An overwhelming City!

I have had the blessed opportunity to do a lot of traveling in my life thus far…most of it overseas. But I have NEVER been to a city like NYC before! I think I was here an hour before I heard English spoken and the height of the buildings and crowds was just incomparable!!

I landed at 9am, went straight toy sisters work to jump on her ๐Ÿ™‚ then went to her apartment to do some self-exploring until she got done with work!

On my own I got in a SLOW AND SWEATY 6.5 mile run where I did a big wide loop over the Brooklyn Bridge, into china town, make over the Manhattan Bridge, then along the Brooklyn promenade and boardwalk! It was hot and lovely!

I then met my sister at her companies weekly happy hour which this week was grilling burgers and chips at the piers in Brooklyn! It was low key and a fantastic way to meet her friends and see the sunset over the city!

20130831-075444.jpg

Toady we plan on a run around Central Park, eating at The Peanut Butter and Co Cafe Shop… Which of course is the pb that I eat at home and am OBSESSED WITH!!! We will also probably see a show, 9/11 memorial and who knows!!!
20130831-075648.jpg

Have a great weekend guys!!!

10 comments

  1. Great picture of you two!! Glad to see you’re enjoying yourself ๐Ÿ™‚ Because of your last post, it is now on my bucket list to run around central park haha

  2. pickyrunner · · Reply

    Aw it sounds like so much fun! I hope it is a very positive experience for you and I can’t wait to hear all about it ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I loved getting to run around NYC earlier this month! Definitely get a run in at Central Park! Enjoy your time in the city!

  4. AH! So glad you’re going to PB & Co.!!!!
    And also that you’re getting some good running in. Whenever I run in new places, my pace picks way up! The adrenaline from the unfamiliarity is fantastic. I was recently out in Oregon, staying in the mountains to visit family and do some serious training. I got lost and found myself meandering through the woods and hills and cliffs with the biggest smile on my face. I had forgotten what its like to run for the sake of running.
    It’s a beautiful thing.

  5. Cute pictures! The heat here is unbearable right now, but I hope you are having a great trip with your sis! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I love, love, love NYC. It so different, so huge, so immense! It’s always so overwhelming it makes my stomach hurt, but in a good way. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Traveling and seeing new cities is the BEST! Glad you’re having a great time!

  8. AWE!!! Hope you’re having SO much fun with your sister ๐Ÿ™‚ ENJOY NY!!!! I have always wanted to go.

  9. […] will spare you from my final NYC details (other posts HERE and HERE and HERE)… but just know that it was so much fun and I had a blast with my sister! […]

  10. […] stumbled across this fantastic idea while in NYC over labor day weekend (HERE, HERE, HERE)…. I was wondering if any of you have heard of this or even participated with […]

Leave a Reply

