Big 10k recap, Chicago, and Friends!

I am writing via my android… so bear with me!

I have been in Chi town since Friday staying with two of my best friends! Saturday me and Christine ran the Big Ten 10k together and it was so great to be able to pace her and push her through the last few miles as she got a PR !! We did it in 48.47 and I was so so so proud of her! She keeps saying “I’m not a runner!!” And I am like, “Girl….. you ARE!!”

It was fun to keep 8 min pace throughout the run and see what that felt like because that is what I am hoping to do the Richmond Marathon in. So it was great pacing practice!!

image

After the race there were Big Ten stuff everywhere…. and there were representatives from Cliff Bar with FREE SAMPLES!!! Remember… my greatest loves in life are Cliff Bar, Salomon shoes, and Costco. So yes, I was pumped!

image

image

We went to brunch and spent the rest of the afternoon eating, chatting, and watching Silver Linings Play Book. Great movie!

We then got all bundled up for the White Sox game! It was freezing in Chicago all weekend! Like low 60’s high 50’s!! We couldn’t believe it! We tailgated with our Starbucks hot tea for a few hours (along with actual tailgating with hot dogs and chips in the back of someone’s pickup truck…) then headed in for a looong game!

image

image

These are three of my best friends in the world!! I love and miss them so much and it was a blessing to be reunited!

image

The White Sox are one of the worst teams in the league… oh well, good thing I don’t care a bit about baseball!!!

It was so great to be out of my comfort zone all weekend because I surprised myself so many times. I was in a different environment and just relaxed and went with the flow. My friends are totally caught up on my disordered eating and treatment and everything so they were really respectful and aware of my comfort and what not. Their concern meant so much to me and made me laugh that I ever doubted that it would be a hard or anxious weekend!

That is all my little phone can handle! With give you some pictures tomorrow and later this week! Hope you all had a fantastic weekend!!

10 comments

  1. pickyrunner · · Reply

    I’m glad you’re having a great weekend! This is how you know you’re making progress! Also nice job on that race, too! It’s more fun racing with people because you get more out of it, I feel like. Enjoy your Sunday πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks! Yes it was the first fun relaxing race I have done in…. well… forever!!!
      Thanks girl hope you have a great week πŸ™‚

  2. So glad you’re having a great weekend!! And awesome job at the race!

    1. Thanks Brooke! It was fun to run with my friend and she did AMAZING! I am on a runners high from HER race!!

  3. I always have to wonder at people who run anything above a 5k and still insist they’re not runners! You are so right: your friend is definitely a runner!

    1. Yes THANK YOUU!! I keep telling her… and she just keeps looking at me like I am crazy! haha I will get it through to her one of these days πŸ™‚

  4. Um you are AMAZING! I love that girl at the Cliff Bar stand smiling at the camera! Photo bombing classic!

    Oh, and please tell your friend she is a runner ASAP! There are people who can’t even do a mile who say they’re runners! She IS a runner!

  5. Sounds like a great weekend! Congrats on an amazing race!

  6. […] had a great weekend with my best friends! (Read about it HERE!) They are living the life in Chicago in an AWESOME apartment and have GREAT jobs and are just […]

  7. […] Big Ten 10k race (recap HERE) Paced a friend who rocked it and PR’d her 10k! […]

Leave a Reply

