What running shirtless means to me.

I MOVE OUT OF MY APARTMENT TOMORROW!!

*overwhelmed is an understatement… I will let you guys know how it goes!! Prayers are appreciated and welcomed as we try to navigate the worlds heaviest couch, futon, bed down a twisted flight of stairs. Can’t. Wait.

Yesterday’s Workout

I did a light/easy pilates workout at the gym which was honestly more of a morning filler than anything else ha…

Yesterday my legs were in need of a slow “shake-out” run after the duathlon type workout I did on Sunday– 12 mile run (full of bathroom stops) and later a 25 mile bike ride! Whew!

So Monday we had runners over to our house for an easy 5.2 miles at 7.50 pace, followed by burgers, chips, veggies, beer, and lots and lots of cookies and brownies!!

It was a great run and I got to catch up with my friend Kelly who ran as a top runner for Purdue University!! She is amazing!!!! It was so great to catch up with her and hear about her wedding details for next year!!

On to sports bra running business!

I used to run in my sports bra everyday in the summer. Didn’t give it a second thought. That has definitely changed as I became more restricted in my eating and had all thoughts consumed with food/fitness/workouts.

submitted by standunitedstandalone

I want to get back to that point–the point where I didn’t care what people thought… didn’t care what I looked like… I was hot, so I took off my shirt. End of story.

With the “food” aspect of my health kicked in and moving right along… I am beginning to work on regaining the confident demeanor that I once so proudly held. I want the Andrea back that would be loud at parties, make outrageous suggestions for things to do, go out and stay out, wear clothes for the reason that I loved them and not based entirely on how I looked in them. I want to run in a sports bra and not be so self-conscious that I look fat/skinny/un-athletic/un-toned/flabby/weak/etc. I told my dad that I miss not giving a second thought to whipping off my shirt… and he reminded me that I cannot let that voice in my head win. He said he raised me as a confident, strong, beautiful women on the inside and out. He said if I feel like taking off my shirt while running…ย then go ahead and take it off. Don’t let “it” win.

I Just Want To Be Pretty. โ™ฅ

He is right!! I am determined to take off my shirt next time it is really hot out as a way of “proving” to myself and “the evil negative body image” voice that I LOVE ME FOR ME AND THINK I AM AWESOME NO MATTER WHAT I LOOK LIKE!!!

Have a great Tuesday!! Please send me strong/muscle vibes for heavy lifting!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Do you run with your shirt off? Are you self-conscious?

Tips for moving day? ((I move into my new apt on Saturday!))

28 comments

  1. It’s 6:30 am and you already have a new blog post …..what time do you get up? As far a moving tips I’d say to round up a few friends and make it a party…but save the beer until after everything is in place.

    1. I get up naturally every morning at 5-5:30am. I am really trying to sleep better, but it has been a struggle the past couple years. I never ever catch up on sleep and frequently run on only 5 hours a night every night for weeks on end. Then I will get a 6-6.5 hour night as my big “catch-up”!!
      Haha yes beer will be only for the finale!!! W

  2. pickyrunner · · Reply

    It’s funny- when I was in the worst of my ED, I loved to take my shirt off while running. I think it’s because I was proud of how skinny I had become and I wanted to show off. Obviously I still found flaws but it was like my work was paying off. Now I find myself less confident with it but I am hoping to get to a place where I’ll do it again too! We can work on this together. Good luck with your move girl!

    1. Yep I get that completely!! It would defnitely be cool to work on that together! I just want to not care at all about what others think or how I think I look… I want it to be comign a simile decision– hot? take off shirt. done.

      Thanks girl moving is such a pain! literally… i have bruising and scrapes all over me!! haha

  3. The only reason I don’t run in just a sports bra is because I’m concerned that it might be inappropriate around my neighborhood, which is filled with children. I see people do it all the time and I think they look great! I really want to do it, especially with all the humidity, but for some reason, for me, it feels kind of inappropriate. It’s so strange! Especially since I am definitely pleased with my body enough to do so. I guess I don’t want to make other people uncomfortable…or maybe I’m less confident than I think I am!

    1. I know what you mean. I see others with a sports bra and don’t think anything other than “Awesome job getting out there an running!” yet for me i feel slightly inapprporiate if I am in a populated area (not if i am on the trails)… like every single person is watching me. I also just like people would expect me to look perfect and when i have my shirt off and they see I am FAR FROM perfect.. i feel like I am letting them down and that I am inadvertently living a lie!!
      Very complicated stuff haha, but it all goes back to me lacking in confidence. I hope to make it a simple decision or non-decision soon… just relax and do what i feel like!

  4. You go girl. Take it off!! Anytime you move your body and run and sweat, you are beautiful. That’s what I tell myself when I take off my shirt in the sun and summery heat. Good luck with the move!!

    1. Thank you so much Julia! I love that… anytime we are working our bodies, putting forth effort due to our love, dedication, and passion for running, we are beautiful! You are so right on that comment! That was great to read ๐Ÿ™‚ I am glad you run with your shirt off if that is what you want to do!! Very inspiring! Thank you!

      1. Anytime Andrea! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I have ALWAYS been afraid to run in just a sports bra- I think others look great, but I always feel like people will judge me. What a great, supportive dad you have! That’s awesome!

    1. I agree! I feel like everyone is staring and making an opinion– and now that I have put on weight and am getting healthy, I feel that people are judging that I look bigger… and all i want to do is scream out that that was my goal!! haha Like i need to justitfy to them why I look or don’t look the way I do! I should not care at all!! It is hard to do! A mental battle that can take a long time to conquer.
      Yes, my dad really is the greatest and always knows what to say! He is awesome ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. It is a mental battle- I think we will struggle with them out whole lives, but it gets easier as long as we work on our selves and self confidence.

  6. I love this! I say, if you want to take you’re shirt off – go for it! I know when I see other women running in just a sports bra, I don’t think about anything other than “Oh there’s a runner!” I personally never take my shirt off (I HATE having sweat on my hands, so I need a shirt to wipe it off throughout my run!) but I think its great that women do!

    1. That is so great to hear what YOU are thinking when you see others with their shirts off– you see them as runners working hard!! I have to remind myself that the most judgemental person about my body… is me!! Others are probably not giving it a second thought! Thanks for sharing that because i think that is a really important thing to remembe!!
      haha I use my shirt to wipe off my mouth and teeth that seem to get so nasty!! ((why do i share such gross things on the internet!! haha)) I use my shirt for lots of things now that I think about it… also if I need to run into a shop for an emergency bathroom break… i should probably wear a shirt!!

  7. Awesome goal…I have always wanted to be confident enough to whip off the shirt too, but just haven’t gotten there yet. Annoying since it’s so friggin hot out!!

    1. Yes I hear you! it is so hot and I want so badly to take it off! I think I am just going to make myself one day on a run. Literally just at the car, whip it off, throw it in the back seat, lock the door and GO! no looking back!! Maybe after the first run that I do it I will feel more comfortable. I don’t know if I should “force it” or wait until I am “ready”. We will see…..

  8. I have NEVER run without a shirt, although believe me I’ve wanted to. I’m way too self conscious and I know I don’t look good enough without a shirt…yet ๐Ÿ˜‰ But really I would like to get to that point too.
    Ah! We’re both moving! I wish I was moving this week though. Lucky. I can’t move until next Sunday. Good luck! Get lots of strong men to come help you out and buy them pizzas.

    1. haha sounds like the perfect advice to meet some strong helpful men ๐Ÿ™‚ I like that approach!! I think running in just a sports bra is (if someone wants to) is a great step in becoming confident and loving their body. I know I could show a lot more love to my body, and I am pretty sure others could as well. We will get to that stage girl!!

      Ahhh moving process!! haha so excting/stressful/fun/heavy/CRAZY haha I am glad you get another week with your family and to get things together and what not… Can’t wait for you to move too!! We will have to put up pics of our new places ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. I ran in just a sports bra once in high school for cross country because it was 3 pm, 90-something degrees and humid enough to make me break a sweat before I even started running…. But never again because I was CONVINCED that everyone was staring at me and my belly rolls and thinking about how gross and fat I looked. And I’ve never done it again. In public anyway. Sometimes I’ll take off my shirt when I’m on the treadmill and alone, because our workout room gets SUPER hot. But then I spend the whole time watching myself run in the mirror and trying to see what parts of my stomach/legs/butt/arms jiggle while I run… so I don’t really let myself do that anymore either…

    Probably not the most helpful or motivational comment lol. But I get where you’re coming from…!

    1. Yep, that is me exactly. In high school for xc practice I didn’t give it a second thought. We ALL took off our shirts. Now, I feel like every bounce up and down my rolls are “rollin” and people are just staring thinking, “she doesn’t look very good…” And thank goodness I don’t have a treadmill in front of a mirror, because I would have to ban myself from being on their shirtless— I would just watch myself run on it looking for every single flaw.
      At least we recognize this weakness!! one day maybe we will feel confident enough again to run and be proud of our sweaty bodies pushing us through our workout!!

  10. Running in what makes you feel good is so empowering. I’ve only ever had the guts to run shirtless once; it was pitch-dark nighttime in pouring rain, and I figured running in just a sports bra would be more comfortable. But I’m still really reluctant to do it! Feeling comfortable running topless is definitely on my bucket list!

    1. You are so right. We should be comfortable in whatever we wear… whether it be sports bra or long sleeve shirt!! That night run sounds awesome!! I would have run in a sports bra then too haha! Maybe one day we will both be comfy enough to run shirtless in the day with lots of people!

  11. olivetorun · · Reply

    Good luck with the move to the new apartment…we moved into our house in May and I told Ben I have NO intention of moving again any time soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. haha I know!! So much work!!! I know I will only be in this apartment for a year TOPS… so i am even relectant to really decorate it!! it was just SO.MUCH.WORK to pack it all up!!

  12. That is a rocking accomplishment. I can’t imagine it, but it kind of a cool empowering thought. As a plus size 1/2 marathon walker I can sort of relate in that I wear performance gear, aka compression pants and quite frankly I can’t imagine what my body looks like to others, but long ago I quit caring.

    1. Hi!! Thanks for commenting and sharing! What I have learned from previous comments, are that no matter how fast/slow, thin/big we are, EVERYONE has at some point struggled with comparing ourselves to others, feeling inadequate, or feel as if we are being judged by everyone around us. I so admire women who have confidence in themselves and learned to love themselves! It sounds like you have a such a great head and heart and LOVE for your body and that amazing things it can do!
      That is awesome that you stopped caring and just focus on “doing you”!
      Have a great day ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. […] I had posted on how when I am finally able to run in a sports bra in public, it will be a big step for […]

  14. […] count as being “brave” about it? I think it certainly does! ((read my sports bra posts HERE and […]

Leave a Reply

