Forcing Activity

I am all about thedo what you want to do“… “go with how you feel“….”don’t feel the pressure to do {insert activity}”

BUT (there is always a but in these sort of things…)

…there are times when we need to step up and participate in things that are not exactly what we think we want to do…. things that are maybe outside of our normal, routine, comfort zone.

Lets take ME for instance— I love nothing more than snuggling up on my coach, contacts out and glasses on, after a long day and turning on the T.V to find a Harry Potter marathon is on ABC Family. Getting me out of the house for a night on the town?? Good luck!!

WOW. Yep… I would never ever leave this place….

Last year, I fell into the trap of holing up in my apartment and truly living the definition of anti-social. I took school way to seriously… I was 100% focused on working-out and what I was (and was not) eating. It consumed my every thought and every ounce of energy, every day. I didn’t have time for “going out”.

I was alone, and LONELY.

I like being alone but I hate being lonely

This year is different.

1. Having discussed this with my therapist and parents, we definitely decided that I need to make a life here in Bloomington, IN. I can’t think of it solely as a means-to-an-end (get the degree and get out). While I have no intention on living here after my grad program, while I am here for another year and some I need to make a life. Joining clubs, bible study, lunches/dinners out, movies, cooking-parties, yoga-classes, football games, tailgating, etc.

2. As I recover from disordered eating and give myself the nutrients I need to get stronger and more powerful (these are my key words!) I will regain confidence, energy, and the desire to spend more time out of my little bubble. I can’t tell you how many times last year I would promise people I would go out- meet them for dinner, meet them at a bar… and I would last second back out. Every.Time. I would build it up in my mind as a HUGE deal that required so much energy– to look nice, leave the house, to fight the urge to resist “greasy-but-yummy” food, and to try and be relaxed while being the only one not drinking. It. Was. Exhausting.

3. Since being back, I have “forced the activity” a few times–no, I am not foregoing every alone time completely and neglecting studying– and you know what?? Once I am out of the house and “there”, I have a great time! I need to Force it and go, even for just a little, because it is almost always more fun then I thought it would be! I have met friends at bars a few times already this year, gone to a tailgate or two, become a regular at a Bible Study, worked-out regularly with Josh, ran with a new running club, and even just maintained more of a “presence” on campus in our Grad building.

Throughout these activities, I have realized the absolute necessity of human interaction (not through studying/school work), especially for someone like me who lives alone and is prone to hibernating habits!

The simplest things make the most sense. Enjoy your day!

Alone time is great. Alone time is important to your health–spiritual, mental, physical. I will always cherish and love time to myself. And on days/nights that I really don’t want to tackle the dramatic social world, then I won’t– And I don’t think you should ever do something you are really really not wanting to do… but I am learning that every once in a while, I need to remember to get out and interact! It won’t kill me, I don’t have to stay out all night… but show up and be a presence!

Have a Great Tuesday!

What do you make yourself do that is outside of your comfort zone?

Coffee or Tea??

-I am coffee through and through… but can’t deny that lately I have also started getting on a Green Tea kick! yummm!

14 comments

  1. It’s great to see you getting out and meeting people and enjoying your surroundings…life isn’t a spectator sport. Coffee for me first thing in the morning or later on in the afternoon if I’m at a bookstore browsing. In the evening I like green tea sometimes with a dollop of honey. How long does it take you to run from the bottom of that hill to the top?

    1. Thanks! Yes, bookstores and coffee are a must combo for me as well!
      The Hill takes me 1min50secs from bottom to top.

  2. pickyrunner · · Reply

    This is exactly what I struggle with too, actually. I like to be alone and I will fester in it if I do for too long. The more time we spend by ourselves, the less likely we are to want to go out which isn’t good either. I’m so glad you’re forcing yourself out of your shell- I’m realizing that the more you do it, the easier it is to go out next time! But if I had a couch like that one in the first picture, I wouldn’t leave my house. People would have to come to me.

    1. Yes exactly!! staying in only makes it harder to get myself out next time
      oh no kidding!! if you had a couch like that, i am betting everyone and their mom would be over trying to get all up on it!!!

  3. Runner Girl Eats · · Reply

    I’m a tea girl but a good iced coffee hits the spot every now and then ๐Ÿ™‚ I put off making a real life in my college town too but 5 years post grad its where I still live so I decided its time to put down some roots. I’m sooooooo much happier since I’ve embraced “my” city ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Aww that is so good and helpful to hear! I am finally understand that and even in the few weeks back at school i am happier too ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I haven’t been really dedicated to my blog lately because of this very reason! I’ve really been trying to branch out and meet new people and go out of my comfort zone! The result? It’s been AMAZING! I”m so so glad you’re going to try to do this!

    1. That is great to hear!! Alyssa over at See This Girl Run reminded me the other day that Life always takes priority over blogging!!
      I am so so so happy to hear the positive effects from branching out!! I am already seeing good things come from it in my life! Keep it up and dont let blogging pressures get to you! Live your life ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. This is hard for me because I’m an introvert. I love being around people, but I re-energize by being alone. It’s good to force yourself out of your comfort zone, though!!

    1. Understanding yourself and what works best for you is the key aspect I think! Sounds like you know yourself well ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Good for you for making some positive changes! I have definitely gone through those anti-social periods too (mainly when I was pretty deep in my ED).
    I’m usually more of a coffee person, but every now and then I love a good cup of tea. And I LOVE iced tea ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. My therapist all tells me that my “solitary confinement” that i put myself in these last 2 years is all related to my ED and as I get healthier and stronger, I will find myself branching out more as well.
      yumm my family has always been huge iced tea drinkers!

  7. This is exactly what I needed to hear today! Since coming to school, I have been stressing out about being able to get my runs in. The friends that I have made here are great, but they don’t work out as much as I do. That is not a big deal except that I find that I am spending a lot of time alone because I “need” to get my workouts in. I need to step outside and be social and skip a workout every once in a while!
    Great post!

    1. Thanks so much girl! Yes I defnitely struggle with that as well… thinking that running and workouts take authority over basically everything else. It makes me stressed, feel alone, and it can cycle out of control and be unhealthy. I am better about it than I was the last few years, but it is a work in progress. It is hard to remind yourself what REALLY are priorities in life and demand your attention…. I have learned that in the grand scheme of things, Running is something I love to do, but it is not at all my EVERYTHING.
      Have a great day ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

