Long run Bathroom success!!

A quick Hello as I head off to my first class!!

I ran 15 miles yesterday at 7.40 pace and I DID NOT HAVE A BATHROOM STOP!!! Success!!!

I had a Chicken/Squash casserole for dinner on Saturday night…inspired by Peanut Butter Fingers recipe

20130825-222130.jpg

… and I woke up and I didn’t have a single apple!! Not a one!! Most of your suggestions revolved around cutting back on the intense fiber overload in my 4 apples I eat in the mornings… I am thinking you all are right….

For breakfast I had half of a whole wheat english muffin with peanut-butter, a handful of animal crackers, water, and coffee.

I ran at about 7:15am and it was 55 degrees out and GORGEOUS!!! Perfect running conditions!

20130825-222138.jpg

I ran 15 miles and kept it very steady at about 7.40 pace and picked it up the last 2 miles and finished strong for a 6.50 last mile. I was happy over the distance and pace.. but honestly, to me the GREATEST achievement was not having to go to the bathroom!!

20130825-222206.jpg

I ran with my new fuel belt and had gatorade in there and clif kids bar (yummmm). It worked great!!

20130825-222158.jpg

Newly purchased running fuel belt!!!

Anyways, I am off! Gotta get my thinking cap on… let’s do this!!

Have a great day guys! Smile Big!

How was your long run this weekend?

Where do you keep all your running/workout stuff? All together, separate??

24 comments

  1. pickyrunner · · Reply

    Woooo happy to hear about your long run! That’s a big accomplishment and I bet the apples tasted pretty great after πŸ™‚ Not to mention zbars- can’t go wrong with those… they’re my absolute favorite!

    1. the zbars were MONEY and the apples were what kept me going on the run!! such a treat to come back to!! haha thanks girl!

  2. WOW girl! You’re truely awesome! That is a great pace for 15 miles. I didn’t end up having a long run, I just wasn’t feeling, still trying to get over this stinky cold. I don’t run with any fuel when I have long runs……and I probably should, but I hate running with things on me or having to hold things haha. Have a great day πŸ™‚

    1. ya I had to really learn to get used to running with things! I would’t say I am a fan, but getting used to it! Thanks girl have a great night!

  3. Great long run, Andrea…and a pace to be envied. I ran 10 miles around the lake at a much slower pace on Sunday but i slowed down considerably after 6 miles due to the fact that the road was flooded at the spillway and I had to wait around for someone to drive by and I had to flag them down and ask for a ride across the flooded area. At that point I had a difficult time getting back into my run but I did manage to finish the 10 miles I set out to run…..it just wasn’t pretty at the end. I know you are a Cliff Bar girl, but you might enjoy the Power Bar web site….powerbar.com. They have interviews with different runners/athletes and there is one interview with a woman from Indy. I wish mens running shorts had another pock to stash bars etc.because the one small pocket they have is taken up my car keys and drivers license.

    1. Oh no! a flooded road! Awesome you got in 10 still though! Always great when you stick with the goal of the run! I will check out power bar! Thanks! I used to eat them all the time for soccer games and had a power bar at my first marathon with no problems!
      I hear you on the pockets in shorts!

  4. I’ve moved my long runs to Mondays because it fits best in my schedule. My long run this morning was fantastic. It was really slow because I have a cold, but I felt good the entire run, was hydrated enough, had no stomach issues with the fuel, and just felt happy πŸ™‚ I LOVE those runs! I also managed to make it to the end of the run without having to go to the bathroom too (or having to SPRINT to the bathroom), so that was good πŸ™‚ I keep all of my running/workout stuff together..otherwise I’ll forget something and then I get mad.

    1. Fun! long runs on mondays– i like it! And YAY FOR A GREAT FEELING RUN!!
      I keep everything together too! πŸ™‚

  5. That’s great! I’ve found a lot of people stick to peanut butter / carb combo for long runs. Glad to hear it’s working for you too!!

    1. Yep I loved it!! and super yummy too obviously– can you ever go wrong with pb/carb??? no. πŸ™‚

  6. That’s great about your long run! I didn’t know about the effect of the apples, but I will tell you that I CANNOT eat raw apples. They make me sick EVERY time. It’s a shame because I really like them. Your casserole looks so good though! Yummm!

    1. Aww raw apples are my fave! I wish you could enjoy them!! Thanks I had some more of the left over today for dinner! Just as good the second time!!

  7. Woohoo!!! That really is such a success! Love it πŸ™‚ Good luck at school!!! You’re going to do great!

    1. Aww thanks Alyssa!! Busy first day!! Actually… everything about my life is really starting to pick up!! Ahhhh moving so fast!! I am so happy you are moved in!! I know what you mean about unpacking– it took me (and is still taking me) FOREVER!! Good luck! I would help you if I lived near haha

  8. Glad to hear you found something that works for you. The wheat English muffin with PB has never let me down!
    My “long” run this weekend wasn’t really long. It was a step back week on my training plan so I did 6 miles.
    Have a great first week of school!

    1. It was delicious!! Oh nice a step down week!! I got one of those coming up too πŸ™‚
      Have a great night!!!

  9. HIP HIP HOORAY!!!! Girrrlll, you and I are on the same wavelength because I was just as ecstatic about my long run this weekend for the same reason – 16 miles with noooo bathroom stops or stomach troubles! πŸ˜€ Look at us, we’re figuring this whole eating and running thing out. All I need now is your speed and I’d be the happiest camper on the camp ground! So so happy for you and your no-bathroom success, it’s the best to just run and not worry πŸ™‚ now let’s get it again next week!

    1. hahaha yayyyy i love that I am not the only one who thinks so much about bathroom/stomach issues!! yay for the nitty gritty details of running πŸ™‚
      16 miles— AWESOME!!! so glad you had fun with it!
      Whoo-hoo! I am obsessed with you excitement! haha no joke it puts such a smile on my face πŸ™‚

  10. […] I did a long run on Sunday, I took yesterday off from running. I really wanted to get some sweaty-time in however, so I turned […]

  11. Whoop!! Congrats on the bathroom-free run!!

    1. yayyy thanks πŸ™‚

  12. speedy legs! great run!

    1. Thanks girl!! πŸ™‚

  13. […] on my clothes/shoes/watch and took off. Well, we all know about my Bathroom Issues. My successful 15 miler 2 weeks ago was so great because I I didn’t have to go to the bathroom at all! ((I […]

Leave a Reply

