The Hardest Thing To Do.

One of the hardest things to do… is to Love ourselves.

I need to remember this!

I just wanted to share how perfect this devotional was that I read a couple days ago. It literally is so applicable to my life (and I think to everyone’s) that I have it sticky-noted on my phone and constantly read it throughout the day!

Here it is:

“God never intended for you to feel bad about yourself.  He wants you to know yourself well and yet accept yourself.  You must be able to say, “I can love what God can love.  I don’t love everything I do, but I accept myself because God accepts me.” God is changing you daily.  Ask Him to help you accept and love yourself in spite of your imperfections.

We ALL have imperfections… things we wish we could change or do away with completely. Sometimes they are physical attributes… sometimes emotional… sometimes mental.

I think it is important to remember it is not just you, as well as these other “tidbits”:

1.) Never feel alone in feeling “less than perfect.” I don’t know a single “perfect” person. Not.A.One.
I do know, however, a million and one men and women who are confronted daily by their insecurities.

2.) There are so so many wonderful, beautiful women who love themselves and are confident in who they are. It does not mean that they had no insecurities to mentally get past. It means they were able to conquer those insecurities and learn to love ALL of themselves– those “flaws” included. That is truly a beautiful thing.

3.) When your mind starts wandering to all these negative places…Stop the wandering immediately. Text/call someone, turn on music really really loudly, go for a walk (or any relaxing exercise), do something nice for someone else (volunteer, mow a neighbors yard, write a letter to a friend, buy flowers for your significant other), and/or start one of your Pintrest projects you Pinned months ago.

4.) Lastly, remember God, your family, and your friends LOVE YOU. The flaws that we all see in ourselves… that don’t even notice or care. They love us… inside and out… through the good and bad… If other people can be so forgiving of our shortcomings, shouldn’t we be that to ourselves?

It's not selfish to love yourself, take care of yourself, and to make your happiness a priority. It's necessary.

I hope you guys have a wonderful day and are JOYFUL and full of LOVE for yourself and others!!

What do you do when you are feeling critical/down/sad about yourself?

What is your FAVORITE activity to do!?!

11 comments

  1. pickyrunner · · Reply

    LOVE this post girl! it’s so hard to do- you’re right. I struggle with the idea that I’m not perfect (I have very unreasonable expectations for myself) but luckily having that support and running really helps a lot.

  2. Love this! It took me years to truly love myself and I don’t think you can share your life with another person if you do not truly love yourself. Whenever I’m feeling down, I find something I love about myself and that I know others love about me and focus on that. Running is obviously my favorite activity…eating is second.

    1. haha Love that— “Running is obviously my favorite activity… eating is second”
      ❤ have a great night!!

  3. This is a great post! I definitely get down on myself, but when that happens I make a conscious effort to remember things that I am proud of that I’ve done this past year. That helps me to remember that I am stronger than I think I am, and strength is something to celebrate.

    1. That is a great way to thin about it!!! 🙂

  4. This is a great post. I feel like running attracts the same “Type A” personalities that naturally have that “perfectionist” nature… thanks for the reminder to just chill out! 🙂 In all seriousness though, I know I sometimes do need that reminder!

    1. Yes i totally agree with running and the “type” of person that is in love with it!! Can be hard to remember to chill out and enjoy life sometimes “)

  5. Whenever I’m feeling down and having a pity party…maybe my foot is hurting and I’m unable to run as far of fast as I’d like…I’ll see a young person in a wheelchair who will never run….or someone my age who needs oxygen daily to breath. At those time I’ll thank God for all the things in my life that I take for granted… my health…family…friends…my ability to run. The things we take for granted…the things we enjoy doing…they can be taken away from us in an instant. We’ve seen it in Newtown, Connecticut….we saw it yesterday in Washington, DC. Life is too short to be concerned about minor imperfections.

    1. That is such a great point to make and such an important reminder to have… Thanks for that 🙂

  6. Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures · · Reply

    I feel like every time I come over and check in on your beautiful blog, I am filled with such a positive feeling. Your posts have been so delightful to read lately. I haven’t commented on many but I’m still here looking! 🙂 You’re really fantastic my friend and your energy is so wonderful. It’s taken me many years to be able to be happy with myself but being in this place is such a great feeling and I’m grateful to have this self love and appreciation. No, not every waking moment is a love fest with myself, but 95% of the time, it is. 🙂 Have a wonderful day my friend!

    1. You are too sweet! No seriously… i am obsessed with you guys and your posts 🙂 same here– i read yours everyday!! makes me happy 🙂
      So great to hear how you have learned to love yourself! So inspiring girl… thanks and keeping being youu!!!

Leave a Reply

