I heart Weight Lifting

I promise not to bore you with class detail. I would hate to read about… I would hate to hear about it… I would hate to write about it…. So we are not going to!

Since I did a long run on Sunday, I took yesterday off from running. I really wanted to get some sweaty-time in however, so I turned to my friend Josh here on campus who is also a masters student… but more importantly he is a nationally recognized Jiu Jitsu fighter. He place in the Pan American games last year and competes all throughout the United States. He is built like a ROCK.

I have never met anyone as strong as he is! Anyways, we love sharing workout advice and I told him I wanted a hard, short ARMS ONLY workout. He ended up just going to the gym with me ๐Ÿ™‚

I want this shirt….

Real Women Lift Weights Tees

We did 4 sets of 4 exercises; 12-15 reps each. Each time the last 4 reps were to the point of exhaustion…

-Dumbell Bench Press 25#

-Inclined Dumbell Press 20#

-Body weight Dips

-Fly’s 30#

He held my legs on the Dips– Usually I can get the body-weight dips on my own, but after the total of 8 sets of 15 reps of Bench Press/Inclined Press…. I was lucky to be able to hold myself up on the dips!!

The workout took us about 20-25 mins, and I can say that I could barely stick-shift in my car driving home!!

I realized that 15 reps X 16 sets= 240 lifts. Whoa!

women lifting weights

I am still keeping up with me 100 push ups/ day… but to be honest I am not sure if I can do it today after yesterdays arms! Josh said to instead do 100 pull ups. I said there is NO WAY I can do unassisted Pulls up ((well at least not 100)) and he offered to hold my legs a bit for me! Yay!

I just LOVE weight lifting... I love my muscles screaming and burning. I love the grimace I get on my face when I am going for those last few reps… I love lifting next to a bunch of sweaty dudes and you guys are able to exchange a little “head nod” of acknowledgement– like “Way to work it”. I just โค it!

Anyways, Today I should run since I am leaving for an extended weekend in NYC to stay with my sister (!!!!!) and will not get any running in… but I am having a hard time motivating myself!! Weird!

I think it is mainly that I don’t feel safe at all here in Bloomington on the Indiana University campus. There are some really shady characters!!!

 

14 comments

  1. I love weightlifting, but I feel like I never have enough time! I always prefer to run, and by the time I’m done there’s no time for weights. Lately I only do 1 day a week of it, but I’d like to aim for 2.

    1. I know what you mean!! I also run into that with stretching! I make time to run… then I am jumping in the shower and no stretching!!! Keep it up!

  2. Obsessed with that shirt!! I couldn’t agree more, the feeling of your muscles burning, it’s just a great feeling. I hope your runs get better and you feel a little safer! I had to take up running on the treadmills in the morning since I don’t feel safe outside. Enjoy time with your sister ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. I may have to revert to some treadmill runnign as well!!! I dont’ mind too much tho… ๐Ÿ™‚ good for speed workouts!!
      Love me that muscle burn ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I really like weight training too, but I never know exactly what to do, so I end up getting intimidated at the gym and not doing it. Maybe I will steal your workout!

    1. Ya girl!!! I learn a lot from observing others at the gym and doing what they are doing!! Try that too!!! And lots of good online you tube videos to start out with!! don’t be intimidated!! get in there and pump that iron ๐Ÿ™‚ haha

  4. I’m really getting into weight training now that I found a class that I love at my school. I’m still super weak, but I’m getting stronger and getting better at it! They killed my arms yesterday, so I’m super sore today!

    1. OH great!!! I love seeing improvement in my strength!! Don’t you love being sore?!!

  5. You’re a rock star. I need to do more strength training. I mean, I do some…but my arms could definitely use some work. I just have bad shoulders so it makes me not want to do them haha I know. Excuses excuses.
    You don’t feel safe?? Yikes! Get that buddy of yours to run with you. Or carry pepper spray. And don’t go out in the dark. Or isolated areas. Be safe!!

    1. My arms can ALWAYS use more work! Hard to do with bad shoulders though ๐Ÿ˜ฆ sorry girl!!!

      Thanks I am always safety first!! Even running obsessed me will not run alone in the dark… EVER!!!! Yes i got some pepper spray.. and I am not afraid to use it! Hopefully finding some running buddies soon ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. confession – I have never been into weight lifting, but I have actually never given it a try. I did an arm workout a couple days ago though and I have to say, I am kind of liking it too…going to try to get on this weight lifting thing a couple times a week ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. OH girl it is fun stuff ๐Ÿ™‚ haha It is a great alternative for when you just need to sweat and feel the burn but only have a few minutes and have run too much for the week already haha

      I hope you like it! I love working the arms and shoulders!

  7. I nominated you for the Liebster Award!

    1. Oh my gosh THANK YOU!!! I am so flattered and appreciative!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Made my day!!

Leave a Reply

