Richmond Marathon Training! Yikes! Help!

Yesterday I had a FANTASTIC lifting session with some new PR’s!!

–got an 80# power clean

–nailed a 95# split jerk

Felt great! I was there for a while… totally being that girl grunting and crying as I would go for a heavier lift. #sorryimnotsorry???

I then followed it up later in the day with a wonderful WALK!! Yes you read right… a nice leisure 4 mile walk on the Monon Trail ๐Ÿ™‚

wpid-IMG_20130724_152000_878.jpg

I just Love Love Love using this trail… so great!!

Now I know, November seems a loooong way off... yet some how I feel like the Richmond Marathon has snuck up on me and it is right around the corner! It is starting to hit me that I am running a marathon soon! Yikes!

I have run one before, the Marine Corps in 2011, but that was 2 years ago and I am honestly convinced that the absolutely amazing enjoyment I got from that race was a fluke and entirely due to luck. Therefore, I am scared to death for the marathon and wondering how in the world I am going to do this!!

I did not follow a training plan for the Marine Corps. I basically ran during the week, then ran a long one on the weekend. That was it. This time, however, I would really like to follow a set schedule. Since the bulk of my training will be done while I am at school, I will really need to be organized in my training to keep me on track! And I am hoping that a schedule will keep me injury free!!

After consulting with some fellow runners/bloggers — Cori at Olivetorun —ย  I am considering either Hal Higdon (whose approach I am familiar with) and The Hanson Method (which I am not so familiar with).

I would LOVE input and to hear what worked for you guys and all that fun stuff!!

12 comments

  1. yogachic1212 · · Reply

    Trails are awesome for running or walking!! Love the scenic route ๐Ÿ™‚ And girl, believe me, I started freaking out about training when I signed up for my first half, which isn’t even until this March! I’ve heard awesome things about Hal Higdon’s plans so I’d definitely give that a shot!

    1. Awesome thanks for the input!! yayyy your first half!! so excited for you!!

  2. Whenever I choose a training plan I think about what my goals are first. Do I want to simply finish, enjoy the race, go for a new PR, not be soar for days because I have another race soon, etc. I’ve used and recommended Hal Higdon’s plans in the past-especially to beginners. When I wanted to get faster I used Jeff Gaudette’s time plan on Runkeeper because of the speed work. This cycle, before I sprained my ankle, I decided to use a training plan from the book Advanced Marathoning by Peter Pfitzinger and Scott Doufglas to shake up my training and add miles and speed. I don’t know much about the Hanson Method.

    Think about what you know about yourself as a runner, too. I struggle with fueling and keeping my paces around mile 20-23 in a race, so choosing a plan without a 20 mile run wouldn’t work for me. My plan has 3 this time around. If you are more injury prone or don’t have this problem, then the Hanson Method might be great. Let us know what you choose! I’m sure there are many other plans out there.

    1. wow that you this was SUPER helpful!! I am a little nervous of injury and my body never does respond well to high weekly mileage… so I would probably rather choose a plan that is a little more conservative and “safe”, if you will… My only other marathon went great and I had no “bonking” or anything ((but maybe i just got lucky??))
      Thanks again for the advice ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I love trail walking. It’s so relaxing but it can totally become a tough workout!

    Don’t worry about your marathon! I KNOW you’ll be fine! Whenever I’m training for a race I have to have a super detailed plan. I’m not that person who can halfheartedly train and then finish. Sadly. You know yourself and your abilities though, so I’m sure you will be fine! You can do it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thanks girl!
      I actually rarely plan out a workout or race… I always wing it and base all my runs on “how I feel”… so that is why I am MORE nervous for having a plan!
      Thanks for the excitement and encouragement ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I have no input because I’m a newb too, but I hope to learn from the comments you get on this! If your first marathon was awesome, your second will be awesome, too!

    1. Yes yes please use the suggestions to help you too!! haha we can be nervous together! I was afraid that first marathon was a “fluke” bc i just had so much fun and felt so good that I didn’t think it was possible to have another one that good!!

  5. YAY!!! congrats on the new PR’s!! I LOVE the split jerk- so much fun! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. so happy to hear you love split jerks!! they ARE the best and so much fun! you feel so hardcore in the gym when you do them ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Congrats on your PR!

  7. […] a.m: Weight lifting only– HEAVY!!!! New PR’s! ((Recap HERE)) […]

Leave a Reply

