Running is Beautiful

Happy Friday!

This post today is short, sweet, and fueled by the overwhelming happiness I got from my unexpected 10 mile run yesterday…

Nothing special happened. I didn’t take a new route, I didn’t run with a friend… I didn’t meet a guy and fall in love (oh my gosh this is how I would want it to happen though…)

I just tied up my shoes, and took off.

I have been loving my “run slower” approach. I am completely rediscovering the absolute BEAUTY that running is and provides. I had no goal distance yesterday, no goal pace. I was purely out there For The Love Of The Run.

I had a smile on my face that didn’t fade.

I found myself looking down at my striding legs and pounding feet, just in awe of their resilience and endurance.

I kept thinking…“How lucky am I that I get to do this? I have the ability to RUN…”

Sometimes, this moment just hits you. We have all felt it before. It doesn’t happen every run. Not even once a month necessarily…. but that is why it makes these runs so magical and special when you do get that ultimate, all-consuming JOY.

I truly believe I am talking with God on my runs and bringing Joy to His name… I feel so intimate with Him in those solitary moments when it is just Us. It is almost like I am shouting His name with every step.

Yesterday’s run was a reminder of why I run. And as I drove to my therapy appointment and saw an older man pounding the pavement next to me with a slight grimace on his face, revealing the effort he was putting forth and the strength of his willpower… I again felt the High. I felt the High for Him, I felt the High for Me, I felt the High for everyone.

We runners are a strange breed…a strange and Beautiful breed.

I wish you all a day full of Joy and unexpected beautiful moments!

When was your last “Beautiful” run?

What makes a run perfect in your mind?

13 comments

  1. I love when you have those kinds of runs! I will just take a pain free run right now! Getting super frustrated with this stupid hip/back/IT thing at the moment!!

    1. bahh no!!! So sorry! Frustrating to say the least… hang in there and try to keep your mind positive! Maybe there is another activity that will get you sweating and get those endorphins up that doesn’t aggravate your back/hip? ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  2. pickyrunner · · Reply

    I’m so happy for you! This run sounds perfect (even if you didn’t meet your dream man… Give it time) and I can only hope I have the same luck when I head out for a run soon!

    1. I will send you good running vibes ๐Ÿ™‚ You got it girl!

  3. Runner Girl Eats · · Reply

    My last beautiful run was on vacation by the bay. A perfect run for me is one where I feel strong and take time to enjoy my scenery ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Absolutely! feeling strong is so rewarding… and I have definitely started taking in the scenary more on runs! Especially in the mornings with no one out and the sun just coming up… WOW.

  4. I LOVE the freedom of a run like that! Unplanned, not for training purposes, but just to enjoying running in itself. I’m so glad you had a good one!!

    1. Thanks!! Yes it was wonderful out! perfect temperature FINALLY!!!

  5. I feel this way mostly when I am trail running. I LOVE it. I always remember to feel grateful- it’s hard not to when surrounded by that much nature and beauty!

    1. I agree!!! Trail runs do it for me too!! I love running them without music and just enjoying LIFE!!!

      1. I know. Even when I try to listen to music my Spotify never works when I get in the woods. It’s like it knows that I need to just unplug from everything and take everything in!

      2. haha “it knows…” the woods ALWAYS know best ๐Ÿ™‚
        love to hear it! And LOVE your blog!

      3. I am glad to hear it; thanks so much for taking the time to stop by!

Leave a Reply

