The Beauty of Trail Running

I was able to trail run 9 miles Saturday and 10 miles Sunday at different locations.

And you know what I learned?

Trail Running is a beautiful thing…

I think I smiled the entire run… I was just so happy and thankful to God that I had the ability to get out there and do something that is so beautiful… Running is beautiful, enjoying the silence of nature is beautiful… running as the sunrises is beautiful… hearing your breathing perfectly in tune with the pounding of your feet is beautiful…

I have found my new love.

20130915-171224.jpg

Early morning, heading to the trails

20130915-171218.jpg

Brown County at the end of the 10 miler

You know how I mentioned a few posts ago that I seem to go through workout waves of running and lifting? Some weeks I am just down right obsessed with weight lifting and feeling the burnnnn! Other weeks… it is all about the run.

This week was a running week. I just couldn’t get enough!

  • Monday– 5.4 miles with BARA running group!
  • Tuesday– 5.75 miles in between classes on what was the most humid day of my life.
  • Wednesday– 6 miles at 6:30 am with a 4 new friends from Bible Study and BARA!!
  • Thursday– Off.
  • Friday--8.5 mile tempo at 6:15 am. Felt great !! It was a beautiful morning!
  • Saturday– 9 mile Trail Run with new running friend Chris (whom I met Monday)! ((It is known in these here parts as having some of the hardest hills… so of course I LOVE IT!))
  • Sunday–10 mile Trail Run at Brown County State Park, again with Chris. It was absolutely gorgeous. I felt so alive…
  • Total Miles– 44

The trail runs were absolutely incredible (hence doing them 2 days in a row) and were definitely the highlight of my week!!

I felt so alive…

You guys know my love for hills. And the trails provided plenty!! The other great thing about trail running, is that time and pace are meaningless! Who cares how fast you run? Every trail is so different that it means nothing! I love that!! I just ran comfortable and fun! I felt like I could have gone on forever!!

We did both of the trail runs early in the morning… it was actually really cold and we could see our breaths!! I was not ready for that! But of course it meant it was perfect running weather!

I wiped out on Saturday, face planting on a downhill. It is seriously by the Grace of God that I didn’t permanently injure myself. I scraped my self up and have some great bruises developing… but absolutely ZERO bone/muscle/tendon injuries. Relief!!

20130914-110510.jpg

Bloody Knee=Great Run

20130914-110518.jpg

Obviously this is my ‘hardcore’ face

20130915-214729.jpg

This actually hurt the worst! Hard to do push-ups now!!

I came home and fueled with a piece of toast with egg/spinach/tomato/onion… a long with apples (!!!) Special K chips, english muffin with peanutbutter, kashi cereal, 2 greek yogurts, and like 5 oatmeal chocolate cookies I made…. I am not exaggerating at all… I ate all of this when I came home. It took me about 2 hours straight to get through it all. I just didn’t stop…

20130915-171211.jpg

Ok this tasted a lot better than it looked… promise….

To Recap–

  • I am obsessed with running this week… trail running to be exact… and I eat so freaking much when I am done.

Boom!

Have a Magnificent Monday my friends!

Do you guys like to trail run??

Tell me about your greatest run this past week/weekend!!

22 comments

  1. pickyrunner · · Reply

    Aw I’m so happy for you!!!! It seems like life is really going well for you and it’s awesome that you’re making new running friends, finding those workouts you’re passionate about, and fueling right for your runs! Love love loveeeeee this!

    1. Thanks so much Sarah!!! I am loving running with others and changing up my routine and everything! it is really making everything much happier!! School still sucks– really kicking into gear now– but I am just trying to go with the flow!!

  2. ah this is awesome. i miss trail running so much… since moving to the city (without a car) it’s been pretty much all pavement for me! i miss the hills and the trees and the “time and pace are meaningless” feeling lol.

    ps – those are some pretty solid bruises you’ve got going on. is it just me, or do you feel sort of legit when you have a few battle wounds? haha

    1. haha YES i totally love the battle wounds feeling ๐Ÿ™‚ Hey are by any chance running the Magellan Ready to Run 20 Miler in Chicago this Sunday?? I am just using it as a training run… but didn’t know if anyone else is doing it in the area!!

  3. Looks to me like someone is going to be buying some trail running shoes and getting a subscription to Trail Runner Magazine.

    1. hahaha YEP!!! already got the Salomon trail runners…. but you are right– trail runner mag is a MUST now!!

  4. I have always wished I had a trail near me! I can’t get enough of nature, it’s just so beautiful. It always makes me feel so lucky to see it all. Geez girl!!! Those are some major bruise and scraps!! Thank god nothing worse happened ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Running in nature is wonderful!!
      I am VERY happy and thankful that I did not REALLY hurt myself!! that would have been a real bummer if i had to take time off!!!
      Hope you find a trail in the coming weekends before winter!!

  5. That leg!!! I’m so glad that you’re okay and it was just some scrapes and bruises! That looks painful! I have only run on a trail once or twice and it’s definitely a different experience and super beautiful. My long run last week was really good and I placed 4th in my age group at the 5k I ran on Saturday, so that was fun!

    1. YAYYY on your race!! way to go!!!
      Leg is doing fine and looking nice a purdy ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. ouch! that was a serious fall- you are way more scraped up than I am from my bike fall!
    I found my love for trail running since moving to CO too…awesome right? You are going to love it out here!

    1. Your bike fall sounds scary!!! bike wrecks make me so nervous… especially mountain biking! You are lucky you are alright!! ((me too i guess haha))
      Bahh tell me about it! I can’t wait to get out there! I will be there the weekend of Nov. 6-9 for to meet with a panel of potential employers in Denver– Let me know if you are looking for a coffee date!

      1. Coffee date would be awesome! keep me posted!

  7. I’ve never been trail running because i AM afraid I would wipe out and break every bone in my body, but I’ve heard great things about it! It’s also supposed to be better on your knees than running on concrete. win-win!

    1. Yes that is always a fear! Take it slow ๐Ÿ™‚
      My knees feel so much better on the trails… and I was able to go multiple days in a row without pain which never happens!!

  8. I love trail running! It’s so different…time and pace aren’t nearly as important, and it’s just so distracting and beautiful. I wish I had trails around me :o(

    1. Yes exactly! time and pace don’t matter!! it is a good lesson to remember!! Hope you find some trails one weekend before winter!!

  9. Nothing like running the rear the head of the hunger beast!!
    OUCH! SOOO glad you aren’t hurt- those are some pretty beastly war-wounds!! Crazy!

    1. Thanks! I am pretty proud of them ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. […] I plan on heading out to the trails however! I am so excited just typing it! Sunday I would like to head back to My Hill. Yes, it is […]

  11. […] “What’s your favorite movie?” I had so many. But here are some top ones–Trail Run(s), Chicago 20 Miler, This […]

Leave a Reply

