Sunday Happenings and What I Look for In a Job

Good Morning everyone! A quick hello on this beautiful Sunday morning!

Sunday’s are usually a very slow day in my life. I mostly love this, but I also very quickly get antsy and bored and start making up excuses to leave the house for Earth Fare/Whole Food/Costco and/or Barnes and Nobles where I just leisurely walk and waste spend hours of my time.

Today I have a few things going on that make it the perfect balance of that relaxing yet busy lifestyle!

-I plan on running today! (Always a highlight when I get to run!) I hope to do a longer run of 10 miles or so, but I am going out there with no real plan and just going to run how/what I feel and enjoy my time!

-My parents are throwing another party at our house this evening! We do a yearly bike ride/dinner party for our biking friends! Meeting at 4pm at our house, we bike 25-30 miles, then come back for food/drinks/hot-tub/down-time! It is super fun and a great way to enjoy a Summer Sunday evening! This ride will be pretty slow and leisurely since we have lots of different skill levels, but that is perfectly ok! It is just about being out there with friends!

-I am currently working on a gift bag of goodies for my sister! I just booked a flight to go to NYC and stay 3 nights with her over Labor Day weekend and I am so excited! I am doing some little crafts that I will show you guys later, once i am done! I can’t wit to give them to her! She is so good to me… literally the best big sister anyone could ask for. I really wanted to just make something for her to tell her how awesome she is ๐Ÿ™‚

Me and Future Jobs

-I will also be spending eon’s of time this morning and today, job searching the companies that Outside Magazine named as the top 100 companies of 2013! Each year, Outside comes out with the Top Towns to Live in and the Top Jobs. I LOVE these issues! Nothing gets me more excited than imagining my life out west in the mountains working for a small company whose perks include lunch time yoga, company camping trips, free use of fully equipped gym, free race entry, and free season ski pass. Yessss!!

wpid-IMG_20130809_083235.jpg

Outside Magazine=Favorite. I look forward to this issue and the 100 best Jobs issue every year!!

***My dream jobs right now are working for Clif Bar, Salomon, Kashi, a Travel Magazine like Conde Nast, an outdoor adventure company like Backroads, VBT, or NOLS, a white-water rafting company, Red Mountain Spa (where I was this May!) or New Balance/Brooks running companies. And, now that I think about it, Outside Magazine! Long shots on all of those, but still–fun to dream about ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a great Sunday everyone!!

What do you look for in a Job?

What is your dream job!!

12 comments

  1. Those are all DREAM jobs! Holy cow we have similar interests… except I want to be on the east coast. I would love to work at a company that takes pride in staying active. And of course the perks wouldn’t hurt ๐Ÿ˜‰ I hope your run today is a blast! I miss those double digit days but I know they’ll be here soon enough.

    1. yes you will be back in the double digits soon!! Yay those dream jobs are seriously my dreams ๐Ÿ™‚ glad you like them too!!! further proof of the awesome time we would have hanging out together!!

  2. You’re dream jobs sound incredible!! I would love to work for those companies too ๐Ÿ™‚ why work somewhere that you don’t love? I used to work for lululemon and I had so many perks (yoga etc). I currently work for Mountain Equipment Coop (kinda like REI in the states, only in Canada) and it’s incredible as well. They basically shove you out the door and say “explore” with the products that they sell/have for staff to use and try out! Your trip to NYC will be a blast and it’s not too far away!

    1. Oh my gosh I LOVE MEC!! I have multiple bags from MEC!! I had lots of canadian friends when I studied abroad in New Zealand and htye introduced me to MEC!! So so cool that you work for them!! Seriously I want to pick your brain and find out how you got that job and what exactly you do for them!!!! AND you worked for lulu?? can i be you pleasE?!?! haha Awesome girl I am so glad you are HAPPY!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I love teaching, and I love working with kids, but if I could have any job I’d be a novelist. Maybe someday :o)

    I love your choices. Go follow your dreams, girl!

    1. Oh awesome a novelist!!! You obviously love to write and are GREAT at it… Maybe some day! I will buy your first book! (so you are gauranteed one sell!)
      Thanks girl! I really hope to snag one of my dream jobs some day! we will see ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I love dreaming of new jobs and moving to new places. I am totally going to go out and get this magazine!! Have a good run, and hope the party tonight is a blast ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Outside Magazine is the BEST! I have so much fun looking and dreaming up my life!! Scary but fun! I hope it works out.. at least part of my dreams!!!
      My run was pretty good ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for asking! Have a great night!

  5. It’s so funny what you said about getting antsy…I always love relaxing days but I can NEVER just sit around all day! I always come up with “errands” to run.

    Those jobs sound amazing! Especially Kashi or at a magazine. I would love to write for a magazine!

    1. I make up errands to do too! haha active girls can’t sit still I guess!

      Yes I would love to write a column for an adventure/travel type magazine!! No one knows I blog, so when I tell them I would want to write for a magazine, they are so confused since they don’t think I ever write! Oh well ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I actually enjoy working in an office, but my absolute dream job (….maybe it will happen one day!) would be to take people on hikes/runs everyday! I think taking people on 3+ mile hikes, and enjoying the outdoors everyday would be so much fun and wouldn’t feel like work at all!

    1. Ahhhhh this is EXACTLY my dream job!! And you need to do it some day!! I want to apply to Red Mountain Adventure Spa in St. George, Utah where I went in May and lead the 7am morning hikes that are upwards of 7+ miles and include blouldering, sand-dune running, light climbing, and of course good old hiking, all over the Red Rocks of Snow Canyon! I am obsessed!! On things like that, not only are you outside everyday and doing something you love, but you get to meet so many people and lead awesome people from all over the country! How awesome!!
      Great job someday ๐Ÿ™‚ I will meet ya there!

Leave a Reply

