Workout Recap 7/31- 8/8

Before I get into my workout redcap…

I went to the Indiana State Fair yesterday!

Look at these adorable baby ducks!! And a cheese sculpture that was super impressive, and my FAVORITE exhibit– photography!!

wpid-IMG_20130808_095402_546.jpg

Baby ducks!!! Adorable.

wpid-IMG_20130808_103019_212.jpg

Totally awesome (random) cheese sculpture!

wpid-IMG_20130808_100953_757.jpg

The INCREDIBLE photography exhibit…. wow.

Time for another Weekly Workout Recap!

Usually these are ever 7 days… but I have had other, far more exciting (in my opinion) posts to share with you, so this weeks recap includes a bit more days!! Enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

Wednesday 7/31

a.m: Spinning Class!

p.m: Burpees and light body weight activities

Thursday 8/1

a.m: 10 mile run (1:15.00 at 7.30 pace)

Friday 8/2

REST DAY!

Saturday 8/3

REST DAY!

Sunday 8/4

TRIATHLON!!! Click on the link to read about it ๐Ÿ™‚

Monday 8/5

RECOVERY AND PAMPERING ๐Ÿ™‚

Tuesday 8/6

a.m: 10 mile trail runBEST RUN OF 2013 (and maybe life??) (1:20.00 at about 8.05 pace)

Wednesday 8/7

a.m: 7 mile Hill run in Cool Creek Park! (53.50 at 7:40 pace)

p.m: Blue Mile Brew Mile at Thr3e Wise Men Brewery! 1 mile race– (5:50 pace) 3 miles total including warmup/cool down

Thursday 8/8

a.m: 30 mile Bike ride with mom and friends to the Indiana State Fair!!

NO RUNNING–rest day!

Yesterday I didn’t run, but still treated myself to LOTS of food… Was a little hard for me, not going to lie, but I kept in mind that I needed fuel for the workout I wanted to do today!

Dinner was an English muffin, egg, tomato, onion, a side of cauliflower, tortilla chips!

Dessert was berries with Arctic Zero ice-cream and some animal crackers!!

wpid-IMG_20130808_185427_921.jpg

Poor quality and looks gross but it was AWESOME!

**I am headed to do some apartment moving with mi madre today… boy packing is a pain in the you-know-what! My plan is to get there early, get-er-done, then get out of there!

I am so pumped that I took yesterday off of running, because I REALLY am looking forward to doing some sort of shorter but quicker workout (still NOT TIMED OR WORRIED ABOUT SPEED)! I am thinking fartleks… or a track workout? Perhaps the track workout that Janae at Hungry Runner Girl did yesterday?? Whatever I end up running, I am excited, because running is fun and amazing!

What are your favorite “speed-type’ workouts? (or anything other than a long run)

Any problems with eating/meals on rest days? I

-am trying to get better about it!!

22 comments

  1. Andrea! Popped over from my blog to check you out. Ms. Speedy! And congrats on the triathlon! My husband does Ironmen but you can’t get me on a bike or in the water… just give me my tennis shoes!

  2. pickyrunner · · Reply

    So you’re crazy. I WISH my easy runs were 7:40 pace! That’s like speedy Gonzalez for me haha 8 minutes is more my speed. Anyways, good for you for taking rest days! Technically it wasn’t even a rest day since you went for a bike ride, so maybe that will help ease the guilt ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. I am so so so happy you are running again!! Enjoy every second being out there!
      And yes it was a fun bike ride… but still a ride I guess!! It was nice being outside doing something ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I actually tend to eat less healthy on rest days, which is totally weird and annoying. Looks like you’ve had a great week of workouts!! Happy Friday!

    1. I definitely eat less healthy on rest days too, even though I actually TRY to eat more healthy… it just doesn’t come as easily!!
      Thanks have a great Weekend!!

  4. I just found your blog! I love speed workouts on a treadmill. I like the ones that change speed a lot so I don’t feel like I’m getting bored. I’ve come from a 12-13 minute mile down to 8:30 in 5 months! I can’t wait to get into the 7 minutes area! Keep up the awesomeness!

    1. I definitely love a good treadmill workout! I love pushing the pace and incline on them!! Probably more of a winter thing for me than a summer one…
      WOW GIRL!!!! you have REALLY cut off some time!! That is seriously AMAZING!! You will have no problem getting into the 7’s… and you will love it there!– that is of course until you are rockin’ in the 6’s soon ๐Ÿ™‚ Keep it up!!

  5. Andrea, I just found your blog and really like it! You definitely have a passion for running and it’s inspiring :).

    I have trouble fueling on rest days as well, but I am trying to work on it, because I know it enhances my performance.

    Also state fairs are the bomb! Only at a state fair would you find a cheese sculpture! Happy Friday, and good luck with the apartment moving!

    1. Thank you so much for commenting!! Glad you are enjoying it!

      That is something I am also working on– knowing that rest days are jUST as important as run days because my muscles are trying to repair and need food to do so!

      Haha state fairs have such random stuff!! So interesting to people watch too!

  6. wow! That cheese sculpture really is impressive haha Sometimes on rest days I have to remind myself that I didn’t work out, so I don’t have those extra calories to spare. Like today ๐Ÿ™‚ I woke up and my whole body is exhausted. So I decided to stay in bed a little longer so that I can be fresh for my long run tomorrow.
    Also if you can keep up with Janae and her workouts…wow!! So impressed! Happy Friday!

    1. Yay for listening to your body and taking a rest day! I am hoping to do a long run tomorrow too… I hope we both have INSANELY AWESOME RUNS!! haha
      Janae is AMAZING– um… 3:04 marathon?!?! Hello, Crazy!!
      Have a great weekend girl ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. Seriously she’s so amazing. I can only dream of being as good as her someday! Hope your long run is great!!

  7. Speed is not my favorite…but I think if I’m forced to do it, I’ll start to enjoy it. That’s how it is with strength training! I go to a class because I know I won’t do it by myself, but I LOVE how I feel after the class. I eat anything and everything on rest days and it’s bad.

    1. Yay glad you are loving strength training classes!
      I would love to have a speed work buddy to do it with… I would definitely do it more!
      I am so hungry on rest days!! What is it about rest day’s that make us want to go crazzy!! haha oh well!!

  8. Those baby ducks are so cute! I avoid speed workouts as much as possible; however, since its been over 100 degrees here for the last few months and will be until September or October, I have been running on the treadmill a lot – which gets boring, so I usually add some fartleks on just to give me some variety. Maybe one day I’ll be as speedy as you and Janae ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. WOW that is hott!! I would be running on the treadmill too!! That is dangerously hot!
      I always find that speed work is easier to commit to on a treadmill rather than outside… I love playing with the speed and incline!
      YOU ARE fast girl and are dominating every time you do a workout and let your legs loose!! Don’t forget that ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Hi Andrea- I’ve been reading your blog for awhile ( 1st time commenting). I’m curious as to why you are eating arctic zero instead of real ice cream and dry english muffins all the time if you are working on gaining weight? I’m in the same boat as you and have had to ask myself the same tough questions- just think about it.

    1. Hi Morgan! I actually have never eaten a dry english muffin… I always put butter, peanut butter, honey, cinnamon-sugar, jam, etc on it!! Lots of time I use it for my sandwich since we always seem to be out of bread!!
      As for the Arctic Zero, desserts are still a mental challenge for me, mostly because I don’t (and never have) craved sweet things. I am not a chocolate person… not a sugar person…I enjoy it, but never seem to be that into like most people! I enjoy Arctic Zero, and feel that I am doing a pretty good job of getting calories (from good protein sorces and whole wheat foods) that I don’t need to eat a full fat ice cream that I am not craving in the first place!! If I do, I will do my best to eat it and feel good about it! Thanks for the question ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. I REALLY want to do speed workouts, but with my injury and my newness to running, now is not the time. I’ll live vicariously through you. Those baby ducks are so cute!

    1. Yes speed workout + injury = NOT GOOD! Definitely take it easy! Haha I will be sure to share the painful sweaty details of the speed workouts with you then!! Heal up so you can do them again and love/hate them with me!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a great weekend!

  11. Great week of workouts. I am laughing at your “easy” paces because that would be my sprinting pace, lol! I’ve recently begun doing 400s at my local college track as well as barefoot running on the football field, and I love it. Have a great weekend!

    1. 400’s on the track is an awesome workout!! And barefoot running– SO COOL!! In high school we used to do barefoot stride outs on the soccer field! Feels good on my feet! I don’t think I could ever be a TRUE barefoot runner though— like out on the street!
      I have learned that the pace of runs doesn’t matter and that I enjoy slower runs more than anything!! And I am just thrilled when people are running and LOVING IT!! Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

