“Yo Girl, Here’s my Card…”

**Next week I will be a guest blogger for one of my favorite girls, Alyssa, at See This Girl Run! I am SO EXCITED! Alyssa is easily the coolest person on the internet these days! She is training for her first marathon (which is now less than a month away!)…. and she literally has the most fantastic and genuine heart! So please go check her out NOW and come find me over there next week!

So yesterday I moved everything into my apartment! You know what? It wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. Don’t get me wrong… it was awful,Β but it definitely had the potential to be absolutely miserable. I am very lucky I have my dad, uncle, and grandpa to help! They were tremendous!

Obviously unpacking like that I was in running shorts, old running shoes, sports bra, and a dri-fit shirt with my hair in a messy bun and headband. Actually, moving or not, that is a pretty standard outfit for me. Anyways…

While I was in line waiting for the office to open to pick up keys, I got to talking to a Phd student who ran his own company for 10 years before deciding to go back for another degree. Yadda yadda yadda we were talking and killing time. Office opened, keys were handed over, and I ran out to the Uhaul to begin unpacking before it got any hotter outside (at 9am it was 65 degrees!! So awesome!)

I didn’t think of him again until my dad, uncle, grandpa, and I were all sweaty and struggling in the Uhaul when this guy drives around and out of the car window hands me his business card saying we should keep in touch. What?!?! Your business card? Right now while I am balancing a box of breakable dishes in one arm and my box of bathroom essentials in the other? Anyways, my 3 wonderful worker men just stared at me really confused and I awkwardly mumbled an “Oh, great, thanks…”

It was slightly weird. I shoved the card in my sports bra, because like I said, I had no pockets, no purse and my hands were full. The whole exchange was… hmm. I think it was just really not the right time for that, you know? I literally had sweat dripping down my nose. And if my dad, uncle, and grandpa could have been absent instead of staring at us totally confused, that would have helped too. Oh well… Whatcha gonna do?!

I guess I have friendly neighbors who are very intelligent in their pursuits of Phd’s!

Other than that, yesterday was a rest day (leaving me excited to run today!) and I worked for hours on a gift for my sister that I will be giving her when I visit NYC over labor day weekend! πŸ™‚ Here is sneak of part of that gift…

wpid-IMG_20130818_070647_505.jpg

Bad pic, taken hastily… but any guesses here?!?

I go back to my apartment today to organize and what not!!

Have a great Sunday people! Relax, have fun, and be merry!

Any awkward hit on/asked out/date stories?

What is your usual outfit?

15 comments

  1. pickyrunner · · Reply

    Oh la la πŸ˜‰ you know a guy is a good one when he appreciates a girl in running clothes! I think you should see how that goes! You’re not making me very excited to move in Tuesday! Ha good thing everything is already there except my clothes! Have a great day girl!

    1. I will keep an open mind πŸ™‚ If he can get on board with my running/grunge outfit look, then he is definitely worth a second look!!

  2. Oh my gosh lol yeah, I agree with you, that was just the wrong time. At least he doesn’t mind the sweat :D. My usual outfit, is jean shorts, old race shirt, and most the time compression socks and slippers lol Have a great day πŸ™‚

    1. At least I know he is a guy where a girls “looks” isn’t everything!!!
      And your outfit sounds MARVELOUS!!! compression socks are always a great addition to an outfit! as are slippers… πŸ™‚

  3. Aww, I think he liked you. Probably took him a while to work up the courage.

    Although I bet he would have scored your number if he’d offered to help… πŸ˜‰

    1. hahah you got that right!! Put those muscles to good use and THEN we will talk πŸ™‚
      Loved this!!

  4. I think the Phd student saw someone he was attracted to and didn’t want to let her slip away…it’s what guys do. Instead of just running the 10k course around the lake I ended up running 8.5 miles. It was 62 degrees and overcast at 9am when I started my run….close to perfect. Three cheers for dads, uncles and grandfathers !

    1. Aww thank you for the compliment!! He was very nice and friendly and he lives in my apartment complex so I am sure I will be running into him again πŸ™‚
      I love when a run ends up being further on the count of feeling great and the weather being awesome! So happy for you!
      Yes, I had a great group of guys helping me out! I am a lucky girl!

  5. It looks like you might have an admirer πŸ˜‰ give him a call (if you’re ready for that!) That’s awesome πŸ™‚ Last night I saw a guy I dated for a while and really liked until he hurt my feelings, and I was looking fierce! I was the bigger person and said hello to him and all he could say was “you look amazing.” Vindication at its finest πŸ˜‰

    If I’m in my house, I never wear pants. I’m not sorry about it. When I leave the house, it’s usually dresses, skirts, leggings or jeggings. I like showing off my legs and not having to wear real pants if I don’t have to πŸ˜‰ So glad you’re all moved in!

    1. WHOO HOOO!!! i just cheered when you said you were looking fierce!! Seriously cheered out loud πŸ™‚
      Love that confidence and sas you got there! Don’t lose that!! And love that he was seeing what he was missing!
      Cheers for never wearing real pants!! ewwwww πŸ™‚

  6. Thanks for the shout out!! Can’t wait!!
    Ow ow girlfriend! Was he cute?? πŸ˜‰ But yeah, totally not the right time or place. Timing really is everything..or at least counts for a lot.
    80% of most days I am in my business casual attire for work. If I had the choice I would totally stay in my running clothes all day long. They’re the best. But when I’m not at work I like just shorts or jeans and a t-shirt. Keep it simple.
    Yay for being moved in!!!

    1. Nice!! love that– Keepin it simple!– I could never be a high maintenance dresser!! Also I don’t have that kind of money!!!
      Business casual isn’t bad, at least you don’t have to be in dress and heels all day everyday! ((I would have to quit probably))
      Can’t wait for you to get moved in too!

  7. He’s worth a call if all the sweat didn’t turn him off lol!!

    1. haha that is what I am starting to think! A guy who’s not afraid of some workout clothes, dripping sweating, and greasy hair… he is scoring high points in my book! πŸ™‚

  8. […] worked more on my gifts for my sister! I gave you a little sneak peak the other day of one of the items I was working on… well here is the second thing I making! ((No secret to this pic, it is what it […]

Leave a Reply

