 hours later haha. But the lakefront is seriously one of my favorite places to run.

    Not to be a huge creep, but if you’re ever in Chicago and want a running partner (maybe not at the butt-crack of dawn)… I run sorta like, all the time! lol

    1. Oh my gosh that is so good to hear positive feedback!!!
      Ok and NOT CREEP AT ALL!! Next time I am there visiting friends and what not, I will definitely tell you and we can go on a lovely waterfront run and then out to brunch with my friends ๐Ÿ™‚
      Yes a 6:30 start time IS early haha…
      But I think I am goign to do it! I am excited by the fun you said your friends have had!!!

      1. running and brunch… what a winning combo! i’m excited… wahooooo ๐Ÿ˜€

        glad you’re going to do the CARA run though. looking forward to hearing if you like it or not!

  8. Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures · · Reply

    Ahh that’s such a tough call!
    I’d do the race if you can overlook the cons – I think I would overlook them except for the being alone part. I couldn’t agree more about that being kind of sucky… But once you’re in the race, you’ll be happy you’re there.
    BUT, if you don’t go, you’ll enjoy your long run just as much and the comfort of your home to do homework and other things. ๐Ÿ™‚
    But, beer pong tourney? Hmm… YOLO, right? <<< hahahaha
    Can't wait to hear what you decide to do!! Good luck, I realize this was no help AT ALL, my apologies. LOL!

    1. haha YOLO!! you would totally love and get along great with my friends ๐Ÿ™‚
      You make a good case for both points… grrrr I wish you would have decided for me!!! hahah
      I will let you know tomorrow if I sign up or not!!!
      (((i am kinda leaning toward yes!?)))

  9. Ooh, I think that race sounds so fun! I’d totally do it. It’s a long distance to not have a cheering section, but I think if I were due for a 20 miler and had that race nearby, I’d do it. I love that you got to run with some girls!! Hooray, running buddy!!

    1. haha Thanks for a straight forward opinion!!! Love that you are able to make decisions!!! I need some of that in my life!!

  10. Can’t wait to hear what you decide about the chicago race. It sounds really awesome to me, but I totally hear ya on the alone thing…I like having at least one supporter!

    1. I know… I like having just 1 person at the start line to wave to! But then again… runners just about the nicest most welcoming people! I bet I could just start chatting with some of them in the pace group! Bahh we will see– i have till the end of today to decide!!

  11. […] I have not made a decision yet regarding the Chicago 20 Miler this Sunday! The day is still young! I have until midnight to decide!! I loved hearing your suggestions! It […]

  12. […] I loved hearing (reading?) all of your advice and thoughts yesterday on the 20 mile Sunday race in Chicago! […]

Leave a Reply

