Tri/Running Workout Recap!

As I train for my first Olympic Distance Triathlon, I realized I wanted to share with you guys some of the workouts I have been doing so I can get your feedback! Because here is a little secret… I have no idea what I am doing! I am winging this! Also, it would be a great way for me to keep track since I sometimes have a hard time remembering what I did just yesterday… Also, I remembered my GPS watch on only 1/2 of the workouts last week, so pace’s are estimates!

wpid-IMG_20130715_165535_645.jpg

Oh yay! the 1 out of 5 times that I remembered to wear my NIKE GPS!!

Monday July 8

a.m:

p.m: 6 mile run

Tuesday July 9

a.m: spinning class (30 min ish)

p.m: 27 mile bike ride

Wednesday July 10

a.m:

p.m: 5.2 mile run at 7.30 pace

Thursday July 11

a.m: Fusion workout class (combo of lots of kickboxing, weight strength, cardio) and lifting.

p.m: eassssy 4 mile run

Friday July 12

a.m: Body weight resistance of lunges, squats, kettle bell swings, abs, push-ups

p.m: 2000 meter swim at 31 mins.

Saturday July 13

a.m: 6.4 mile trail run! Pace at

p.m: 45 min upper body weight session in continuous circuit form

Sunday July 14

noon: BRICK workout of HARD 27 mile bike ride immediately followed by 5 mile run @ 7.00 pace.

Monday July 15

a.m:

p.m: 5 mile trail run at 7.16 pace (legs very tired!)

Tuesday July 16

a.m: Crossfit-type workout (4 rounds of: 15 burpees, 20 KB swings at 35#, 25 chest to floor push-ups, 30 squats) followed by abs and weighted lunges.

p.m: full 50 mins of weights (4 rounds of: bicep’s, shoulder press, bent rows, shoulder raises, and triceps @ alternating 20# and 15#, and pull downs, abs, and 3 Bear Complex rounds @ 50#) followed by abs and 800 meter run cool down.

Wednesday July 17 TODAY!!

-a.m: Hopefully a very early morning treadmill speed workout!!

 

Sorry if this bored you to tears….but it really actually helps me see it all written down!

I hope to get in that treadmill workout I have for today. Unfortunately it is more because I ate soooo much last night for dinner and have to go out to breakfast again this morning with family, that I can’t imagine eating all that without a workout thrown in between there!! I am trying to disconnect the two, but it is still hard to do!

Have a Wonderful Wednesday everyone!!

What workout plans do you follow/do you train with for running races or triathlons?

 

11 comments

  1. I believe in following plans but being flexible. Life happens, and sometimes we need to adjust. But as I’ve never run a full marathon before, we’ll see how this mentality works out, haha!

    1. Yes we must always be flexible with those training plans!! weather, injuries, LIFE get in the way and we have to adjust!!

  2. Hi Andrea,
    Just curious as to how much time you take between your am and pm workouts. I just found your blog and I’m enjoying it. Keep up the good work.

    1. Hi! They are very far apart usually! The morning workouts are definitely early morning… then evening is about 10 hours later! Feels like a new day! Thanks so much!

  3. yogachic1212 · · Reply

    Don’t stress if you can’t fit that treadmill workout in! It’s okay if you miss it, trust me! I know it takes a while to disconnect exercise from the notion of “negating” food, but try to think of exercise as GAINING endurance, strength, agility, adrenaline, endorphins rather than losing/burning calories. It helps your thoughts stay more balanced πŸ™‚ Hope you’re having a good day, hon!

    1. Thanks this is great advice!! Yes I know I try not to stress about workouts and am really trying to disconnect workouts and food.

      And that is a great way to think about workouts— the things i gain rather than what i will “lose”!!

      Your experience and perspectives are just so so helpful!! I always look forward to your input!! Thanks so much!!

  4. I love reading about other people’s training schedules and workouts. It helps me know if what I’m doing is similar and gives me new ideas, too. Keep posting about those workouts. I also think it helps hold people accountable. I’m inspired by your triathlon training!

    1. Great thanks so much!! I am happy to hear that it helps you… because when I read other peoples, It definitely helps me/gives me ideas of how to train and rest days ((which I think i need more of))!

      I will keep doing these recaps, especially as I get closer to the marathon in Novemeber!!

      have a great night!

  5. […] mentioned on my Workout Recap post that I wanted to do a speed workout on the treadmill early yesterday morning. Well, as we runners […]

  6. […] ended my last workout recap on Wednesday July 17… don’t know why (rather than on a Sunday or Monday…) so that […]

  7. […] my best/fastest workouts have been either as a 2nd workout of the day, during a day when I had a long bike ride before hand, or during a triathlon after having swam and […]

Leave a Reply

