Tri Indy Race RECAP!

I am still 100% on a HIGH!!

I had SUCH a fun time! I chalk it up to all the “good lucks” you posted for me yesterday ๐Ÿ™‚

Here is my Triathlon recap!

4am: Wake up way to excited/anxious to go back to sleep!

4:15am: Eat 3 apples, whole wheat english muffin with Peanut-butter, and…. handfull-ish of animal crackers!

5:35am: Leave with my #1 fan–Dad!–to go downtown for the race!

5:45am: Starbucks Coffee!!!!

6:30am: Dad drops me off at transition area for me to set up my things

6:30-7:25am: Go to the bathroom 1 million times, have another granola bar, set up my things exactly like my neighbors have them because I really have no idea what I am doing…

DSC_4071

Gross water, but fun to swim where people were able to walk along the canal and cheer you on!

7:30am: START!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Jumped into the water!–1500meters— In the Canal! Not much to report other than the water was very gross… but whatever! It is was great and I tried to swallow as little water as possible!

TOTAL SWIM TIME= 29.43

Run out of the water and slightly fall down the steps back into water… oops!!! don’t worry, I got it together and made it to my bike!

DSC_4073

Mid cap-rip-off…. right after I nearly stumbled back down the stairs into the canal…

Took off on the bike!–24.8 miles— I wanted to do well on the run and I took the bike most conservatively… I also was scared to death of a flat tire (happened TWICE last year) and did not want to wreck!!! So I went relatively hard, but by no means really pushed it. Like I said… I was NOT looking to wipe out around a corner or kill myself in a pot hole on the downtown roads.

DSC_4074

Always smilin’ for the camera ๐Ÿ™‚

TOTAL BIKE TIME= 1:16.23 (avg pace= 19.5 mph)

DSC_4077

Taking off on the run! It was a BEAUTIFUL day!!!

Took off on the run!–6.2 miles-– I fueled really well on the bike, and was anxious to see how I would feel on the run. The first 1.5 miles, I had a great stride and pace, but I had the WORST side cramp ever. I just ran through it, grabbed a Gatorade at the aid station and IMMEDIATELY the cramp went away. Then… the race was on!!! I felt fantastic on the run!!! I was so happy!! I wanted to sprint from the get go, but I made myself hold back until mile 3… then picked it up… then at picked up again at mile 4… then once I hit mile 5 it was GO TIME!

DSC_4080

Always gotta kick it in STRONG!!!

TOTAL RUN TIME= 41.20 (avg pace= 6.39min/mile)

TOTAL TIME= 2:31.33

PLACE OVERALL= 88th

OVERALL WOMEN= 11th

AGE GROUP= 2nd

DSC_4081

I finished the race with the biggest smile on my face!!! I saw/heard my dad at all the events, running around like a crazy person cheering for me!! I loved it! I found my dad at the finish and, according to him, talked a mile a minute about the race and was just literally high on life!!

I didn’t wear a watch the whole race AND my computer on my bike is broken. So I literally had no idea what my time was….

So when I saw my run time later in the afternoon… I was thrilled! I was so worried since I had been having heavy legs…. slow runs… “feeling BIGGER“….but you know what?! Everything that you all and my nutritionist and my doctors have been telling me about getting stronger with weight gain and stronger with rest days/slower runs….seemed to be true!!

A 6.39 pace after swimming and biking was better than I EVER thought I would run!

And throughout the entire triathlon I just felt STRONG!

I have an appointment today with Heather my nutritionist (and who is an AMAZING triathlete) and I cannot wait to tell her about the race!

Thank you all for the words of encouragement and support!! Means the world to me!

Ever done a triathlon? Anyone else get dizzy after the swim portion??

What are you MOST looking forward to this week?

29 comments

  1. pickyrunner · · Reply

    This is seriously incredible and I’m so happy for you! See, all that healthy fueling is doing wonders for your body to power you through!

    1. Thank youuu!!! It was so encouraging to see the hardwork revealed in my race!! Thank you for your excitement !!! I was so happy to tell you guys haha ((am I weird for that?? yes, don’t care!))

  2. Runner Girl Eats · · Reply

    Congrats on 2nd in your AG! You are a champ!

    1. Thanks so much! I was shocked haha not expecting that!!

  3. Great job! Highs from races are seriously the best.

    1. Absolutely! I was on cloud nine all day ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks so much!

  4. Awesome job!! You completely killed it! Most importantly, I love how well you were able to fuel before and during the race. You felt strong and that shows you are doing a great job with giving your body what it needs ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thank you so much!!!
      I was most proud about the eating i did during the race actually! That was the first time and I felt it really keep my energy up! I loved it!!

      I am doing better giving my body what it needs… I just need to remember to do that on rest days where I eat poorly and make bad choices and feel weird not working out– like today!!

  5. I knew you would do incredible! I’m so happy for you! You look so happy the whole time, which is the point of doing the triathlon! I’m going to try to do one next summer. I am already so excited! I’m glad this race made you feel more peace about your body. That’s just as important as not getting a flat bike tire ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. haha yes you are so right!
      Yay totally do a tri! you will love it!! they are so much fun! Yes the race really helped me with continuing the nutrtion process… i just have to remember that on a recovery day like today i need to keep up the fuel/food. I always snack SO BADLY on rest days and don’t give myself proper meals. ughh I will get there…

  6. awesome job! i can’t imagine tackling so many sports in a single go.

    1. Thank you!!
      And i have NO DOUBT that you are totally in shape for a triathlon! Girl you kill it on your runs and your endurance is through the roof!! You would be a GREAT triathlete! Basically I am saying you need to do one and then tell me how much you love it ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Congrats on a great race–you should be really proud of yourself! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Aww thank you so much!! I felt good out there and enjoyed every second!

  8. This is seriously like the best post EVER. THIS is what running/racing is all about!! The exhilaration, the high, the pride, the happiness! CONGRATS!!! I’m thrilled you had such a great race, and in the midst of your recovery…You’ll remember this day forever.

    1. Thank you so much!!!! you are right!!! I will remember this forever!! At the finish line I KNEW i was doing my body and mind right by getting healthy and I wanted to continue to strive toward it!
      Your excitement for me is seriously the greatest!!! Thank you so much!! It made me so happy to tell you guys because you all have been such HUGE supports. I wish I could thank you in a bigger way than just a “thanks” haha
      Have a great night Ali!!

  9. Wow, that’s an amazing time! I’d love to do a triathlon, but I am NOT a strong swimmer. Great job!

    1. thank you so much!!! You can absolutely do a triathlon if you want to! I promise!! You just may have to get used to swimming a bit more haha… but I definitely think you need to put this on your to-do list!! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thanks and have a great night!!

  10. Way to go!! very impressive! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thank you so much! I have such a fun time!!

  11. Dang girl, I knew you would do wonderful but that you had a seriously great race! It look alike such a gorgeous day and I am so glad you enjoyed it so much! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thank you so much I was very lucky on the weather! It was bright blue skies and positively beautiful! Thank you so much ๐Ÿ™‚ I had so much fun and can’t wait to do some more!! Have a great day!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. […] the triathlon on Sunday (read about it HERE) I treated myself in 3 ways […]

  13. […] get worn out. No aches and pains kicked in… I couldn’t believe that I had just raced a triathlon on Sunday, and by Tuesday I was feeling amazing and easily running 10 miles. I was shocked and […]

  14. […] TRIATHLON!!! Click on the link to read about it […]

  15. […] as a 2nd workout of the day, during a day when I had a long bike ride before hand, or during a triathlon after having swam and […]

  16. […] I decided yesterday was a perfect day to practice! So I grabbed a free Gel pack that I got from the Triathlon last week and took […]

  17. […] but not giving up!! The 4th place I called finally had an opening (same place as after the triathlon)!! Perseverance is key people! I needed work on my back, shoulders, and neck. Lifting has made […]

  18. […] My Olympic Distance Triathlon! […]

Leave a Reply

