Invisible Running

Yesterday I got in a wonderful 9 miles in 60 degree weather at 9:30am!! I can’t believe the temperature! It was perfect for running…

Running weather....unless the humidity says 95-100%. Lol

The 9 miles was extremely enjoyable… as were my other runs for the past few weeks… and this is because I feel entirely INVISIBLE.

No one can see me. No one can hear me. No one can touch me. I do not exist to the rest of the public; be it walkers, bikers, cars, etc. I am invisible to them… and I love it.

I wear sunglasses now (I used to never) and I feel as if they are a shield from the eyes of other runners and pedestrians who may “judge” me– whether by my pace or by my body.ย ย  I run with my Ipod clipped on my shorts, buds in the ears, but turned completely off. For some reason I love the fact that people see the headphones in and assume I am completely unaware. But that is far from the truth…

When I run in this “Outfit of Invisibility” I am 100% aware and in-tune with my body, my breathing, my legs, my arms, my thoughts, and everything around me. All that is moving and making noise… I feel it and take it all in. It becomes a part of my run.

I love this invisible feeling because I feel so powerful and in control of my run. I feel so FREE. It is like I am looking out at the rest of the world through a tinted, sound proof window which no one can see in. It doesn’t matter what my run “looks like” to others- (if I am dying, breathing hard and in pain from intervals or fartleks, or happy and cruising on a recovery run)…. Because it is MY RUN. And they can’t judge me or see me… because I am invisible.

My biggest struggle has always been comparing myself to others, and feeling like others are comparing and judging ME. The moment I adopt my Invisibility garb, I can do my run exactly as I had planned without the concern of probing eyes. This especially helpful during speed workouts, on the in-between sets, when my jog is only slightly faster than a walk and I am gasping for air. Before I would “care” if people saw me running so slowly and they didn’t know I was doing intervals… but when I “run invisibly” I get my great workout in without paying a bit of attention to others. It is wonderful and freeing!

#RUNNING: The human body's most raw form of freedom.   www.run-inspired.com

I am not sure if this makes sense to anyone else… and that is Ok! It doesn’t have to. But I urge you guys to find what makes you feel POWERFUL and IN CONTROL on your runs or workouts.

Have a GREAT THURSDAY! Almost the weekend… Thursday is the new Friday ๐Ÿ™‚

What makes you run free? What makes you “forget” about others and concentrate on just running for you?

What is at least 1 cool thing you are doing this weekend?!

32 comments

  1. All of this makes total sense! Comparing myself to others is one of my biggest weaknesses, and I always think the same thing during my intervals. But at the end of the day, I run for ME and live my life the best way I can.
    So nothing else matters! -H

    1. Awesome take on it girl! I am definitely learning to keep all my runs for me and not anyone else… especially not any “strangers”. It is so hard not to make comparisons… something to always be working on!

  2. Beautiful post. I like the part about “…The moment I adopt my Invisibility garb” Such a cool way to look at yourself. Good for you girl โค

    1. Thanks girl!! I find I am most “comfortable” when I am in that “running garb”. i love feeling invisible and strong!

  3. I love that quote – running is a human body’s form of freedom. that is so cool!

    1. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks girl! Hope you have a fantastic day!

  4. pickyrunner · · Reply

    I love that you have noticed such a big difference from just one small change! I don’t wear sunglasses while I run but it makes total sense! I love just getting lost in myself on a run- it makes you feel like you’re the only one in the world and nobody can drag you down or make you feel bad about yourself. When you’re running, it’s all about you.

    1. Exactly!!! So glad you got those awesome runs where you feel unstopable!! it is a feeling that is hard to explain to people! have a good one Sarah!

  5. This makes perfect sense and is totally awesome! Glad to hear about it contributing to your amazing runs lately! I’d love to see you on a run one day and be like HEY GIRL I KNOW YOU CAN HEAR ME! ๐Ÿ™‚ Super disruptive and rude, I know, but this is just too cute! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. haha I would LOVE seeing you on a run and having you shout at me!!! I would probably attack you with a freaked-out excited hug then we would finish the run together and proceed to get a delicious dinner haha

      1. Hahaha I’m in for everything except running with you – girl you speeeeedy and I love it! I could chase you for about a half mile. ๐Ÿ™‚ But i’m in for din din always!! Haha!

  6. that’s so funny that you said the thing about the sunglasses. i love running with sunglasses are because i feel like people can’t really see me and i’m in my own element. even though i probably look like a fool sometimes, it really helps me focus on running, not on what others are seeing

    1. I know I feel like I look so so silly in sunglasses (I feel only really elite people wear them!) but I do love the invisible feeling! Glad it helps you on runs too… so true that it helps you focus on running and not “judgements”! Have a good day! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I loved reading this post! I love how honest you are in your posts! Running is such an exhilarating form of freedom, and I love getting to that space in my run where I have completely tuned out comparison-like thoughts and I feel 100% me. Great weather and tunes definitely help to get me there faster!

    1. Thanks girl!! Wow that is so awesome to hear that it helps you tune others out and just focus on the glorious act of running!! I hope we never forget to just enjoy ourselves out there and love ourselves!! Have a good evening ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I’ve never worn sunglasses while running, but the way you describe it makes sense. The weather for your run sounds perfect! I love this transition into fall and I can’t wait to get back out there and start running again.

    1. I feel silly wearing them.. but they help me so so much on my solo runs!
      Yes this weather feels amazing! Fall running is honestly the best.. can’t believe we are heading into it already though!!

  9. LOVE this post!!! You just hit the nail on the head, and I love the whole ‘invisibility garb’ thing because it’s so true. I don’t typically wear sunglasses on runs, but when I do it’s just like I’m in my own little world, like I’m looking out the window or something and can see everything but nobody can see me. There’s just something about it that’s like a shield, but freeing at the same time.
    This reminded me a lot of my 8 miler this morning, and that when I figuratively slapped myself in the face and just stopped caring, checked out of the outside world and into my own and the nature around me (ran through the trails in the Ojibway nature reserve here, so beautiful!) it was just fantastic. I stopped comparing myself, my pace, how I looked or felt, and just went with it. It’s funny that letting go is the hardest thing, isn’t it? Like you almost have to train yourself to do it lol

    Anywho, great post as always! ๐Ÿ˜€

    1. Exactly! That is how I feel!
      Awesome 8 miler this morning! Way to get after it!
      YES! It is so hard to let go with the comparisons and just turn your brain OFF… which is so funny because it is the best thing for us!! That run sounds amazing.. love a good trail run! Hopefully I will get one in this weekend or something! Have a great evening!

  10. 60 degrees while running sounds amazing! I love that you have something that allows you to feel free on your runs – its definitely the best feeling in the world! For me, running on a trail helps me to forget about others – as well as not timing myself, just running to run is so freeing! When I go out with no specific time/distance goal, I can usually forget that I normally worry about what other people are thinking when go by me – its not like they can see how fast/slow my pace is from their car, but I guess I think they can? ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. I find that with trail running too! Very much an “in your own little world” run when alone on the trails!
      Yes I always think that they know my pace… and that they CARE! I think that is the #1 thing I forget… they probably dont even care! I just think they do!!
      it is hard to train ourselves to just turn off our minds and run for us!

  11. oh my gosh that sounds amazing. I love this post so much. This is exactly how I feel when I’m running. You just get into that zone where nothing can get you, nobody can touch you and you’re the best you that you can possibly be. It’s where you become the super hero of your own life and everything else just seems trivial. This feeling is why I love running!

    Question: what sunglasses do you use?? I’ve been thinking of getting running sunglasses because my eyes get sunburned even with my hat shading my eyes. I’d rather not have that happen ๐Ÿ™‚

    Have a great day!

    1. ps do you have an email I can reach you at?

      1. Just emailed you!!
        ๐Ÿ™‚

    2. LOVE they way you put that– Superhero of our own lives!

      I wear my biking glasses which are polarized… I lose and break things all the time, so I don’t get a really expensive name brand. I just make sure they are polarized, wrap around, and the biggest key I found… is make sure they have the rubber nose piece– if not, when you sweat they will slip down your nose and you will have to keep pushing them back up!! Super annoying!

      1. Good to know! I will keep that in mind. Thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. I absolutely love this!! I can picture this so perfectly in my mind and feel that freedom you experience and it gives me chills! One of my favorite feelings in the world :)! I usually find it when I’m running on an old and beloved route, when i achieve a pdr, or when the music in my iphone hits me just right…like each song that comes on somehow describes how i feel/what i need in that exact moment. I feel alive and free and on top of the world….and I could care less how i look to the outside world

    1. AWESOME!! I loved reading this! So glad to hear you experience this… I hope you have a run like it verrrry soon!!! it is what makes running so so wonderful! That is awesome when you songs coincide with the run!! Meant to be!! ๐Ÿ™‚ have a great evening girl!

  13. I am hoping to bike this weekend and not have any pain (fingers crossed!). I also have a hair appointment which is always exciting!

    1. Oh man I need a haircut BAD…. Hope you get a good one with a nice scalp massage ๐Ÿ™‚ head massages are maybe my favorite things…
      Good luck on that bike!! I will be thinking about ya! ((fingers will be crossed!))

  14. […] of my favorite bloggers, Morning Runner Girl, said this in her post from yesterday, titled “Invisible Running:” (her post is about running for you, making it YOUR run, and not comparing yourself to […]

Leave a Reply

