My Greatest Run of 2013

That is a bold title, is it not?

The greatest run, Andrea? Yep. That’s what I said!

Yesterday, after a wonderful, forced day of rest and pampering I literally woke up craving a run and so so excited because I knew I got to! A reward for a rest day is a run day, right!

Sleep has been bad again lately, so I got up insanely early (4:35am– ouch) and ate lots of apples, drank my coffee, and had my multiple bowls of Kashi Granola and Kashi Go lean 🙂 I didn’t run until 9:45am, so of course I had plenty of handfuls of animal crackers to hold me over and give me some energy for my run! ((see how well I am learning to FUEL my body so it can perform at its optimal level??))

I drove over to Eagle Creek Park and decided a long slow trail run was just what I wanted to do!

And it ended up being the greatest run ever.

I do think about my clients when I run!

No music, and I started off slow, with no distance/pace in mind. I got lost on the trails, and lost in my thoughts. Before I knew it, I had run 10 miles.

I couldn’t stop running. I didn’t want to stop running. If it wasn’t for the fact that I had to go to the bathroom so bad and the closest port-a-potty was where my car was parked, I probably would have kept going and going…

I felt so strong, and had an endurance in me that I have not felt before. My legs never did get worn out. No aches and pains kicked in… I couldn’t believe that I had just raced a triathlon on Sunday, and by Tuesday I was feeling amazing and easily running 10 miles. I was shocked and thrilled.

All this, I am convinced, is due to finally admitting I have disordered eating and tackling it head on this summer. I have put on weight, worked on balancing out my eating, slowed down my running, reduced my quantity of workouts for quality workouts, and faced my mental demons head-on.

I cannot tell you how encouraged I am in the improvement in my workouts. I know that the goal is HEALTH and not RUNNING, but since I have been eating more and gaining weight (according to my clothes, not the scale. I don’t do the scale thing anymore) I find that I really don’t care about my weight/what I look like when I see how well my body is responding the the extra fuel.

Seeing these changes (not necessarily in the speed of my runs, but in my endurance and strength) is keeping me motivated to continue on the path that my doctors and I have set out. I leave for school in just a couple weeks, and am very very nervous to be on my own, but I am gaining confidence through every run/workout that I can do this and my body needs and wants me to do this.

Yesterday’s run was perfect and amazing in every sense. And its funny… because a few months ago I would only label a run “perfect and amazing” if I was setting some brutal pace and PR-ing a distance. Now, I don’t even think about that. I dub a run “perfect and amazing” when I am smiling, happy, strong, and already looking forward to the next one!

Have an amazing day everyone!

Do you ever run without music? Like it or hate it?

Trail runners or mainly road runners?

–I am mainly road.. but lately I have really been digging the trails. So much more exciting and beautiful! Also, the dirt is so much softer on my knees/ankles/joints (gosh I sound like an 80 year old!)

26 comments

  1. I don’t really like to run without music, but sometimes it’s nice to get a break from technology. I really like to run without music when I’m in an area where nature is more abundant than traffic. I’m mainly a road runner, though, so that doesn’t happen often!

    1. Same here!! If there is nature sounds… no music! But just traffic and honking and annoying stuff like that… for sure tunes!!

  2. I love this quote, “I find that I really don’t care about my weight/what I look like when I see how well my body is responding the the extra fuel.” I’m new to your journey, but take a step back and think about how far you’ve come to be able to say that! Sounds like you are healthier and stronger than ever! Congrats girl!

    1. Thank you so much Amy! I was just thinking about that earlier today… a few months ago I wasn’t even really sure I WANTED to get help and change my ways! Thank you so much for pointing that out 🙂 I must admit I am feeling pretty good with my progress so far! Still a challenge, but one that I want to face!!

  3. THE GREATEST POST OF 2013 FROM YOUR BEAUTIFUL FACE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I absolutely commend you for this wonderful realization, but even more so, your ACTION to step up and make changes. You are demanding on your body, why not fuel it the way it deserves? You are so incredible, I love reading this kind of thing. Keep it up my love! 🙂 🙂

    1. Aww seriously this was soo kind!! I smiled reading your comment!! Thank you so much for the support and EXCITMENT! I honestly thrive off of the excitedness and !!!!! that you put in your comments haha I love sharing it with you guys!!
      I hope YOU are having an awesome happy day and week!! You rock girl 🙂

  4. Your run sounds amazing! It really makes me want to get out there and run like that right now (but not before breakfast!) I usually run on the road since that’s all I have around, but there is a short trail in the park I might have to check out soon. Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

    1. I am like you! I always eat breakfast before my runs! I could never just “head out the door” and go! I live in a very suburban/residential area, so i had to drive 15-20 mins to the park, but it was so worth it! I don’t do it often, but I am always rewarded with a great run when I do!! Hope you have a great run 🙂

  5. Runner Girl Eats · · Reply

    Congrats on the best run of the year! Some of my favorite runs are music free, solo and slow 🙂

    1. Thanks! i am learning those 3 things are almost always the key to a great run 🙂

  6. those are the best runs! I ran a 15km race a few weeks ago and my music app on my phone wouldn’t work so I ran the whole 15km without music. I actually loved it!!

    1. haha I have had that happen during a race too! I was mad at first, but it ended up being fine! Glad you made it! 15k is pretty long without music… especially if you weren’t planning on it! It’s probably good for us to unplug like that every now and then!

  7. Our cross country lately has just been run wherever you want and be back in 2 hours. I go musicless and hit the trails or run around town. They’ve been my favorite runs too, and I haven’t wanted them to end! I’m so glad your run went well! That’s so encouraging when you can see results and know what you’re doing is right even though everyone and their mom will tell you you’re doing what’s right! 10 miles is incredible for 2 days after a triathlon! I signed up for my first triathlon for next summer because of you and I am SO excited! I hope I feel this good when I’m done 🙂

    1. YAY!!! Big smile reading this! So happy you are signed up for a tri! You will love it and rock it! I have no doubt about that!
      A “do/go wherever” run for 2 hours sounds so awesome! Great idea for a training run.. I have been thinking about starting to just do all my runs by Time rather than Distance. We will see!
      Yes, having fun relaxed runs (regardless of my pace) has really made me happy and want to continue feeding my body to give it energy and fuel to do it some more! The body is a funny thing!

  8. YES YES YES!! This post doesn’t need a ‘like’ button, it needs a “LOVE” button!!! I know exactly how you feel, from the uncharted trail run of awesome to realizing you need to EAT to perform and seeing the results of that. I am so very happy to hear how amazing you feel, and that everything is falling into place for you. I can totally relate, I stopped caring about calories/numbers/eating and just let myself do my thing, I eat whatever (mindfully) and whenever I’m hungry, I snack without guilt, fuel before/during/after runs without thinking about ‘extra’ calories (nonsense), don’t care if I dip into a bag of chips or crackers (animal crackers and apples=deliciousness and perfect fuel, by the way, my kind of eats! I crave apples all the time, it’s a sickness lol) and it’s been working out. My body is stronger than ever, I don’t feel exhausted all the time, recovery is a dream..
    Doesn’t almost feel too good to be true??? But then you realize, normal people train like this and feel like this all the time, it’s supposed to feel like this. It’s incredible.
    I am so proud of you, and inspired by you. You’re kicking ass 😀

    1. haha I loved EVERYTHING about this comment!!! You are so right!! It’s like, “Duhh Andrea, everyone has been telling you to fuel properly…” but no matter how many EXPERTS would tell me, i doubted them! Now, after experiencing it for myself, I GET IT!!
      I love to hear about your eating/snacking… that is how I have been doing it lately too which is a BIG changed from the past two years! But I am feeling hungry all the time and I am feeling the energy during the workout, enabling me to go further! So I love it!
      Thank you so much for the awesome awesome comment and support and sharing and everything! I loved it 🙂 Thanks girl, have a great day!

  9. 1) I read your blog regularly, and although I don’t know you, I feel so accomplished FOR YOU. You should be so proud of yourself for how far you’ve come! You are so STRONG!
    2) As far as music, it just depends on the day. Sometimes the rhythm of my feet is enough, but then there are days that I want to sing along to some hard rap as I run (which is weird bc I can ONLY handle rap when running).
    3) Being that I am clumsy, I stick to the roads, BUT whenever I can get to the trails with my brother, I do it. After the Richmond and Kiawah marathons this year, a trail ultra is next on my list…so I’d better get used to it…

    -H

    1. haha Thanks Hayley!! I read yours every day too and I LOVE it 🙂 Your excitement for me means the world! Seriously thank you so much… sounds cheesy but the advice and encouragment that I have gotten from you and the blogging community has been THE #1 thing that has helped me 1.) seek help, and 2.) Keep on Keepin’ on! So thank you! And being identiftied as ‘Strong’ is one of my favorite descriptions and what I strive for both mentally and physically.. so hearing (reading?) you say that just made me feel so good 🙂

      I agree!– when i am running… sometimes I just want good, hard, straight-from-the-hood RAP. I don’t know what it is… because I never ever listen to it (eww.) but some times when you are pounding the pavement… ya… you just need the hard core stuff.

      Ahhh a trail ultra! So cool! WOW that is impressive… one day for me! I am doing Richmond this year too!! I am so excited! I have heard amazing things about it!

  10. Hi Andrea, I recently started reading your blog – congratulations on your first tri! That’s an awesome accomplishment! As for myself running – typically I run with music, but some days, I prefer listening to everything and nothing around me 🙂

    1. Hi Christine! Thanks so much for reading and commenting!! I know what you mean.. some days the music is so distracting that it annoys me right away and i have to turn it off. Other days, I can’t image getting through a workout without it! I always have my ipod just in case though! Never know what you will feel like that day 🙂

  11. Those runs are the best, and a bit rare for me 🙂 I always run with music when I run solo, but without music when I run with friends. I have the worst coordination, so I stick to roads.

    I love this post – very inspirational to hear your successes! Congratulations!

    1. Thanks girl!!
      Don’t worry… these runs arn’t an every day, normal run for me!! That is what makes them so special when they DO occur 🙂
      I hear you on the coordination thing!!– always afraid I am going to kill myself from a root/rock/twig/whatever!! haha

  12. […] my legs were only slightly tired from the 10 mile trail run (aka the greatest run ever) on Tuesday, but they carried me just fine and made for a great little […]

  13. […] 10 mile trail run–BEST RUN OF 2013 (and maybe life??) (1:20.00 at about 8.05 […]

  14. […] My greatest run ever? (i have had many of these…) […]

  15. […] Best Run? This is a harder question than “What’s your favorite movie?” I had so many. But here are some top ones–Trail Run(s), Chicago 20 Miler, This One, […]

Leave a Reply

