1st Froyo outing, NYC, and photo dump!

Last (I think) segment to my NYC labor day vacay!

Sunday we were both super tired and took a “lazier” approach to the day! We still did plenty of walking… but not as much as the marathon we did Saturday!

We decided to head to the Brooklyn Flee Market via BIKES! So much fun! You can “check out” a bike for 10$ and ride it to your destination! Great idea… and it usually works great! Well, we underestimated how hard it would be to find another bike rack near our flee-market destination. We road the half hour to the market… then probably rode another 45 mins in search of a bike “park”. Seriously. We were getting so frustrated to the point that we were laughing/yelling at each other over how we were certain a bike park was “Just up ahead… I am sure of it!” Then of course, it wouldn’t be there. Hey… it happens and makes for great memories!

We finally got the flee market and it was gorgeous and cute and wonderful! I wish I lived in the area because they sold a ton of home decor stuff that I wanted so badly for my apartment! Unfortunately, fittting a vintage floor lamp in my carry-on was just not going to happen. Hm…

From there we went immediately to a Mexican lunch! And while we got chips and salsa (obviously very mexican of us) Gretchen ended up having some breakfast-egg-lasagna thing while I got the best burger and fries of my LIFE. Yes… I can’t believe I ate a burger and fries! THIS IS A BIG DEAL FOR ME GUYS!! ((Side note:: to say I didn’t have mental battles with this one afterward is a lie. I actually had a very hard time being ok with eating this huge meal, then continuing on with other yummies throughout the weekend. I wish I didn’t think so much about it…but it was tough!))

From lunch we head into Manhattan to the High Line! Very cool! I love when new uses are found for old things! It was a lovely leisurely walk!

We then headed to 5th ave to look at the expensive shops we couldn’t afford… until we decided we actually did want to do a bit of shopping at our price range. So we ran into a DSW and Gretch bought 2 pairs of shoes and she bought me a scarf I was absolutely head over heels about! — Don’t I have the greatest sister ever?!? I mean she insisted on buying it for me!! I need to step it up!

Side note— we had a fantastic heart-to-heart sitting against the wall on the 3rd floor of DSW while charging my phone regarding my eating disorder, recovery, body image, etc. It is so great to be so real with her…

We headed back into Brooklynย  and went straight to Trader Joe’s which is so big and popular they have 42 check out lanes!!!! It was a beautiful madhouse!!

Dinner was a simple big home-made salad with salmon and pretzel chips while watching Brides Maids!

THEN I HAD MY FIRST EVER FROYO OUTING!!! Many of you know that purchasing a dessert is something that I have never done (since my ED) and it is a huge mental battle for me! Well, I was determined to do it! We went to Red Mango and I got Raspberry Cheesecake flavor with just about every candy and fruit topping! ((in the pic, the candy is on the bottom, under the berries! It is there I promise!))

It was so delicious it was seriously gone before I could take a picture of it outside the to-go bag!

Following Froyo was a trip to the movie theater!! The End of the World— all British actors and it was HILARIOUS! So weird and random and so so funny!!! So glad we saw it! We really had no idea what to expect!

It was another looong day!!

If you made it this far in the reading… wow I am impressed and appreciate it! haha if not.. I understand!

Here are some pictures for ya ๐Ÿ™‚

What is your FAVORITE MEAL EVER???

20130902-080154.jpg

20130902-080222.jpg

20130902-080234.jpg

20130902-080309.jpg

20130902-080343.jpg

20130902-080336.jpg

20130902-080322.jpg

20130902-080259.jpg

20130902-080250.jpg

20130902-080243.jpg

16 comments

  1. pickyrunner · · Reply

    LOVE your ring. LOVE the pictures. LOVE that you ate a burger, fries and froyo (some of my favorite foods). LOVE that you bonded with your sister. but most of all, LOVE that you enjoyed your weekend and gave your ED a real kick in the butt!!! I’m really proud of you girl and i”m glad you had such a fantastic time!

    1. hahaha YAYY thanks Sarah!!!! You excitement makes ME excited!!!! I thought of you when i was out there being all “east coast” and every time I saw a RI car haha

  2. So proud of you! It sounds like you had a GREAT weekend and I am so thankful that you got to be so upfront and honest with your sister. Sisters are seriously the greatest. I feel bad for those who do not have a sister or do not have a good relationship with their sister. Sisters are seriously one of life’s best assets.

    I see more froyo dates in your future ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. yes MANY MORE froyo dates in the future! it is sooo good!!! My sister rocks and I wouldn’t trade being a sister for anything!!!

  3. Congrats on getting your first Froyo! It’s the things that count. And little steps will all add up in the end ๐Ÿ™‚ That burger and fries looks mighty tasty though!! Love your infinity ring btw! Love the picture of you and sister ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thanks! I am loving having a pinky ring haha so fun!!!
      They WERE mighty tasty ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. You had my favorite meal ever – a burger and fries! Good for you for allowing yourself to have so many tasty treats. Isn’t froyo the best?

    ALSO, I went to a weight training class at the gym yesterday and I thought of you! It was amazing.

    1. Yay so glad you loved it!!! So happy to hear!
      Yes, froyo truly is the best!

  5. Good job indulging! Now you know that burger and fries isn’t the end of the world :o) You’re looking so healthy, fit, and glowing in all your pics!

    1. Nope.. I survived! Gasp! haha I definitely learned a lot that weekend!! Wasn’t easy ((I am happy I had a 7am therapy appt the next morning)) but was a big step for me!!
      Thank you that is so sweet and SUCH a great compliment to hear during this process! ๐Ÿ™‚ have a great weekend!

  6. Your sister is giving you an awesome tour of New York….I’m really happy for you !

    1. Thank you so much!!! Yes, she did amazing showing me around and just setting aside everything her weekend to be with me!! She is the best ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. […] will spare you from my final NYC details (other posts HERE and HERE and HERE)… but just know that it was so much fun and I had a blast with my sister! We were able to […]

  8. Fun post! Loved all the photos!
    Red mango is the best! But even better is you telling your ED who is boss!!
    xoxo

    1. Ya thanks girl!! It felt great… even though I had some “bad thoughts” later in the day regarding it… I am so glad I had it and it was a huge step ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. […] stumbled across this fantastic idea while in NYC over labor day weekend (HERE, HERE, HERE)…. I was wondering if any of you have heard of this or even participated with […]

Leave a Reply

