Gettin’ High on a Run and Protein Shake Newbie

A RUN is just what I needed.

Thursday and Friday just plain sucked. Don’t know why. I was very very down in the dumps and just could not get passed that barrier of emotion. Friday I was so mean to everyone… literally biting their heads off. I feel so badly. Sleep has been worse than ever and I think it finally got to me yesterday.

After 3 naps yesterday (LONG naps) and not being motivated to leave the house… I decided what I was missing was a huge dose of endorphins. Since Thursday was a complete rest day (Dr. B wants me to take a full rest day now) I knew that I had been missing the workout “high” for over a day. So I strapped on the running shoes.

I ran for 1 hour and did about 8.75 miles at the hottest point of the day– 3:30-4:30pm. Ouch. But I found some shade. It was so nice to hit the pavement. I did not use GPS. I tried to just run comfortable and let my body dictate the pace. It felt great. I just let my legs go and turned off my mind. It is runs like these that I feel so blessed to have the ability to do this… “this” being, my body can go out and run for an hour and I can love it. I have to remember that this is a gift that I must every day be thankful for.

After arriving back at the car, I had something with me that I had never tried before, and in all honesty, scared me. I had a protein shake all ready to go.

wpid-IMG_20130719_164109.jpg

Protein Shake of Progenix post run… first time trying this!!

The old me was yelling, “Andrea there are so many calories in those shakes! You will drink in 5 seconds all the calories that you just ran 1 hour to burn!!” But what I learned, was that the louder that voice in my head was shouting, the more determined I was to drink it to shut it up and prove it wrong. So I downed it. It was Progenix that I got from my CrossFit box a few months ago.

I decided that protein shakes are going to be good for me, mentally and physically, after my workouts. I was only planning on drinking them after a weight lifting session, but I realized lets just do it all the time– I already lack in the protein department anyways!

I am not sure if I want to stick with Progenix, or switch to Casein Protein, Whey Protein, Muscle Milk, or Sun Warriorย … I have heard different reactions to all of these.

I WOULD LOVE YOUR OPINIONS/HELP ON DIFFERENT PROTEIN PRODUCTS!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a fantastic weekend!!

What are your weekend Plans? Any Races?

What protein shake do you drink? What have you heard about them… what do you recommend? Also, WHEN should I take a protein shake?

 

14 comments

  1. pickyrunner · · Reply

    I’m not a big fan of protein powder so I can’t really give you advice there. My nutritionist and doctor always told me to drink milkshakes instead. But I’m glad you’re doing what you need to do instead of giving into the temptations. And that run- girl you are crayyyy! And speedy ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. haha i love that… milkshakes after a run!!! I will have to start encorporating that ((if I can… little scary, but I would love to challenge myself to drink one!!))
      And thanks girl!! felt good to stretch the legs out!! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Have a great weekend!

  2. I’m not a huge protein powder fan, but Sun Warrior is one that agrees with my stomach and isn’t too chalky!

    1. interesting! thanks for your input! I will let you know what I decide!

  3. I love protein shakes. I have Cytomax after every run ๐Ÿ™‚ They have muscle milk flavors like graham cracker (my favorite) or vanilla..chocolate peanut butter. Basically, wonderful flavors! It’s a great recovery drink!

    1. Those sound yummy!!! I will look into this! Thanks so much for your input!!

  4. olivetorun · · Reply

    I really don’t drink a lot of protein shakes but when I do I use Muscle Milk Lite or Designer Whey. I usually prefer to just have egg whites with salsa (like it spicy) instead ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. haha yes i would rather “eat” than “drink” after a run… but I don’t usually have time to actually cook when I get home…. but thanks I will look into those two protein drinks!!!

  5. […] have had no scale and no mirror telling me what to “think” of myself. I am working out, drinking protein drinks and eating bars immediately after lifting and running, I am overall taking in more calories […]

  6. […] and for my weight lifting (lifting heavier, more olympic style lifts, etc) and drinking my protein shakeย after every […]

  7. […] Atlargenutrition.com has some good stuff. Nitrean is their protein shake. […]

  8. I’m not sure why but this web site is loading incredibly slow for me.
    Is anyone else having this issue or is it a problem on my end?
    I’ll check back later on and see if the problem still exists.

    1. Sorry to hear this!! Please let me know if this problem continues!!

  9. […] I made sure to have a protein shake right when I […]

Leave a Reply

