Adios, Scales and Mirrors!

No Scales, No Mirrors.

This is how it is going to be for a while.

A few days ago, I asked my mom to hide my scale in my bedroom. I just couldn’t handle it staring me in the face anymore and it would literally shout at me to jump on it and hold my breathe as I watched the number formulate in front of me. No more. My mom (who usually has to be reminded of things 4 or 5 times) heard me the first time. Next time I walked into my room, it was gone. Goodness I love her! Goodbye Scale, Your number no longer determines the happiness of my day.

I mentioned in my previous posts (HERE) that body image is the hardest. Watching my stomach, thighs, hips, get bigger is just terrifying. I have decided that mirrors are just not for me. Obviously I can’t get rid of every mirror I encounter, but I can give myself strict time limits that I spend in front of them. And I can force myself to leave my clothes ON while in front of them. I can decided that I can only stare straight ahead an not turn my body to the side to measure the protrusion of my stomach… Yes, these things I can and will do. Goodbye Mirrors, You no longer own all of my time and worry.

For 4ish days now, I have had no scale and no mirror telling me what to “think” of myself. I am working out, drinking protein drinks and eating bars immediately after lifting and running, I am overall taking in more calories throughout my day… and I am succeeding in this because I am not turning to the scale and praying that the number doesn’t rise or running to the bathroom mirror to see what my stomach looks like. It has been such a relief!!! I just keep moving forward, doing/eating what I know I need, and not what other deceiving factors tell me.

**I am loving this so far! I hope I am able to hang in there… because I think this is a huge step in my treatment and recovery process!!**

Today I plan on a long, slowww run! — I am working on slow running. It seems the consensus the other day was that slow running was the safest and most effect way to go! Sounds good to me! I need some slow-down in my life!

Hope you all have a great Tuesday full of LOVE and LAUGHTER and SILLINESS!!

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understand.  In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make straight your paths.”

Proverbs 3:5-6

Are unhealthy habits you would like to break in your life?

Races?? Any races soon??

–I am running a for-fun 10k on Saturday in Chicago 🙂

20 comments

  1. Melissa @ Freeing Imperfections · · Reply

    I love that Proverb! I think every woman who has ever tried to get into good shape has an opinion, or rather issue, with the scale. It’s true that a number should not and cannot determine any kind of happiness. For a while, I was definitely letting it dictate how i felt about myself. Now I listen to my body and feel good about myself when I’m physically feeling good, not when I am a certain number.

    1. So great for you!! It is hard to train yourself to listen to your body.. what it needs and how you feel… rather than the scale or mirror. That is so awesome you can overcome that!! And yes… that proverb is one of my favorite!! 🙂

  2. pickyrunner · · Reply

    I ditched the scale a year ago and never looked back. It caused too many emotions and I have maintained around the same size since I stopped weighing myself. I think we can see how much we’ve progressed based on how our clothes fit and how we feel!

    1. Exactly. While I am looking out for signs of how my clothes fit and how I feel… I am also just working on learning not to care as much!! I need to not place so much value in how I look! it is actually extremely vain of me which I don’t want to be! So yes… taking away the scale and mirror has helped me put less emphasis on how I look… but I def still have a ways to go mentally to identify myself with other things in life!
      YAYYY for you for going THAT LONG without a scale and being happy about it!! Seriusly WOW Sarah! So encouraging!!

  3. I can completely understand ditching the scale! Too much of our mindset is determined by those numbers which can fluctuate for so many reasons! Good for you girly!

    1. Great point Brooke! Yes those numbers fluctuate DAILY! I forget that and would freak out when I would see the number change 4 or 5 pounds in a day— obviously that was water weight, bloating, salt factors… but mentally I would freakout that I just gained 5 pounds of fat IN ONE DAY. Clearly not the case haha
      Thanks Brooke 🙂 Have a great week!

  4. Wow, way to go. I tried to go scale-less last year for a week and couldn’t do it. I know it’s silly and that your weight fluctuates naturally throughout the day/week depending on what you eat’, drink, sodium content, whatever. But still, I felt tortured. I started having nightmares (I told you I felt tortured) about weighing myself … I just wasn’t ready. But maybe now that a year has passed ? Keep it up and keep on inspiring others!

    1. If you are ready to try again… by all means GO FOR IT!! If you have some one to hold you accountable and “hide” the scale like they did for me, I would definitely encourage that! It was not easy at all for me, and the biggest thing that helped was keeping myself busy busy busy!! I didn’t allow time to think about weighing myself!!
      I definitely understand feeling tortured by the scale and its awful little power over our heads. Just remember how STRONG you are… if you decided to try again, grit your teeth, get passionately mad at the the scale and out loud tell it that it has NO POWER OVER YOU! That is what I did!! 🙂 Good luck girl, keep me updated!!

  5. Good for you! I remember when I made that decision- I had to bring my scale into group therapy and we all had a scale-throwing-away-ceremony. Unfortunately, I bought another one a few years later and I’m working on detaching myself from it again… I’ve gotten down to weighing myself once or twice a week, instead of 3 or 4 times a day, so I guess that’s progress.

    Anyway- keep up the dedication! It’s so hard to constantly fight yourself on these compulsions, but you CAN do it! 🙂

    1. Oh my gosh a scale throwing party! I would have loved that!! Instead I stared at it and yelled at it that it had No Power over me!! I was alone, but I would have loved to have been with a group yelling/stomping/throwing things at it 🙂
      That is GREAT that you have been able to cut back to a few times a week… I know that I wouldn’t be able to control myself with just a few times a week, so I quit cold turkey! Maybe in the future some day…? Maybe not! We will see!! Thanks, as always, for sharing Corrine!! Have a great day!

  6. travels with mary · · Reply

    this is so wonderful. I’ve been trying to break my habit of checking the scale first thing in the morning, because it totally effects my mood for the whole day, and I don’t need to give it that power! I’m going to once a week weigh-ins, because I do want to monitor my weight as I switch some medications, but after I am sure we are stable and healthy, I’m going to quit the thing for good!

    1. Awesome girl!!! Great to hear! For some people the scale has no power over them and weighing theselves is just another # in their day… for others it affects our day, attitude, persona, relations with others… that is how it was for me and it was getting in the way of my recovery to health!
      Only you know if you are ready to get rid of that thing! Just know you are so much stronger than you think you are, and if you set your mind to it, it can be done!! Have a great day! 🙂

  7. YAY! I hate the scale too and since recovery have basically avoided it like the plague. I am at a place now where I can weigh myself and not let that number effect my life so much. I still choose not to weigh myself though, but I can pretty much tell what I weigh based on feeling these days 🙂

    1. Wow that is so great to hear that you have overcome the power of that little number! I know i will one day be at that point, but for now I just have to avoid it completely!! I need to remember that it has no power over me or my day! I am definitely going off of how I feel, listening to my body and responding that way rather than by the number– or by the image I see in the mirror! I think both are mis-representations of health!!
      Have a great day 🙂

  8. Amanda · · Reply

    I haven’t owned a scale in more than 10 years. One of the best decisions I have ever made. I also refuse to buy one. The only time I know my weight is when I go to my parents’ house and give in and weigh myself or I am weighed at the doctor’s office. Sometimes I am upset by the number, because that will always be at least a small issue I imagine, but I am able to quickly let it go since I can’t obsess with follow-up “weigh ins.” I hope that you find it freeing, and getting past that number allows you to focus on your health.

    1. Yes, I can’t imagine that the # will never produce any emotions… but I think it is the way in which we handle it and view that # and ourselves. That is so great that you have gone so long with out a scale besides a few weigh-in’s here and there! Already the week without it has been so much more freeing! That combined with the No Mirror thing has made a huge difference. Still a HUGE URGE to look at my self naked and at all angles to analyze the “damage” of a big meal and protein shakes… but I have resisted and it is getting easier!! 🙂
      Great job and thanks for sharing! That is really encouraging to hear!!

  9. This is a brilliant step!!! With scales and mirrors gone, your recovery will be that much faster! Good job!!

    1. Thanks so much!! some days it is easy to ignore and not think about the mirror… but other days, like today, I was feeling very large and uncomfortable and stuff, and all I wanted to do was look in the mirror!!!!
      ahh it is a work in progress… but DEFINITELY progress!!

  10. […] too often or too much weight… or if this is all a side effect from weight gain that I feel SURE I have put on in the last few weeks. Maybe a combination of […]

  11. […] Giving up mirrors and scales. […]

Leave a Reply

