Last Night’s SPONTANEOUS Road Race!

Yesterday was interesting and fun and spontaneous!

I accidentally pulled a two-a-day in my runs yesterday… but it was totally awesome and for a good reason!

wpid-IMG_20130807_110146_495.jpg

I get so excited for all my runs these days!! And eww, I hate selfies in the car… but whatcha gonna do?

And let me also say, that yesterday again reassured me that I am doing the right thing in gaining weight and getting healthy! But let me start at the beginning–

Run #1– 7 miles

I drove to a near by park with some AWESOME hills and a 1 mile loop that hits all the best ones! ((I secretly love hills!)) I did 7 laps for 7 miles! I ran without music again… I started off with music and within 3 minutes I was so annoyed by the noise in my ear I had to turn it off. I guess this is a new thing for me!

wpid-IMG_20130807_122535_741.jpg

7.01 miles at a calm 7.40 pace. Loved it on the hills!!!

wpid-IMG_20130807_122609_030.jpg

My New Balances make so happy ๐Ÿ™‚ As does my Road ID– everyone should get one!!

wpid-IMG_20130807_122651_232.jpg

I am doing SUCH a better job fueling after runs!!! Yay for Clif Bars!!

Anyways, my legs were only slightly tired from the 10 mile trail run (aka the greatest run ever) on Tuesday, but they carried me just fine and made for a great little workout!!

I came home and showered and spent the rest of the day helping my mom get ready for her party that she was throwing at our house tonight! So basically… LOTS of cleaning and prepping!!

Run #2– A 1 mile Brewery Race!! ((1/2 mile warm up, 1 mile race, 1 mile cool down))

As I am lounging on the couch, showered and tired and in total lazy mode, my dad comes home from work and quickly changes into his running gear, announcing he is running a 1 mile race for a free beer from The Thr3e Wise Men Brewery. I asked him who he was running it with, and when he said “No one“, I felt so sad and thought of ALL the races he has done just for me and my selfish desires for a running buddy. So I jumped off the couch, threw on my still sweaty and gross running shorts and sports bra and jumped in the car with him!

I had no plans to race or even run hard. I was tired from Tuesday’s trail run and my first run of the morning… But get me in a competitive atmosphere with a bunch of runners, and I just gotta give it my all! I honestly think that is something I was born with– this desire to compete and leave everything on the road. I just always want to do my best, whether that be in school or in sports.

Well, we got to the start line and I started at the very back. The race was SUPER casual. No chip-timing… not even a ‘gun’ or megaphone for the start! Just a, “Ready, GO!”

wpid-IMG_20130807_185411_385.jpg

Simple flags and cones on the Monon Trail– .5 miles down, .5 miles back.

I took off from the back and finally made my way to the start line. I of course forgot that without a chip timer, I just lost 12 seconds on the leaders from the get go! Oops! I decided I wanted to race it, so I took off and started picking off runners, one by one! I love coming from behind!

I finished as the 2nd girl, and to be honest I easily could have been 1st if I had just started near the front!! I got a time of 5:50 and was pretty darn pleased considering I had already done my workout for the day!

wpid-IMG_20130807_185625_946.jpg

Everyone hung around after the race and drank beer and chit chatted! I met some great people! I just love runners!

I felt strong, and even though my legs were tired, they were pushing hard and responding to what I wanted them to do! THAT right there is called fuel and nutrition!! I am getting stronger!! I am able to run a hard mile after two hard workouts in a row!! That would NEVER have happened a few months ago!

**This race AGAIN proved that this whoooole journey I have embarked on this summer (aka OPERATION GET HEALTHY!) is totally worth it! My body is loving the food and fuel I am giving it! I need to keep it up!!

So that was my fun, random, running filled day!! I LOVED IT!

Have you ever run a spontaneous, EXTREMELY LAST MINUTE, race?

Thoughts on a very very short 1 mile race??

26 comments

  1. It’s good to hear that you are doing well with gaining weight & taking care of your body with all of your intense workouts & runs. Keep it up darling โค

    1. Thanks so much Jessie!! It has been fun and it really really has changed my view of my body. I see it now as a machine and a beautiful thing that enables me to do all that I love!
      I hope you are having a wonderful week!!

  2. A 5:50 mile?!? Girl that is AWESOME!!

    1. Thanks girl!! I was pleased ๐Ÿ™‚
      Have a great end of the week!

  3. that’s amazing, especially considering your legs were tired. We ran a St. Patrick’s Day 5k this year and they had beer waiting at the finish line. Its really the best way to finish a race if you ask me, ha!

    1. Thanks!! Oh man a st. patrick’s day race with beer at the end sounds so so fun! For some reason I have never done a st. patty’s day race… i should find one for next year! Make a nice little road trip out of it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Holy speedster! So glad to hear that you are doing so well with fueling and caring for your body! Good for you, sister!

    1. Thank you!!! Up’s and downs, but definitely heading me in the right direction!! Hope you have a great night!

  5. pickyrunner · · Reply

    Jeeeeeez lady, share some of your speed with me, will ya? Seriously! I wish I could be that fast on my “easy runs”. Actually, I wish I could run 7 miles again at all. I can’t wait to get back in the groove! Keep pushing! I think seeing the improvements in your energy and speed will help stay on track for gaining weight.

    1. I have NO DOUBT that you will get back into running and be at full force again! Just give it time! You have a passion and love for it that will get you back there in no time!
      Thanks so much for you support!! Have a great friday and weekend!

  6. I though the whole idea of running with your dad was to run with your dad….oh well…outstanding time for one mile after a 7 mile workout earlier in the day. You mentioned you have a new pair of New Balance shoes. I may have missed it in an earlier post but what model are they? I tried the New Balance 890 V3 and it didn’t work for me. I’m currently training In the Nike Pegasus 30 and so far they have been working well for me. Continued success in all that you do.

    1. With my dad and I, we have actually never “run together” i guess in the sense you assumed. We are different speeds… so when we run races together, we love the drive over, the registration, waiting at the start line together, being nervous and excited together… but we separate on the run portion– then immediately meet up at the finish to hear about each others races!!
      I run in New Balance V3’s and I love them!

  7. Look at you! I am super jealous that you got to run twice!!

    1. Aww thanks girl!! I am so sorry to hear that your hip/back is going to take some complete rest… but I really think that BECAUSE you are in such good shape that you are right now, even a month off with no running will not be a huge set back! for my shin splints this summer (SO BAD) I took off 4 weeks of ZERO RUNNING. I could barely walk!! And within 2 weeks I was back running where I was before! So keep the faith!! You got this!!

  8. I LOVE Cliff Bars! Their white chocolate is one of my faves! Congrats on your 5:50 mile especially for your spontaneous second run ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. CLIF BARS ARE MY JAM!! I don’t think I have had their white choc flavor! I love their chocolate coconut one ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thanks so much girl! it was fun!

      1. How did I not know they had a chocolate coconut one? Looks like I need to go on a Clif Bar scavenger hunt this weekend!

  9. I love how rejuvenated you are lately!! Get it, girl!

    1. Thankss ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope I don’t get too excited and over do something! haha I gotta keep it in check so I can CONTINUE to feel rejuvenated!!
      Have a great night girl!

  10. oh my gosh you speedy thing!! Those times on both runs are amazing! So jealous. I think my legs are getting tired because I swear I didn’t used to be this slow haha Oh well. Whatcha gonna do!?

    I love that you’re getting healthier. That’s whole point of all of this right? ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a great night!!

    1. Just FYI I TOTALLY found that in my marathon training i lost all sort of “speed” that I had. My body was adjusting to be able to run for hours and hours, which is what I was telling it to do, rather than keep up speed and quick leg-turnover because that isn’t really a focus for the marathon. I found my runs getting slower as well during my training! Don’t sweat it! You are just telling your body to do a little different type of running right now! After the race, if you feel like picking up your speed a bit, you can and easily will! Just tell your body it is time to get going FAST again! It will respond ๐Ÿ™‚
      Yayyy keep it up!!!

      1. phew!! Good to know! I’ve seriously been a little worried because when I was training for my half I was getting a bit faster and now all of a sudden it’s gone! But I am training my body to go slower for longer, so it is different. Good thing you’ve done all this before so you can tell me what’s normal ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. […] Blue Mile Brew Mile at Thr3e Wise Men Brewery! 1 mile race– (5:50 pace) 3 miles total including warmup/cool […]

  12. I’m amazed that you ran 7 laps! I am not a fan of running laps…..they make me feel like I’m going in circles and getting absolutely nowhere!!
    Clif bars are so tasty……….noms noms noms. I think I need one now. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Usually laps are not my thing either, but it surrounds the park and is covered with trees and hilly and really beautiful!! So I felt it wasn’t that bad!– better than a track!! Now THERE I feel like I am getting know where!!

      And clif bars… there are no words. I want to work for them and market for them more than anything!! I am obsessed with their products!! Just talking about them makes me crave them too!! yummy yummy ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a great weekend!

  13. […] I was thinking about my runs recently… all my best/fastest workouts have been either as a 2nd workout of the day, during a day when I had a long bike ride before hand, or during a triathlon after having swam and […]

Leave a Reply

